BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

America (Jake Grafton Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Vote

    Oregon. My dad went to college there for a year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    CALIFORNIA VS NEW YORK

    This Better State contest is California vs New York. Vote here! Last bsc: Vermont vs New Hampshire. Winner: Vermont.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Enjoyed this so much that I bought other books in this series

    I've come to love the characters especially Jake Grafton in this novel and have read others in this series as a result. There is continual action as the characters deal with events and it is hard to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    America

    "Otay!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    highly recommended

    this is another great read in the Grafton series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    highly recommend

    One of my favorite authors. Love all his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Joshuanc2000 loved it

    Riveting book something everyone should read.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    good read

    not quite as good as america but in the ballpark. plot turned enough to not be able to see what was coming in a dozen differebt directions. tommy carmelli was back with coolhand jake and the toad as well as rita and jakes family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Enthralling!

    From the start, Coonts grabs you and thrusts you into the thick of things. No meandering about like many authors do. His books are a great escape from the harsh realities of life. Character development is superb. Although not as good as Hong Kong, still rates a 4-Star Admiral in my book. Going to pick up Saucer next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Starts Strong but Gets Ridiculous

    Things get too tidy, unrealistic for nothing short of armageddon. The cruise ship part is moronic. Obviously written to be made into a movie, and hence, a payoff. Wait for the movie, if there is one...you'll like it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Dropped too soon

    One of the best books I have read. Could not set it down. When I reached the end I was left with a WOW what happened? The ending just dropped !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Nothing special

    I'm agreed with what that other dude said , this book should've said a little more .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    A Grabber

    A tremendous thriller. a wonderful storyline. A non-stop suspense-filled thriller. A great read. Close to reality. Read this book in a complete week! A Grabber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    Coonts does it again

    Coonts contiues the Grafton saga in the newest book "AMERICA". keep you riveted till the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    needs more depth.

    i thought this book could have said just a little more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2001

    Fiction Becomes Real in 'America'

    I have been a Coonts fan for years and I've read all of his fictional novels. For a while Mr.Coonts had stopped writing, but he has turned out four books in the last two and half years. 'America' is a great read. I was actually reading this book when the terrorist attacks occurred. This book has different types of terrorist targeting some of the same buildings which were recently hit and/or targeted in real life. In that respect, this is a chilling book. Of more importance, Mr. Coonts has once again written a book which wraps the reader not only around the action, but also around it's characters. Of the four recent books written by Mr.Coonts,'Cuba' is probably the best, but 'America' is a close second. One final note, if Mr. Coonts should ever retire Jake Grafton, I believe his CIA spook, Carmeilli, would make a great replaement. P. S. If you like Clancy novels, but recently tire of the endless drivel, you must read Coonts!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    Jake Grafton continues to amaze.

    Stephen Coonts and I have the same roots. Both former Vietnam era vets now writing Navy genre books. Although, he is much more sucessfull at this than I. For this reason I enjoy reading every Jake Grafton novel that I can get my hands on. Stpehen's descriptions of our Navy, of its people and of its machines are beyond reproach. In this story spy sub USS America, I thought of the USS Jimmy Carter,the real spy sub, goes missing. Jake learns that a group of CIA operators 'spooks' may have swiped the sub. Their target is the White House. (Good choice. If you're trying to hit the broadside of a barn a huge white house would be an easy target. Dont' you think?) The Tomahawk cruise missle is designed to fly through a one meter window and is about 90% accurate on target. With a range of 1,500 miles, a Tomahawk lauched from Cuba would hit its mark. So the shot on the White House was not that difficult. Coonts is a relentless storyteller. If you enjoyed Cuba or Hong Kong you will love this book as well. As a side note. I read a review that said,'...rivals Clancy for fiction-as-realism and Cussler for spirited action.' I disagree. Stephen Coonts' writing and storytelling skills stands alone as one of the modern standards to which all genre writers should strive to achieve. Put this book on your must real list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2001

    The best Coonts yet!

    Like all such novels, Coonts' 'America' is a warning, perhaps a prophecy that we shouldn't take lightly. This book is a great action drama and in light of recent events in NY and DC, it's well worth the read as it's his best book yet. I also recommend another book that deals very realistically with nuclear terrorism which is Alec Donzi's thriller THE CONSULTANT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    GREAT COONTS

    I was able to read a preview excerpt of this book and it looks great. The writing is as good as I've ever seen from Mr. Coonts and the storyline is one of his best. Can't wait to read the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3