Customer Reviews for

America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Big Question!!!

I've read similar books on this topic but this one lays it out in a way that even the most naive┬┐..ignorant┬┐..uninformed┬┐..oblivious individual can understand. This should be required reading for all politicians. Read it.....then give it to your kids to read.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Neither Islam or Fundamentalist Christianity

This is an interesting book, but it is also a book that doesn't examine enough the increasing number of Muslims throughout the world that are rejecting Islam, and gradually accepting secularism and modernity. In the long haul, Islam will be rejected, not only by us ove...
This is an interesting book, but it is also a book that doesn't examine enough the increasing number of Muslims throughout the world that are rejecting Islam, and gradually accepting secularism and modernity. In the long haul, Islam will be rejected, not only by us over 5 billion non-Muslims in the world, but also by most Muslims. The Muslim religion, especially in it's fundamentalist form, is just too imcompatible with modernity, with modern science, sociology, tolerance, human rights, etc. to ultimately be accepted by many people. Most of the 5 billion non-Muslims in the world, the Christians, Jews, Buddhists, Hindus, etc., have become better educated, more scientific, less religious, and less superstitious over the past century. This is also happening in the Muslim world. And the birthrates of non-Muslims are dropping, but so are the birthrates in the majority of Muslim countries, with some excpetions. Which is why the World's population over the next half a century is going to level off at 8.5 billion or so, not the 12 or 13 billion that was projected twenty years ago. Eventually religious extremism and religious fundamentalism will be rejected throughout the world. But until then, religious fundamentalism, especially Muslim fundamentalism, is a serious problem in many countries that will have to be dealt with by those societies.

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    The Big Question!!!

    I've read similar books on this topic but this one lays it out in a way that even the most naive¿..ignorant¿..uninformed¿..oblivious individual can understand. This should be required reading for all politicians. Read it.....then give it to your kids to read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    A Must Read - Add It To Your Library!

    I started hearing about and reading on-line articles by Mark Steyn last year. When my husband saw what else I was reading (see books below) and watching on t.v.(Glenn Beck, O'Reilly, Hannity & Colmes, Tucker, etc.) he felt Mr. Steyn would be another witty writer and outspoken conservative that would appeal to me. And he was! I felt engrossed by 'America Alone' from the first chapter. He discussed important issues of population growth and population reductions and the enormous impact it is already having on the world. He also discussed why the UN, the EU and other international groups are worthless and meaningless today. He spent considerable time on the threat of islams, muslims and their inability to embrace life and adjust to other humans and the impact it is having all around the world. Much of his data was not new but, nicely packaged so, you could see the big picture in one glance. I enjoyed how Mr. Steyn would give real life examples of events from around the world and then apply what the explanation was for the occurrence and then the final result to all of us. He is a marvelous teacher who weaves together humor along the way to lighten up the seriousness of the content. His humor is much more tame but, much more powerful in it's intent than many other authorities in our government, news media and print media today. Mr. Steyn may have been born in Canada and lived in the UK for many years but, he made his way home to the U.S. as he knows even though we have many faults - we are still the world's last best hope for peace and stability. Without us...hope goes away for sure. Mr. Steyn ends his book with a list of things that can be done to stablize the world but, it will take hard decisions, following through on those hard decisions and being the long arm of the law. Our enemies respect only toughness and strength - we must get back to that. Our weaknesses they have exploited - it's time we showed serious force and kicked long term butt! Mr. Steyn shows clearly that to follow the liberal Democrats will destroy the US. Only following a conservative and tough agenda will save our nation and others. Pick up this book and read it. Don't lend it to friends as you may not get it back(for those who 'get it' once they are done reading it). Buy it and give it as a gift. This is a winner all around. I read hundreds of books a year and rarely give 5 stars. This one deserves it. Can't wait for his next book. Keep up the good work!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Wake up America

    This book covers it all. The alarming drop in American and European birth rates, while the birth rates in some Arabic countries are on the rise. 70% of Irans population is under 30 yrs old. Im sure some of them would embrace democracy if they had a voice, the rest who knows. He explains why radical Islam is like a virus in despirate need of a cure. As Voltaire said about fanaticism, ' Fanatics are usually guided by rascals, who put the dagger into the hands. They resemble that old man of the mountain who, it is said, made Imbeciles taste the pleasure of paradise of which he had given them a foretaste, on condition that they murdered all those he would name.' Sound familiar? Voltaire goes on to say, the only religion in the world that is not sullied by fanaticism, that of the Chinese scholars. Read this book and you will have a clear vision of what might happen, and how we as a Democracy can stop it. Its all hands on deck for this fight. God Bless AMERICA.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Dead Serious AND Laugh-Out-Loud Funny

    I can't remember ever saying that about any book I've read. Mark Steyn has a razor sharp wit, is amazingly perceptive and is also well researched. His comments are not hyperbolic. This is ultimately a very frightening book and we Americans need to heed his clarion call. Essentially: whatever you Americans do, under no circumstances can you reelect Obama or anyone like him. I sense that his new book is the sequel to this one. Read America Alone; enjoy it; learn from it; tell others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS WORK SHOULD BE REQUIRED READING FOR EVERY AMERICAN OVER THE AGE OF 18

