Customer Reviews for

America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Big Question!!!

I've read similar books on this topic but this one lays it out in a way that even the most naive┬┐..ignorant┬┐..uninformed┬┐..oblivious individual can understand. This should be required reading for all politicians. Read it.....then give it to your kids to read.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Neither Islam or Fundamentalist Christianity

This is an interesting book, but it is also a book that doesn't examine enough the increasing number of Muslims throughout the world that are rejecting Islam, and gradually accepting secularism and modernity. In the long haul, Islam will be rejected, not only by us ove...
This is an interesting book, but it is also a book that doesn't examine enough the increasing number of Muslims throughout the world that are rejecting Islam, and gradually accepting secularism and modernity. In the long haul, Islam will be rejected, not only by us over 5 billion non-Muslims in the world, but also by most Muslims. The Muslim religion, especially in it's fundamentalist form, is just too imcompatible with modernity, with modern science, sociology, tolerance, human rights, etc. to ultimately be accepted by many people. Most of the 5 billion non-Muslims in the world, the Christians, Jews, Buddhists, Hindus, etc., have become better educated, more scientific, less religious, and less superstitious over the past century. This is also happening in the Muslim world. And the birthrates of non-Muslims are dropping, but so are the birthrates in the majority of Muslim countries, with some excpetions. Which is why the World's population over the next half a century is going to level off at 8.5 billion or so, not the 12 or 13 billion that was projected twenty years ago. Eventually religious extremism and religious fundamentalism will be rejected throughout the world. But until then, religious fundamentalism, especially Muslim fundamentalism, is a serious problem in many countries that will have to be dealt with by those societies.

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    Great, super quick read!!!

    Great book. Extremely relevant to our time. As the wife of an AF colonel who has been deployed to the Middle East three times and Afghanistan once, I can promise Mr. Steyn did not scratch the surface of what we're up against. The tales my husband brought back are horrific. Wake up America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Some one needed to say it!

    Mark Steyn tells it like it is. Some day, Christianity will be dead in Europe, and possibly the rest of the world. America Alone will scare the pants of you. If you want to know what the future holds, then read this book. Then start having kids.<BR/><BR/>PW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    Must read

    This says it all...a clear picture of the future...unless we wakeup!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Very good

    Excellent portrayal of our current situation. We must be the city on the hill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    A new ride by Paul Revere!

    A must read for Americans of every age ... especially the young. If you cherish America as it is and want this for yourselves and your children, be aware of the threat! Do not fiddle as Rome burns!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Mark Steyn has a great way with words. Where was he educated? I love his style and fear the message might be true. Will love my kids more, and feel sorry for world they are inheriting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    If left unheeded as Mr. Steyn says, America the beleagured but also the 'hyperpower,' that is all left among the Western powers can stave off the nebulous and nefarious influence of 21st century Wahabi terrorism, as he uniquely tells it, this is a new phenomenon, based in a very old war. As our birth rates are the highest in the the Western World and enjoy the highest standard of living, we should proclaim our moral superiority over these strains of Islamism. While I am cautious, I think in the Muslim world with the Sunnis we have been overstretching and we should take a more protective view of our assets, not the Saudis or Dubai's or even the Israelis, who my heart is with, but as it seems that this century portends ethnic nationalism on all continents except North America, I would say look home, young man. Not east. The world is blowing itself up before anybody cares to try to arrange it. I don't think even with our recent political victories on the foreign front, we can allieavate China's influence, the latter's country though could implode from within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I wish I could buy a hundred copies and distribute them to friends and acquaintances! I've been reading 'Islamic Imperialism', 'Infidel', 'The Reluctant Fundamentalist', 'A Thousand Splendid Suns', 'Londonistan', plus others. None sets out the situation in such a clear, readable language as Mark Steyn does in this intelligent book. I'm reading it again and making notes. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    American Racism

    This book shows just how bigoted we still are. In the 70's it was black hatred. Now it's Islamic hatred. Any way you paint it, it's still hatred.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    WAKE UP EVERYONE NOT JUST MUSLIMS!

    This book isn't only for americans to wake up its for everyone in the world should wake up all you americans should convert to islam it is truly the best religon in the world!! I used to be american. I had a muslim friend and i just love there customs and the culture!! WAKE UP EVERYONE WAKE UP

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    'Americrabia', I hope NOT!!

    Mark Steyn has made the vision of the 21st century very clear to me. If you are an American who wants your children to grow up in America and not 'Americrabia' then you need to read this. It may change your life. It is very troubling and yet eye opening at the same time. I would challenge any 'leftist', european, or socialist to prove him wrong. I wonder if the Romans had a writer with a vision as Mr Steyn? Ah... who cares, there isn't even a Rome anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3