Customer Reviews for

The Ambition: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Suspenful Novel!

Here's my impression of The Ambition by Lee Strobel ~ WOW ... Riveting ... Superb! I guess from the above statements you've pretty much gotten the picture but just in case you haven't (LOL) let me write this ... The Ambition is Mr. Strobel's debut fiction novel and well...
Here's my impression of The Ambition by Lee Strobel ~ WOW ... Riveting ... Superb! I guess from the above statements you've pretty much gotten the picture but just in case you haven't (LOL) let me write this ... The Ambition is Mr. Strobel's debut fiction novel and well, this book is fantastic!

Not being an regular reader of suspense novels, I found the prologue to be a bit unnerving and I began to question why I had agreed to read a suspense novel. Well, my attitude changed into the first two pages of Chapter 1!

The story is well written, fast paced but not laced with blood and gore. The characters are interesting, challenging and fully developed. The plot twists and turns are amazing and they kept me in suspense with my adrenaline rushing the entire time I read this book.

I highly recommend this book and I look forward to reading more of Lee Strobel's books in the future!

Many thanks to Kim at Nancy Berland Public Relations for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for a review on this blog. My review is based on my honest impressions of this book.

posted by Renee90 on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappoinrig

Not a terrible read but certainly lacking. The spotty character developement, abrupt ending, and the lack of closure for some of the character's storylines didn't leave me thinking of a sequel - it just left me feeling disappointed.

posted by 8579325 on August 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    A good, fast paced read!

    This book got me to put aside my computer, for a while. Loved the way Mr. Stroble portrayed Christains in a non- preachy, unsentimental way. Enjoyed how the different story lines intersected. Hope there is a sequel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Consumed by Power!

    A bookie meets his end at the hands of the no-nonsense Mafia mobster, Nick Moretti. That event will foster a series of conversations and illegal actions that focus on how not to get caught and have one's future ruined. A typical scenario? Well, this one's got a bit of a different twist to it.

    An Illinois Senator has been criminally convicted and is forced to resign. It's up to the Governor to appoint an interim Senator. His choices are a Chicago Judge, Reese McKelvie, or an evangelistic preacher, Eric Snow. The former engages in some manipulation in order to free the murderer, Nick Moretti; and the plot unwinds with him telling the Bugatti family. As the violent consequences follow, it seems there's no way to pull back the forces aiming to eliminate all threats to the Judge's senatorial selection!

    At the same time, Eric Snow and his legal adviser are doing everything possible to secure the position as well. Meanwhile, miracles are happening in his former church, and he only wants to distance himself from acknowledging the special answers to faith-filled prayer. His once faith-filled life becomes divided until inspired words break through the hard veneer he's been developing.

    Ambition has different meaning to those reaping its different consequences. The Ambition is a novel about examining choices and looking around at the lives one affects on all levels of life and death! Lee Strobel has crafted a realistic, conscious-raising story that every reader will long remember and ponder! Outstanding!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great jump to fiction by this author

    The Ambition
    A Novel
    Lee Strobel
    2011
    Zondervan
    Fiction/Suspense
    Reviewed by Cindy Loven

    Eric Snow is a pastor of a mega church in Chicago, but he is restless. Perhaps it is time to move past this phase of his life, after all, he is a rich man, from his previous career as a software designer. He feels that perhaps the time has come where he can be more useful in a different arena, perhaps the political arena.

    A new elder in his church is gently nudging him toward this, Debra Wyatt, a former high profile federal prosecutor, now in private practice has been informing him that the current Senator is fixing to be forced to resign. Since he has had one political success he is on the governor's radar to replace the Senator.

    Tom O'Sullivan, a sleazy lawyer who defends criminals has found himself in a position he never would have dreamed of, he is forced by the mob to take a bribe to a federal judge, to fix an arraignment. He is terrified, but knows his deep gambling debt to the mob makes it impossible to refuse this little errand.

