Customer Reviews for

America America

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent -- A Really Great Read

This book was simply devine. I hated for it to end. The characters are vivid and vital and you are engaged by them from the start. Yes, it has echos of the infamous Kennedy scandal -- but the book is more about Corey and his "comming of age" and the struggle to reconc...
This book was simply devine. I hated for it to end. The characters are vivid and vital and you are engaged by them from the start. Yes, it has echos of the infamous Kennedy scandal -- but the book is more about Corey and his "comming of age" and the struggle to reconcile what your perceptions of those you "idolize" in your youth with what you come to understand of them as an adult. This is the first book of Ethan Canin's I have read, and it certainly won't be the last.

posted by SusanIL on March 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So-So

If you grew up in the Kennedy era, one can't help but see the similarities to the final fall of Camelot and all of the characters involved. Specifically, Teddy Kennedy and the death of Mary Jo Kopechne. I don't know if the author intended to draw such a close parallel b...
If you grew up in the Kennedy era, one can't help but see the similarities to the final fall of Camelot and all of the characters involved. Specifically, Teddy Kennedy and the death of Mary Jo Kopechne. I don't know if the author intended to draw such a close parallel but I couldn't separate the two events in my mind, which left me feeling uncomfortable. As uncomfortable as I felt back in 1969 when Teddy got off with barely a slap on the wrist. I'm a democrat so it's not sour grapes but rather unfair and unjust punishment for the death of a young woman. In America America I didn't feel like I really knew much about any of the characters and why they did the things that they did by the final page. Especially, Christian, Clara and their mother who seemed to be bordering on the edge of insanity...but why? Putting that aside, I did enjoy the narrative style. I would give this author another try but this book was just so-so for me.

posted by Kate_Sullivan on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Missing pages

    I bought this for a class and was really confused untill I figured out that it was missing parts of the story, I'm not sure if this is only a mistake in the one i bought?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent -- A Really Great Read

    This book was simply devine. I hated for it to end. The characters are vivid and vital and you are engaged by them from the start. Yes, it has echos of the infamous Kennedy scandal -- but the book is more about Corey and his "comming of age" and the struggle to reconcile what your perceptions of those you "idolize" in your youth with what you come to understand of them as an adult. This is the first book of Ethan Canin's I have read, and it certainly won't be the last.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So-So

    If you grew up in the Kennedy era, one can't help but see the similarities to the final fall of Camelot and all of the characters involved. Specifically, Teddy Kennedy and the death of Mary Jo Kopechne. I don't know if the author intended to draw such a close parallel but I couldn't separate the two events in my mind, which left me feeling uncomfortable. As uncomfortable as I felt back in 1969 when Teddy got off with barely a slap on the wrist. I'm a democrat so it's not sour grapes but rather unfair and unjust punishment for the death of a young woman. In America America I didn't feel like I really knew much about any of the characters and why they did the things that they did by the final page. Especially, Christian, Clara and their mother who seemed to be bordering on the edge of insanity...but why? Putting that aside, I did enjoy the narrative style. I would give this author another try but this book was just so-so for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Excellent

    Great writing. Great story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Amrica

    It tpuched my heart strings

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Gdgddv NvgfvddhjmbvcaggdJDHFF?

    Dqqwetuopiacvv7*:%%¿^¿|~=^€_¿?•_¿^•??|

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    America America by Ethan Canin

    In Europe people become titillated by the scandalous stories of the royal families, who might not have power in the government, still hold an enchanting power over their people. American society is not quite the same, instead we turn to our politicians for our stories of adultery, cover-ups, and very rarely a murder. In Ethan Canin's novel America America we see the American political system through the eyes of a teen into his adulthood and through this view we see how one event can create a series that no one would have ever thought to be imaginable.
    In his third novel Canin flawlessly goes back and forth between the past, the present, and all the time in between. In the course of a few pages Canin might take his reader from his main character Corey Sifter's high school, to the present, then back to his college years. Not only does this exhibit his excellence in writing skills, this also keeps the reader involved. Which can often be found difficult in this modern age of endless pass time possibilities.
    It is through these passages of time that some of the greatest emotions are played. Sometimes we are not only brought back in time in the mind of Corey, but occasionally we are brought to yet another time through letters he is reading. Such is the case of the letter that Corey receives from the man who financed his education, Liam Matarey. The same holds true in the letter his father gives him from his mother.
    As wonderful as these changes in setting are, on a few rare occasions readers are left wondering what period they are in, or confused about what events have occurred and which ones have yet to happen. This is sometimes furthered by Canin trying to be conspicuous about the plot of the novel, which he does by giving little information about the setting. It can be easily concluded that Canin's desire to "shock" his audience only works against him, instead all it does is confound his them.
    While the plot is a coming of age in sorts, it is centered around a rich family that Corey is employed by, the Matarey's, and the Senator that they are supporting in the upcoming presidential election. Rest assured one does not need to be a fan of politics in order to like the novel. In fact while the story is centered on politics Canin is more observing the effects of politics has on the people involved, rather than the process.
    While no one passage of the novel is quotable, the message Canin is bringing across is clear. Unfortunately this message can be read in many non-fiction works, due to it's unkindly similarities with a certain East coast political powerhouse family. Ted Kennedy might be the lesser known of the Kennedy brothers, but his scandalous story of drunk driving is not and while art may imitate life, Canin has imitated a little too much. Due to this readers have difficulty respecting the novel. Even though the writing is excellent, the content is not original bringing the book down to a mediocre novel as a whole.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Good book If you into the ugly world of politics, this is just

    Good book

    If you into the ugly world of politics, this is just the book for you. Politics are a very dirty ugly thing. Nothing
    or nobody matters except what one can do for themselves in that tainted atmosphere. Good book at
    telling it like it is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Just tah

    Gkdu

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    G

    G

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Good

    Fuken book bozoe

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Poopy

    Pee pee pee pee pee

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Wonderful

    I heard its a GREAT book!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Gfhjjkxxfffxhxgxdfsgtjlklgddx

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Iwonder

    I wonder.........................

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    A very good novel. I'm not quite sure how to categorize it - pa

    A very good novel. I'm not quite sure how to categorize it - part
    political novel, part mystery, part coming-of-age. But the books that
    can't be pinned down are the best kind, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    PPP

    Hhhhh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    You

    Poop

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    HO HO HO

    abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz0123456789@#$%&*-+(),/;:'"!@¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿zx¿fzxvb¿mmkljh.,;&()-+!??"'@/:l¿¿¿¿¿?¿p¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿yttr¿¿¿¿w¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    this book sounds like about the history of america

    I want this book i don't care about those stupid teenagers

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6