BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

America Again: Re-becoming the Greatness We Never Weren't

Average Rating 3.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

American Again was very funny! I laughed a lot. Great read! I en

American Again was very funny! I laughed a lot. Great read! I enjoyed it. The eye-popping 3D really made it come to life. Stephen Colbert put funny side notes in and footnotes which made the book even better. Funny pictures too. I recommend it!

posted by Jen_Wolfe on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

NOT FOR NOOK HD (no PagePerfect, i.e. graphically enhanced, book

NOT FOR NOOK HD (no PagePerfect, i.e. graphically enhanced, books are).   They don't tell you this when you purchase a NOOK HD - which is the updated version of the Nook Color. The newest reader gets fewer compatible books, and none with enhanced graphics!  Nice.

posted by AmazingIneptitude on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    NOT FOR NOOK HD (no PagePerfect, i.e. graphically enhanced, book

    NOT FOR NOOK HD (no PagePerfect, i.e. graphically enhanced, books are).  
    They don't tell you this when you purchase a NOOK HD - which is the updated version of the Nook Color.

    The newest reader gets fewer compatible books, and none with enhanced graphics!  Nice.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    American Again was very funny! I laughed a lot. Great read! I en

    American Again was very funny! I laughed a lot. Great read! I enjoyed it. The eye-popping 3D really made it come to life. Stephen Colbert put funny side notes in and footnotes which made the book even better. Funny pictures too. I recommend it!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not a book I would recommend but it did have a few funny points.

    Not a book I would recommend but it did have a few funny points. Best part was listening to Colbert on the audio version. So if you want to read the book, listen to it instead. Only three disks long, a short drive will have it finished.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Awesome

    This was a pretty boss book loved it made me laugh alot really funny 10 stars great book you should buy it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    BUYER BEWARE! This "nook book" won't work on the orig

    BUYER BEWARE! This "nook book" won't work on the original nook. "Format not supported". Argh. It shows up in "My Library" on the nook but the format is not supported.

    Also not readable with Nook app for Android.

    I've looked over the product page many times and see nothing about this.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Retesting

    Retesting

    3 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny. Funny. Funny. This was a laughing riot. It was slow in

    Funny. Funny. Funny. This was a laughing riot. It was slow in getting started, but got absolutely hillarious when he started talking about politics and the legal system. At first, he says things with such a straight tone that you almost feel like he's taking himself seriously, but then his delivery is so sharp that you cannot help laughing. I thought that it was better than the first book..
    .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Sneering raised to a fine art. Or something. It's gone far beyon

    Sneering raised to a fine art. Or something. It's gone far beyond tiresome.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    This book was incredibly funny and made me laugh at almost every

    This book was incredibly funny and made me laugh at almost every page.  I would recommend this to everyone i know

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Crazy and Funny

    This book was purchased as a Christmas present for a friend who is a Stephen Colbert fan. As I am, also, it was the last present I wrapped. I kept browsing through the book and laughing. Stephen Colbert is smart, informed, and entertaining. For whatever reason, he has also chosen to have some of the pictures in 3-D, so a pair of 3-D glasses are included. I'd like to get this book for myself (or hint that someone should get it for me). With all the drama and annoying political bickering that has been going on, it's good to look at things with some humor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Rip off

    Bought the book for my Nook. Turn out what I paid $11 for was only the first 11 pages! Absolutely ridiculous and I can't get my money back either!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    funny as usual

    funny as usual

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    Don't miss the audio version of this book!

    I purchased the audio version of this book upon recommendation of a friend. It was perfect to listen to on the TGV from Paris to Nice as I could enjoy the countryside and listen to a great book. It was hilarious. As a long time fan of the Colbert Report, I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It¿s like THE PAGES ARE TURNING RIGHT AT YOU!!!  Fun! Just as go

    It’s like THE PAGES ARE TURNING RIGHT AT YOU!!! 
    Fun! Just as good as the previous book (I Am America: And So Can You!) and a good companion series to the two Daily Show books about America and the Earth. You probably know what you are in for with these, but did you expect 3-D? No one saw it coming! If you have the hardcover edition, don’t forget to treat yourself to the awesome image under the dustcover of Stephen wearing 3-D glasses (He’s just like us!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    A fun book -- and the 3D glasses and pictures were an added hoot

    A fun book -- and the 3D glasses and pictures were an added hoot

    If you enjoy Stephen Colbert's over-the-top sarcastic sense of humor, then you will enjoy this book also. 
    There were a lot of accompanying funny pictures for the attention-span challenged. (I count myself squarely in that category.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Hilarious stuff from Colbert, as per usual.

    Hilarious stuff from Colbert, as per usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Does NOT work with Android app.  Do not get it, you can't open o

    Does NOT work with Android app.  Do not get it, you can't open on android.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Must read

    Political satire is always a good read in my opinion, but Colbert as always takes it to the next level. A wonderful read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Hilarious!  An awesome read, had me rolling on the floor.  Pure.

    Hilarious!  An awesome read, had me rolling on the floor.  Pure. Colbert.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3