    Garry Strider a long time newspaper man, is determined to dig up something on the Diamond Point Fellowship Church. He is initially angered by what he feels is their interference in his life, by swaying his long time live in girlfriend to move out. He is sure he can find something negative to report. He will dig deep, and uncover whatever dirt he can find on Pastor Eric Snow and the Diamond Point Fellowship.

    A book filled with desperate people who will do whatever it takes to make their way, Lee Strobel will pull you into this story. As his first fiction book, you will admire his writing, and be drawn into the story. I enjoyed the story, it totally caught my attention and kept me interested to the end. Filled with scenes that are easily imagined, you will too find yourself drawn into The Ambition. 283 pages $24.99 US Hardback 4 stars.

    This book was provided by Authorsontheweb for review purposes only. No payment was received for this review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Good and fast read

    The ambition was well worth burning the midnight oil for. Finally a book with the right message. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Suspenseful first novel from famed journalist

    The Ambition by Lee Strobel is the best-selling journalist's first novel. Several stories of high-powered men in Chicago come together in a climactic way. The Bugatti brothers are known for their control of the Chicago mafia and their business as cut-throat loan sharks. Tommy O'Sullivan has coasted through much of his life on his last name until a gambling addiction puts him deep in debt to the Bugattis and he participates in a bribe that will change the city forever. Eric Snow is a respected pastor of a megachurch in Chicago who is thinking about switching careers to politics, but his best friend questions his motives. Garry Strider's life is going pretty well, with a successful career as an investigative journalist and live-in girlfriend, Gina. But when Gina gets some religion, she moves out and starts pushing him to consider finding faith himself so they can be married. Instead Garry starts investigating the pastor at Gina's church, Eric Snow. Strobel takes these disconnected stories and weaves them with suspense until they come together with a crash. Where Strobel really shines is in his portrayal of Snow and his church. The church tries so hard to fit in with pop culture, that they try to play it down when miracles begin occurring there. They refuse to call them miracles or anything supernatural in order to keep from being attacked by scientists and atheists. Strobel really doesn't have time to develop the characters too deeply but the story is entertaining and thought-provoking. Strobel wrote the premier apologetic work of the late twentieth century in The Case for Christ. This doesn't live up to that level of writing, but it's a good read that will keep readers turning the pages. I hope that Strobel gives fiction another shot soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    RATING!4.5! SUSPENSE,THRILLER,POWER,DECEIT AND DANGER! THE AMBITION BY LEE STROBEL...

    THE AMBITION by Lee Strobel is an intriquing suspense fiction set in Chicago. It is written with depth and details. It has deceit,danger,death,the mob,payoffs, power,politics,bribes,contract killing,secrets,Senate candidate's and their secrets.This story if full of political intrigue,a megachurch,a big city newspaper,all the while taking you into the corrupt world of payoffs,corruption,and betrayal. It will have you on the edge of your seat.This is a thriller that is not to be missed as newspaper reporter Garry Strider probes into the world of justice,and corruption all while struggling to survive. The author weaves an exciting thriller with edgy characters and a powerful climax that will leave you breathless. A must read. This book was received from the Nancy Berland Public Relations,Inc.for the purpose of review.Details can be find at Zondervan and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great suspense, but a little off.....

    Absolutely different. Not in a bad way, mind you. Lee Strobel is an amazing author when he is writing his Case books. I love them. My dad has a whole collection of them, that I love to break into from time to time. They are stunning and amazing. But, when he writes fiction, well....let's just say that while his writing is not terrible, it's certainly not as good as I hoped it would be.

    With that being said, The Ambition's plot is awesome. The way the story line had to flow, with mobs, and megachurches, and politics. Very intriguing to see the way the characters were created for that plot. Each character was interesting and flowed well. I really was captured by the fast pace that this book entailed.

