Customer Reviews for

America by Heart: Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag

Average Rating 3.5
( 373 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(104)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

the real sarah palin

"america by heart" is a very exellent book. this is sarah palin at her best. the 2012 candidate shares in this bestseller her faith sermons that have been special to her and many of these countrys founding documents that have influenced her and what is very special abou...
"america by heart" is a very exellent book. this is sarah palin at her best. the 2012 candidate shares in this bestseller her faith sermons that have been special to her and many of these countrys founding documents that have influenced her and what is very special about this book is she has many special comments and how they have shaped her faith and politics this read will be great to get to know gov palin in 2012 as she will be one of the top contenders.

posted by storms1 on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Where has the civility gone in America?

What Sarah Palin has to say may not be for everyone. That's fine. But...in this country we have had a tradition of civil discourse. I am truly disappointed by the tone of the negative "reviews" about this work. If you don't like a personality, fine...but any intell...
What Sarah Palin has to say may not be for everyone. That's fine. But...in this country we have had a tradition of civil discourse. I am truly disappointed by the tone of the negative "reviews" about this work. If you don't like a personality, fine...but any intelligent person will evaluate the work, not just the writer. Additionally, any intelligent American will not use name calling and condescending epitaths aimed at readers with opposing opinions in hopes of distracting from the void of relevant commentary on the actual work.

Like Palin or not...her work needs to be judged on its merit alone, not political vitriole or character assassination.

Read her work with an open mind...then decide for yourself.

A proud American who still remembers how to agree and disagree respectfully.

posted by 4256564 on November 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    One Star Critic(s)

    How many of you one Star critics have read this book? It was just released! When was the last time you allowed a competing opinion to reside in your reality? How many of you would 'say' in person what you type on a non-confrontational keyboard? A bit more tolerance from you would go a long way to avoid a coming insurrection. But if avoidance is not your goal, read Rules for Radicals by Saul Alinsky. I for one will wait until I have read this book before evaluating it.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    dumb

    this is an incredibly stupid book. don't waste your time eaxding it.

    8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Awesome book!

    Smart, commonsense solutions given by a smart, commonsense person. An inspiring, fantastic read!

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Who really cares what Palin thinks

    Sarah...no one cares what you think. At least thinking people don't care what you think. A boring read, self indulgent (surprised?).

    8 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Wouldn't read this if it was the only book on the shelf!

    Isn't everyone about sick and tired of this squeaky voiced know it all.

    8 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    inspiring

    as a canadian grateful to live north of america i am puzzled by the nate directed towards someone who expresses clear and honest values. i have to assume these people are the takers, not the makers,

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Highly recommended

    I plead to most Americans to read this book ss its contents

    shows the insights and reflections of Ms. Palin on the almost

    dying principles and moral values that made possible the creation

    of our great nation.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Don't listen to the deranged haters

    I find it interesting that all of the detractors on here who like to call Mrs. Palin stupid can barely spell, punctuate, or use intelligible grammar. They probably didn't even read the book: they're just letting SNL tell them what to think. Nice job, sheeple.

    It takes a great deal of true courage (not media fake courage) to keep doing what Mrs. Palin is doing in the face of such mindless and venomous vitriol. I prefer her writing infinitely over the traitorous and racist rambling of our current Head of State and hope that she will soon replace him.

    Here's my advice: read the book. Actually read it. Find out for yourself what you think of the woman. If you can manage to be truly openminded, I think that you will be surprised to find a person very different from what the pundits told you.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    Palin says what we all are thinking

    An American icon, a real person. Sarah Palin speaks from the heart and from experience.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    Can't wait to read it.

    I loved her first book and I can't wait to read it. As for the haters here, she was an awesome governor!

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    America by Heart

    This is a great book showing the values of America in this hard time.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Intellectual and informative but also warm and inviting

    As strange as it may sound to some, I found this to be an extremely intellectual book. Evidently she got the message from the Katie Couric interview and since that time, has become quite widely read. This book teems with quotes from such heavyweights as Alexis de Tocqueville, Booker T. Washington, Milton Friedman, Calvin Coolidge, John Kennedy, Teddy Roosevelt and many more. The former Alaskan governor has hit a home run with this book. Anyone that thinks she is an intellectual lightweight should read it. I don't think it would be possible to better interweave a deeply insightful analysis of what's wrong with this country with compelling arguments about how to fix it through faith, family, and patriotism. OK, I know Palin-haters will say that someone else must have helped write it, but we know that someone else helps write virtually all books by public figures. And if it's true, it doesn't take anything away. Having written three books myself, I know the important role of editors, advisors, and friends but the words are in the end, the author's words. This book could not have been said any better. Does that mean Palin would make a good President. Who knows at this point? But if anyone thinks she doesn't have a grasp of the things that should matter to our elected officials, this book is proof that she does. And if anyone thinks, these things are not the key things that should matter to a political leader, well, ... I guess that would explain the mess this country is in.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A true American will love your book.

