Customer Reviews for

Ambition

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Good

    I liked this book. It was different in a good way. The writting was very discriptive. Thanks for the great read. When is the novel going to be released at b/n? J..... :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Preview

    This is a short 50+ page intro to a new series. Catches your interest and is thought provoking as to what the new world might be with genetically enhanced people. However, BN does not carry the actual book at this time. So kinda leaves you hanging if you get all excited because you can't actually read the book. Oh well good for a 10 minute read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Nice little short story. Read it in fifteen minutes. As a preque

    Nice little short story. Read it in fifteen minutes. As a prequel to “Perception” it definitely got me curious to read this series. There are slight issues with the grammar, but nothing serious. I think the author tried to sketch Noah as broody, but she didn’t quite nail it. I perceived him as resentful and surly. I’m sure that is what he’s feeling toward the GAPs, but it didn’t endear him to me. This novella includes the first chapter of “Perception”, and after reading it, I already like Zoe a lot more than Noah. But let’s wait and see how I feel after I’ve read the first book in the series. My views about Noah may still change. Judging by “Ambition”, this sounds like an exciting series, and one I definitely want to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    short and sweet

    Just going to give a real quick take on the story, which is approximately 20 pages long. What did I think? Well I loved it of course. The short story is Noah's POV on the beginning of PERCEPTION, book one. And I must say…I love me some Noah. So hearing from him and what was running through his head when he hears Zoe’s mother degrade him and his family in front of Zoe. AH! My heart went out to him and I wanted to hug him.

    Noah has big shoes to fill now that he has taken over the cause that was left vacated when he father was killed. And in this little slice of story we see that he has a lot riding on his shoulders: a job, his sick mother, helping care for his younger brothers, and leading people to see that GAPs are not helping any one out by getting special treatment.

    You can read AMBITION before or after PERCEPTION. I read it after, and personally, I liked it better. It reminded me of when we first met Zoe and Noah and refreshed my feelings for the two. This is a fantastic series you really should dive into. Whatcha waiting for?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    About a year and a half ago, I read and reviewed a book called P

    About a year and a half ago, I read and reviewed a book called Perception, first in a trilogy. It was a young adult dystopian but not at all typical of the subgenre. Usually, these stories revolve around a repressive society and an underlying resistance from the people being downtrodden. In this case, though, the tale centers on class division brought about be genetic alteration that gives a small portion of the populace distinct advantages in appearance, wealth, lifespan, etc. The two primary characters are Zoe, a GAP, and Noah, a natural. The two are worlds apart in status and privilege.

    Ambition offers us a brief look at what Noah is all about and his ambivalence about the cause. He has a near-hatred of the GAPs but how much of his feeling is “inherited” from his father who spoke out for justice and how much due to his beginning attraction to Zoe who doesn’t even remember his name? It reminded me of what I liked about this young man when I read Perception and these few pages have enticed me to get back to the trilogy as soon as I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    .

    Was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    good book

    You people should just read this real short novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I enjoyed reading this short book. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1