    The thrills of the book were good, the action was heart pounding and the suspense was fascinating, but for a debut novel, it could use some tuning. Not anything overly bad, just a few minor tweaks here and there with some grammar and issues with wording. I do recommend this book to those of you who love thrillers and politics. The suspense, the intriguing, thought provoking happenings of mobs and megachurches will have you on the edge of your seat with this Lee Strobel novel. Four stars and I am looking forward to another book by this otherwise fantastic author, in hopes that it will be even better!


    *This eBook was provided for review by Zondervan*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lee Strobel- Debut Fiction release!

    A crooked judge, cynical newspaper reporter, and a big time pastor turning political candidate are just a few of the characters that you will find in Lee Strobel's debut fiction suspense novel "The Ambition". The characters are woven into a fascinating story where the mob plays into the judicial corruption of a case. With a pay off to a certain judge the system was able to be manipulated so that cases could be steered toward a certain judge who would get them off. Also woven in to the storyline, is Eric Snow; a well off mega-church pastor who is feeling the draw of the political arena and truly believes he can use his influence for good in a Senatorial position opening up due to the current senator's scandal and Eric Snow is one of the possible candidates to take over. The other possible candidate is Chief Judge Reese McKelvie also vying for that senatorial position. Yes, you quickly see the character's "ambitions" all over the place. Some motives are pure others corrupt and the story just takes off from there.

    The Garry Strider character which is a Chicago new reporter looking to dig up any possible dirt that he can on Pastor Eric Snow gives the perfect cynical character particularly with regards to anything to do with God. Not having much use for God himself, Strobel paints a great picture of the path of cynicism and disbelief in God to a door cracking open just a little bit as the character faces different challenges. For instance he witnesses with his own eyes a true healing and miracle and faces challenges with his girlfriend Gina who is a new Christian. I like it that Garry is taking his time in really figuring out what he believes. One can't help but feel that this character is close to the author's own life experience, if you've followed Lee Strobel's non-fiction work The Case for Christ. With that being said, this character in particular, rings very true to me.

    The last fourth of the book is very exciting and moves very quickly. I would have to say that the end feels a little rushed but I was able to overlook it because it was clear to me that a sequel is to be written, so we will find out more about how these characters fair. My thoughts are that as a first run novel the story kept my attention and I felt the characters were interesting. There were a lot of characters to keep track of, but with all the people groups that the author melded together- judicial, political, mega-church, journalistic and also "the mob", it was necessary. In the final analysis I always ask myself- do I like these characters and do I care about what happens to them in the future which helps me gage the effectiveness of the story. The answer is yes, I did and I look forward to Lee Strobel's fiction offerings in the future.

    Disclosure- A free Digital review copy of The Ambition by Lee Strobel was graciously provided for me by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Characters+and+character+interaction+need+more+depth

    For+a+first+fiction+this+is+pretty+good.+++First%2C+the+proofreading+was+lacking.++Found+too+many+misspelled+words%2C+grammer++goofs+and+punctuation+uh+ohs.++The+premise+and+storyline+are+excellent+and+Lee+is+to+be+commended+for+injecting+Christian+values+and+worldview+appropriately.++I+would+have+liked+to+get+to+know+his+wife+and+her+place+in+his+life+better.++The+tension+regarding+his+decision++to+resign+as+pastor+should+have+been+more+deeply+explored+both+personally+and+with+those+impacted.++The+background+interaction+concerning+the+judge%2C+the+Bugattis+and+Tom+OSullivan+needed+more+too.++It+seemed+to+leave+the+reader+with+too+many+questions.++I+will+say+I+will+read+the+next+in+the+series%2C+since+the+ending+sets+you+up+for+the+next+storyline.+Does+he+srill+go+into+politics+or+does+he+become+a+pastor+dealing+with+corruption+in+the+public+arena%3F++Whatever+direction+taken%2C+please+continue+to+keep+it+clean%21++Storylines+are+NOT+enhanced+by+gratuitous+foul+language+or+graphic+sex+scenes.++Thank+you+for+keeping+it+clean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1