Customer Reviews for

Amberville

Average Rating 3
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE

DONT REVIEW A BOOK AND GIVE IT ONE STAR JUST BECAUSE YOU DON'T LIKE THIS BOOK OF CHOICE AS A FREE FRIDAY- ITS NOT FAIR TO THE AUTHOR!!!!

posted by LJ57 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Weird. Incoherent. Uninteresting.

This is a strange story which is frequently incoherent. The author keeps introducing new characters, and new concepts that do not fit, and keeps jumping back and forth in time. The plot is very confusing and inconsistent. The swearing is annoying and does not enhance...
This is a strange story which is frequently incoherent. The author keeps introducing new characters, and new concepts that do not fit, and keeps jumping back and forth in time. The plot is very confusing and inconsistent. The swearing is annoying and does not enhance the story. The prose is clumsy. I disagree with the author’s remarks about faith - faith and religion are two different things. He seems to be lecturing but without a point; I detect an obsession with his own inner thoughts (which just confuse the plot more).

posted by AnotherBibliophile on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting but no so entertaining

    I got Amberville as a free-Friday selection on my nook. The description alone had my attention, stuffed animals in a gritty story of crime, conspiracy, corruption and redemption. Sounds good. The story is told from multiple points of view, so the reader is constantly changing voices. . In truth, the entire book reads as a series of character studies, or at best a set of interconnected short stories that have been crammed together into a single volume. Nothing ever quite gels, as threads in the story peter out and lead to nowhere, characters are introduced and then forgotten, or dark hints are made that never really resolve into anything juicy enough to sustain our interest. There are a good deal of characters, some that are introduced then never seen from again. There were many pages in the middle that felt less like pleasure reading, more like work. Plus the ending is a huge let down, or at least it was for me and I just wanted to throw the book at the end. While I was happy I finally finished I just wished I had gotten an ending. The idea of stuffed animals in a detective mystery novel begs for plenty of sarcastic tongue-in-cheek humor, but Amberville avoids silly humor and instead relies on the subtle absurdities, to deliver the humor on their own, which they never really manage to do. I was interested by this book, but not entertained.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    weird

    Read whole thing because i will read almost anything. Two stars for creativity but the overall story is bizarre.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Good idea but confusing

    This book is based on an interesting idea of stuffed animals living adult human lives. It is an interesting take on how a society is built. The down side is that there are too many flash backs and too many pronouns. I didnt know who the flashback was about until about half way through. This left me feeling very confused throughout the majority of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Only if you are into serious weird

    The animals are the characters and I was unable to get past that so gave up after less than 30 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Slow mover

    I thought it would be interesting to read this because it had stuffed animals as characters. It didn't catch my attention it just drug on and on. That was just 53 pages into the book. Great concept. Just so many dumb twist and turns that was unnessecary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Kinda strange

    I thought this book would be fun because it was the life of stuffed animals. I was wrong. Parts of the story were good and interesting but most was boring and left the main story. Not sure i would read another from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Interesting...

    A bit confusing, & hard to follow. More sci-fi than fantasy, since you really have to stretch your imagination re: the locales & the animals physiology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe your cup of tea

    I just could not get into the story. I don't know if it is because the characters are all stuffed animals or the jumping back and forth between the Twin Bears Eric and Teddy. The story just never energized me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Review

    Stuffed animals in a mafia run type world. Preteen/tween audience. OK read, adults will smile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a quirky little adventure that will entertain and mystify you at the same time.

    A world of stuffed animals who know they are stuffed animals, yet they behave and think like people. Interesting concept. I really got drawn into the story as I went along. The author doesn't want to take credit for the book fr some reason. I wonder about that, it's kind of an adventure, kind of a fantasy, and kind of a mystery. The head of the local mob is certain he is going to be on the "Death List", and forces Eric Bear (our hero with a troubling past) to get his name removed. But is there really a "Death List?" he and his odd group of friends had better find out, because the life of his sweetheart hangs in the balance.

    The characters (strangely enough) become believable because of the character depth and interesting story line created by a talented author. I was dubious, but once inside this unlikely world I had to stick around to find out what the outcome would be. and I am glad I did! Not what I expected at all!

    If you're looking for depth and meaning, you'll probably be disappointed. But if you want a good light read with interesting characters and unusual twists in the plot, then you're going to love this little book!

    Van!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Tried to read, couldn't

    It just isn't my type of story, I guess.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Just not for me.

    I started this book with high hopes and they were dashed fairly quickly. I was very intrigued with the concept, but it just didn't pan out for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    I haven't decided if I liked it

    i don't know

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Not my cup of tea

    Interesting concept but not for me. Just could not get interested enough to read past 20 pages .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    The only thing keeping me interested was waiting for the catch about the stuffed animals.

    Then nothing happens and the book ends.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2