    Sarah, from what I have read, you may move in next door. You are absolutely terrific! Refreshing to a fault! I love that!!! Off the cuff and matter-of-fact... I set it down only long enough for a friend to borrow it this week! Don't ever stop telling us how you feel. You are one of the Heart's of America, and our voice. Thank you with all my heart! I love your book and it is even better than Going Rogue! True American's will love your book.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Highly recommended - Makes you proud to be an American

    This book reminds us that freedom, family, and standing for rights of individuals is why we love America and why others crave to come here to live. This book covers many of the topics that should instill patriotism in all Americans, yet are no longer being taught in American public schools. This book mentors all of those who salute our flag and what it stands for not to shirk their principles and take responsibility to mentor the young people in our country to stand firm against our country's detractors and apologists. America has been and will be a model for other countries to follow. This is not a book about Sarah Palin. It is about an America that allows for a diversity of ideas, but abhors tyranny, bigotry, and increasing governmental controls over daily life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Inspiring Read - Highly recommended!

    This was the first book by Sarah Palin I ever read. I was so impressed that I bought her first book, and thoroughly enjoyed that one too.

    I appreciate Sarah's heart, and the stories she shares from her experiences on the road, predominantly from her first book tour.

    Her conservative, Christian values are clearly evident, and like minded people will be encouraged and inspired. For those of you with different views, perhaps you still will not agree, but I think you will have a better understanding of the sources of our views on faith, small government, the ingenuity of America's citizens, and the importance of supporting our country.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finding Our Way Back...

    This is a really thought-provoking book. I just finished it but I know deep inside that I am not done with it. Sarah Palin is a present-day patriot. She truly believes that America is an exceptional force for good in the world. It is the only shining city on the hill that exists today. It is all about freedom for all people. We have inalienable rights that must not be abridged by any government.

    I encourage everyone to read this book. If you decide to do this, please try to put aside your own deep-seated prejudices while reading it. Read it with an open mind. Whether you are conservative or liberal, Democrat, Republican, Libertarian, Independent or something else, religious, agnostic or atheist, you will find yourself both agreeing and disagreeing with her philosophy. When you disagree, ask yourself, "Why?" When you agree, again ask yourself, "Why?" You will not be judged for this internal conversation with yourself but I do believe you will have conflicts that will surprise you.

    The United States of America exists today because our forefathers believed strongly that all men and women should be free. Since the Declaration of Independence in 1776, many brave people have given their lives in defense of our freedom. We cannot allow these deaths to be in vain.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Idiocracy

    Sarah Palin and her ghostwrier are sad excuses for 'Great Americans.' This book is complete propoganda. If idiots in this country think this is actually worthwhile, then we are in more trouble than I thought.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Great read

    Sarah Palin is a great patriot and a strong Christian woman, politician, wife and mother. As a former OIF and OEF veteran it is people like her that remind my sacrifices were worth it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Palin and her money machine...

    I'm not a fan of Palin and I read this book with an open mind. After reading what she had to say, I was still not impressed. The America she loves is making her stinking rich for saying nothing of substance. I will have more respect for her (maybe) if she quits hiding behind Facebook and Twitter and the propaganda of her books and Fox News and faces the public in a non-shielded and protected environment. But that will never happen because she cannot take constructive criticism. The book did nothing for me to convince me she has Presidential substance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    The great thing about this book is that it is written by an average American Mother. She is happily married and still in her first marriage. She has children, parents, uncles, aunts, cousins and grandparents. She works hard and teaches her family to do the same. She, as she puts it, "has been blessed to travels this great country", and uses these experiences and her own personal feelings about government & politics to write this positive uplifting story. She talks about the great things about our country and encourages us to do the same. In a world where the media only talks about the negative, this book is refreshing to read. Sarah Palin represents me & my family values. She is doing what most of us are trying to do and that is raising good kids and working everyday to keep a successful mariage and family, not a perfect one (there is no such thing). I wonder if we all were to look at the positive, if our country would change for the better faster. It sounds simple, but usually the best answers are just that...SIMPLE!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19