    Mr. Steyn presents a chilling view of the future for what he calls Eurabia, and predicts a similar fate for America absent some immediate action to curtail the influence of our "friend" Saudi Arabia and its projection of militant Wahabism and intolerance. He correctly points out that our inherent tolerance of religious beliefs is being used as a weapon to advance the cause of Islam in its effort to colonize Western civilization.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Excellent

    An excellent "read" for all who vote. A very unique sense of humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Steyn a Delight to Read

    Mark Steyn's book, America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It, is both thought provoking as well as entertaining. Facts, projections, and quotes mixed with Steyn's comedic banter makes for an enjoyable read. Steyn is a controversial figure, but read his works and decide for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Very informative, enlightening and scary.

    Having lived in the UK and France, I have seen the dramatic change in the cultural make up of those countries. This book is a wake up call but probably too late for Europe. Very worth while reading and passing on to friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Read this book now

    Think of how the changes this book identifies will change your business. This book is truthful, interesting and informative. The demographic information that the author presents may shock you. This is a must read for 2007.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Awesome

    The future looks murky in this well researched book about how western civilization's fate is threatened by the growth of Islamic populations and the influences of it's radicallized political sects. This book is rich in stats and demographics that will raise the hair on your head as to what the world in the 20 years will look like. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    Neither Islam or Fundamentalist Christianity

    This is an interesting book, but it is also a book that doesn't examine enough the increasing number of Muslims throughout the world that are rejecting Islam, and gradually accepting secularism and modernity. In the long haul, Islam will be rejected, not only by us over 5 billion non-Muslims in the world, but also by most Muslims. The Muslim religion, especially in it's fundamentalist form, is just too imcompatible with modernity, with modern science, sociology, tolerance, human rights, etc. to ultimately be accepted by many people. Most of the 5 billion non-Muslims in the world, the Christians, Jews, Buddhists, Hindus, etc., have become better educated, more scientific, less religious, and less superstitious over the past century. This is also happening in the Muslim world. And the birthrates of non-Muslims are dropping, but so are the birthrates in the majority of Muslim countries, with some excpetions. Which is why the World's population over the next half a century is going to level off at 8.5 billion or so, not the 12 or 13 billion that was projected twenty years ago. Eventually religious extremism and religious fundamentalism will be rejected throughout the world. But until then, religious fundamentalism, especially Muslim fundamentalism, is a serious problem in many countries that will have to be dealt with by those societies.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    The scariest book I'v ever read!!

    This is a must read for anyone who enjoys living in a free country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    There's Still A Chance...Wake Up America!

    A great primer in how the USA can anticipate the impact on our society and culture. The anticipation of demographic changes in Europe has implications for the whole world, including how we collectively respond to threats, implied or real. This book will get you started thinking deeply about the USA and how our country can respond now to minimize the impact.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    A Book Every American MUST Read!!

    Mark Steyn has moved ahead of Calvin Trillen in my personal pantheon of great writers still breathing. His ability to turn the phrase and his wonderfully acerbic sense of humor make reading him a joy. However he is deadly serious about his subject in 'America Alone'. This book will scare the hell out of you and must be read by all Americans. I challenge the Islamic appeasers among us to refute his facts and his conclusions. It would make for a very one-sided debate. That the book hasn't gotten more play and publicity is astounding to me. Bob Woodward writes a piece of rehashed crap and it flies to the top of the NY Times Best Seller list! We are are truly doomed if we don't wake up!! 'America Alone' is that Wake-up Call!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    A Nice Read

    The author has put together a nice read on a topic that is of some interest. However, the demise of Christianity is more related to the demise of America, which is occuring now. I would recommend this book alongside 'America's Financial Apocalypse: How to Profit the Next Great Depression' for an in-depth economic analysis of America.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2006

    The most important book of our time

    America Alone is the most important book I have read this year. It details the threat Islamic forces are exerting in the world today to return mankind to the dark ages. Europe is already a lost cause. There is a plot to control the world, and it isn't secret, and it isn't Jewish! Read this book today!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Great

    Wity profound mark has way with words and isnt pc. We must wake up a very scary book. Pure numbers . The strong inherit earth. Muslims will outnumber christians. Christians need better recruiting like muslims. Can lead to new dark age. Some say its inevitable. They build mosques everywhere even wanted to at ground zero. Just fact to say white race is dying not racist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Must read!

    This book is a must read for anyone who wants a broader perspective on the global impact of Islam. While Islam grows in population and strength the population of the rest of the world keeps shrinking. Great insight on how this impacts the US

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Looking forward to reading

    I have not read this book at this time. I think a lot of the author when I hear him on TV, usually filling in for Rush. I look forward to reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Absolute MUST READ! Briliant, witty and very clever book!

    Mark Steyn articulates the real problems facing our world today with uncanny zing and backs up his theories with statistics and trends that will make you sit up and think!
    I recommend this book or audio CD very highly and in fact, have started buying copies for friends and family as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3