Customer Reviews for

America: A Patriotic Primer

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Appreciate what you've got

    I saw this book in the store and it stands for everything I've found after surviving a war of true hatred.This country has given me the freedom to raise my children and the ability to dream and work towards achieving those dreams.I was given the gift of a new life and have appreciated it all these years. Thank you, Mrs. Cheney, for writing a book that might explain to the younger generation why they should take care of this country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    A Glowing Tribute to a Mighty Nation

    'We live in a land of shining cities and natural splendors, a beautiful land made more beautiful still by our commitment to freedom. I wrote this book because I want my grandchildren to...know they are part of a nation whose citizens enjoy liberty and opportunity such as have never been known before.' So says Lynne Cheney in America: A Patriotic Primer. America is an enormously complex topic to cover, but Cheney does an admirable job. Using an alphabet format ('E is for Equality), the author manages to cover a lot of ground and do it well. Children will read about concepts such as tolerance and freedom; about leaders, from Native Americans, Founders Fathers and suffragettes to presidents and Martin Luther King; and about important places, such as Ellis Island and Yorktown. The 'Concluding Notes' provide more in-depth information about the people and events mentioned, and even the Bill of Rights. Mrs. Cheney hopes not only that children will enjoy it themselves, but also 'that it will most often be read and discussed by parents and children together.' Robin Preiss Glasser's illustrations and border drawings are a treat. Fascinating in themselves, they keep discrete pieces of information clearly separate, yet bring a cohesiveness to the book. Those who enjoy America: A Patriotic Primer might also enjoy a book entitled: Ruby Lee the Bumble Bee - A Bee's Bit of Wisdom, in which a young girl learns an important lesson about meeting life's challenges with courage and faith. Books like America: A Patriotic Primer and Ruby Lee the Bumble Bee are valuable tools for teaching children the importance of developing a strong character - the same sort of character upon which this great country was founded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    'P' is for pass this up

    Wait until your children are older and then give them Howard Zinn's A People's History of the United States. Despite the gloss of tolerance, too many details are omitted to provide anything close to a reasonable primer. For example, Native Americans are mentioned as having been here first. Yup, but why are there so few now? Ms. Cheney is silent. I'm not one for white liberal guilt, but history is history, doggone it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    A Timely Tribute to the Bright Shining City on the Hill!

    Mrs. Cheney has written a powerful and timely tribute to the Spirit and Ideals of America! The wife and life partner of our Vice President has greatly contributed to the restoration of values and integrity in our Executive Branch of Government. This is a must read for all American children, and a timely rebuttal to a liberal educational system that has downplayed the contributions of our Founding Fathers and opted for a politically correct revisionist history of this Bright Shining City on the Hill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Fun way to introduce important values!

    Is there room for politics on a child's bookshelf? You bet there is! Our children need to understand the great ideals that brought about the birth of our democracy and to understand the values we are fighting for in a difficult world. AMERICA: A PATRIOTIC PRIMER does just this in a very entertaining format. There is so much to look at on each page, both visually and information-wise. In our first reading, we only got up to 'S is for Suffragettes' because we stopped so often to talk about the concepts and principles presented. I especially loved the cover illustration, and went directly to the internet to show my daughter the famous photo it mimics. I will be giving this book to all the families coming to my annual 4th of July picnic this year. A real find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Patriotic Primer is 'Politically Correct' America

    If I wanted to indoctrinate my child into 'political correctness' I would buy this book and read it to them nightly. It is also historically inaccurate stating that Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation freed African-Americans in the Confederacy. The Emancipation Proclamation did not free any slave anywhere. Lincoln had no authority in the Confederacy and he had no authority as President to free any slave. Only with the passage of the 13th amendment did slavery end in America. There are lots of good books offered by Barnes and Noble for children than this one. Don't waste your money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    I learned this in school

    I liked this book because I learned about the Declaration of Independance and Constitution in school this year and this book was more fun than my teacher. I liked the flag page because I never knew how it gets to be a triangle. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    No, thanx, Mrs Cheney

    'P is for the Patriotism - that fills our hearts with pride' 'R is for the Rights we are guaranteed: The right to keep and wear arms' - all you have to know about the tendency of this book. Mrs. Cheney, America is a beautiful country, yes - but it is not 'the beautiful' you are describing. When will you understand?? Write books about other countries - make your children understand what happens in the rest of the world. That's what they need - now, more then ever before! 'We will be an inspiration to the world'...?!? No, thanx!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Well done Mrs. Chaney

    What a wonderful concept of having parents reading to their children about our great nation. This book is beautifully written and illustrated. Mrs.Chaney's work includes many little factoids that even adults may not have known prior to reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    America: A Patriotic Primer

    I have always associated Mrs. Cheney with conservative politics. I could not imagine her writing a book covering American history that I would not find distasteful for professing conservative philosophy. My liberal soul stood ready to detest whatever she wrote sight unseen. The first lesson I learned from this book is that 'T is for Tolerance' as I truly regret my liberal snobbery. This book should not be seen as authored by a conservative writer, but merely as one written by an American, one that truly loves America, American values, and America's promise through its children. Rightly, no political viewpoint is taken, other than professing the greatness of our history and the profundity of our ideals. This is a book best read with your child not as a story book from cover to cover, but rather to be savored in an unhurried fashion jumping from place to place. I think it is best to let one of Ms. Glasser's wonderful cheerful illustrations draw your child in and then let the discussion go from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    America: A Patriotic Primer

    I am not sure what one is supposed to say in a review, but I found this book so special that I needed to say something to encourage others to read it with their children. Many within the group of mothers I have talked to after 9/11 are at such a loss in making our children understand what happened, what was at stake, what it all meant, and what it means to live in a free country. Thanks to Glasser's extraordinary colorful and beautifully illustrated pages, the book's irrepressible heart and pride speak to my children in a way that, so far, my talks have not been able to accomplish. Mrs. Cheney is able to articulate the book in a way that translates the depth of her love for America and its children into tangible concepts and images that I think should reach even the youngest Americans. In reading the book, you probably will find a favorite character or letter or two that has a special meaning to you. The favorite for my group was the statue of the Minute Man. His tough, handsome, chiseled features standing strong and resolute against those that would strike against America's freedom symbolizes all that America stands for and what I think we must teach our children well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1