Customer Reviews for

Amberville

Average Rating 3
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE

DONT REVIEW A BOOK AND GIVE IT ONE STAR JUST BECAUSE YOU DON'T LIKE THIS BOOK OF CHOICE AS A FREE FRIDAY- ITS NOT FAIR TO THE AUTHOR!!!!

posted by LJ57 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Weird. Incoherent. Uninteresting.

This is a strange story which is frequently incoherent. The author keeps introducing new characters, and new concepts that do not fit, and keeps jumping back and forth in time. The plot is very confusing and inconsistent. The swearing is annoying and does not enhance...
This is a strange story which is frequently incoherent. The author keeps introducing new characters, and new concepts that do not fit, and keeps jumping back and forth in time. The plot is very confusing and inconsistent. The swearing is annoying and does not enhance the story. The prose is clumsy. I disagree with the author’s remarks about faith - faith and religion are two different things. He seems to be lecturing but without a point; I detect an obsession with his own inner thoughts (which just confuse the plot more).

posted by AnotherBibliophile on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Imaginative...but a bit wordy.

    The concept of everyone being stuffed animals is pretty cool, but the the author tends to go into too great of detail on something unimportant often. I would recommend to regular readers, but there's nothing special to see here. Could have been better with better plot development. Average. Would recommend on gimmick alone...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       Beware of gifts being offered by trusted sources; the receivi

       Beware of gifts being offered by trusted sources; the receiving thereof can lead to the reading of a well-crafted, perception altering, mystery novel set in one of the most bizarre concepts imaginable.  Tim Davys, a pseudonym wisely chosen as it adds to the dis-reality of the story, sees a world inhabited by stuffed animals as a fitting place to offer commentary on THE questions of life: from where do we come?  What happens next (after death)? Do we have choice in those decisions? At no point in the book is there the mention, or the possibility of, the existence of beings other than “stuffed animals.”  The reader who suspends belief of this premise quickly will be better able to “see” the story instead of being confused by it.
       The story is told from the first person perspective of Eric Bear, a twin (of Teddy). Their parents, Rhinoceros Edda, wonderful cook & head of The Environmental Ministry and Boxer Bloom, the stern, honest, “right-or-wrong world view” rector of Amberville Secondary Grammar School adopted them, as are all in this world, as cubs.  The brothers could be less identical, apart from appearance where there is no telling of the difference.  Teddy’s life ambition is “to be a good bear,” Eric’s life is filled with compromise and shady characters.  The shadiest of those characters, Nicholas Dove, has discovered his name is on this month’s “death list” and has assigned Eric the duty of seeing that The Dove’s name is removed.  If he does not succeed in this task, his beloved Emma Rabbit will likewise be taken.
       The ensuing detective work is nothing new – clues discovered, some leads are dead ends, surveillance becomes mundane, the culprit discovered, resolution achieved.  The story’s energy arises from the truth revealed as these stuffed animals “live out” their existence. Teddy is clear that love, both in the giving & receiving, is pure only when it is free of demands, “Almost nothing is more difficult than keeping the longing for love free from demands.  It is a struggle.” p. 41.  To hear two inanimate objects speak the existential truth, “A myth can only survive for two reasons, either because those who are in control from some reason want the myth to survive.  Or because . . . . Because it is true.” p. 57 is a moment when the careful reader will be stunned into contemplation.  Such observations and dialogue reveal this novel to be an allegory of human existence.  It is not flesh and blood that gives one life.  Neither is it position of employ or family. Rather life is to be found in relationships, relationships are valued according to what one is “paying” to be a part of it and one’s living can be measured by the “wealth” of return from what has been “given.”  By the book’s conclusion, as with all good allegories, the wealthy are revealed and the truly poor exposed for who they are.
       There is much violence, most of it implied, in this book.  (Any male who had (or has) a stuffed animal knows how tough those animals actually are.)  There is no sex, nor allusion of sex, in the tale.  (It is a book about STUFFED ANIMALS and the thought of sex between them is just SICK!) The landscape is imaginary but as familiar as last night’s dream.
        I doubt I will ever discover Tim Davys true identity, but I would very much like to do so.  I want to talk with him about the animals that populated this childhood bedroom.  I suspect we shared, at least genetically, some of those friends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Good read

    I have to say that if I didn't get the book as a "free Friday" book, I would never have considered purchasing it. But I actually found myself getting hooked and enjoyed it. At first I wondered why the author would make the characters in the book stuffed animals, but having finished the book, I can see why now. This is not a cute story, but rather interesting and thought-provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Good book

    I didn't think I was going to like this book, but I was really pleasantly surprised. Interesting book all the way to the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Not a childrens book.

    I have to say I probably will never read this again. However, it kept me entertained while I did read it. Something difficult about wrapping your mind around such evil stuffed animal thugs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Couldn't finish it.

    It was hard to stay focused on. I struggled to get Into it but just couldn't. The plot was Intriquing but the writing jumped around too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Very different

    Very slow going in the beginning and a little confusing. I was willing to enter a world where everyone is a stuffed animal, and, for the most part, I enjoyed the visit. I really did not like the placement of exerpts from the other books in this series coming before the epilogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Interesting but it didn't live up to its potential

    I liked the premise of stuffed animals as the charcters. The main story of Eric is generally ok but the shifts to other characters was jarring and a bit boring. It took quite a while to get to the true struggles of Eric. What choice would he make and how would that inner struggle eat at him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Strange Story

    When I first started reading this book, I didn't know what to expect. I didn't like the fact that it kept jumping back and forth. It made the story confusing. I wouldn't recommend this book to children. Maybe without the violence I would. And yes, my Winnie the Pooh is still my favorite bear :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Interesting

    Interesting little noir mystery with a few stuffed animal laughs. I liked it overall, but it was not a page turner. I don't think it was that hard to follow as some people assert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Not Just For Kids

    I found the premise of this book rather interesting: A town in which the inhabitants happen to be stuffed animals. There are a few twists and turns in this clever novel thank keep the reader guessing. It's also an easy read, so put a pot of coffee or tea on & settle down in your easy chair and get ready to read a mystery novel long on mystery with a few laughs thrown in for good measure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Weird...

    Very strange book. Hard to get my head around the concept of talking stuffed animals. The plot was good, though with an interesting & unexpected twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Recommend - a good readbout

    Once passed the premise,about stuffed animals,the story line becomes very interesting. It is rather unique to substitute stuffed animals for human beings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Reader Comment

    Definitely different.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    #5 it is most unfair?

    Get real! When a. r. DAbeek needs twenty diction aries his stupidity shows. It is called dis lexical! Look up word processed. Or spell check, yea look it up, beside pointing out what pages have been read means one thing or is it ting? Reviewers should not be writing reviews. Be happy, like the critters, for that reason i give you 3 stars.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Age

    What is the minimum age for this book?

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable, but predictable reading experience

    Amberville is a familiar story with a twist that is almost too cliche. The concept of making a new world filled with stuffed animals as the inhabitants gave Davys a fairly large amount of room to be creative. In certain aspects he succeeds very well creating a enjoyable backstory and world for his characters to inhabit. It's this world and slowly learning more about it that help to pull the reader into the story. However the characters themselves are predictable and blatantly obvious characterizations of their animal form. Some may find it enjoyable, but it leaves little to the imagination as to what the characters are going to do and how they'll react to the plot as it develops.

    The twists themselves aren't very shocking and off putting but the plot is does throw a few curves at you. The main problem is the lack of depth to the characters making the twists hard to be shocked by or identified with. The one dimensional characterizations make each character hard to actually be enthralled with, but easy to understand. The result is a read you continue to go through but don't have an real connection to. If it were a traditional paperback you'd feel fine putting it on your bookshelf after you've finished and forgetting about it until you lent it to someone leaving on a roadtrip. It's not required reading but it's worth working your way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2