Customer Reviews for

America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

This is the story of a boy who grew up against odds to become one of the most intelligent men of our times. If he were not needed as a miracle working doctor, we could use his God given wisdom as one of our governmental leaders! He has a heart for our nation and it's ...
This is the story of a boy who grew up against odds to become one of the most intelligent men of our times. If he were not needed as a miracle working doctor, we could use his God given wisdom as one of our governmental leaders! He has a heart for our nation and it's people.
There is lots of practical advice in these pages so we have given his book as gifts. Our copy will not sit on the shelf but be passed around to spread his wealth of information.

posted by 5700201 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

Right wing pap

I have news for Dr. Carson; he is the problem with this country. A flat tax will destroy us. Cutting the safety net creates misery. And NO ONE succeeds in this country without the help, effort, and money (TAXES) of everyone who has gone before him. Shame on you, Dr. Car...
I have news for Dr. Carson; he is the problem with this country. A flat tax will destroy us. Cutting the safety net creates misery. And NO ONE succeeds in this country without the help, effort, and money (TAXES) of everyone who has gone before him. Shame on you, Dr. Carson. You lie.

posted by Bijou1313 on March 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    How Real American Patriots think

    Excellent read, needs taught in schools

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    He is just the kind of leader America needs!

    Dr. Ben Carson is one of the most billiant and correct minds in America I stand for a lot of stuff he stands for.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    America

    *•._.•*

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Very inspirational. Riveting.

    I loved it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    WOW

    An easy read full of deep thoughtful insights that hopefully will awaken America at this time of need. His faith is inspiring, his knowledge right on, his love for America and his God contagious. I want to hear more from this wonderful man.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    An excellent example of what one can do in the USA

    So many of Dr. Carson's views are shared by so many Americans; so why are the ideologies of the minority in this country in the driver's seat? Dr. Carson and his brother were raised in a single parent home with only their mother's ambition and drive to see her children succeed in life. She taught them to be accountable for their actions, to believe in God and to strive to be the best.
    If more of us would practice this life style, teach our children to be decent, law-abiding, God-fearing citizens and to appreciate our good fortune to be in this country, we would not have the problems we, as a nation, face today.
    Run for the office of President in 2016, Dr. Carson, and you'll have my vote!
    Westie's Mom

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Condition better than advertised

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    What a story!

    This book should be read by every high school kid in america. Kids could look up to a man that came from the bottom to make it to the top with hard work and dedication two things missing from a lot of kids now a days. Ben is a great role model for all races but blacks mainly that can look at his stituation and see such a likeness in their lives. It would do kids well to look up to this great man compared to these trashy rapers and worthless political office holders. If Ben does decide to run for gop i pray he keeps his values at all times we need a man like him to fix this country. To all who talk about flat taxes like it is the devil i wish you would do a little reaserch other than msnbc an new york times. God bless you ben loved the book an your story is a great example of the American dream.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Without a doubt one of the best books in this 2nd decade of the 21st Century. AMUST read by every American.

    Dr. Carson's personal story is an inspiration to everyone who begins life in poverty. His honesty in telling about his childhood and through the teen years until he realized that his Mother saw the potential within him as well as his brother. This is a life that should inspire every young person as well s any adult who feels that making "it" in this world is truly up to his or her self and not being traped in a welfare state expcting the government to control his/her life. His logical approach to solving difficult problems is well presented in this book. Dr. Carson will be heard very loud and clear in the days ahead.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    It is all about the people.

    No better name than “America the Beautiful.” America is the “people” of the country. Not one culture, not one ethnic group, but a sample of those who have come to the land of the free where there are no restrictions on being the best one could be. Opportunity is for everyone to display his or her natural ability. Young generations of today cannot understand or realize the importance of the availability of freedom. Individuals will not know what it is to be restricted from daily activities they now take for granted. Ben Carson uses real life experience to show how people lived and behaved in our world. Great book and a good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Ben Carson grew up only to spit in the face of ancestors who ris

    Ben Carson grew up only to spit in the face of ancestors who risked and some lost their lives so he could have a better one. His pathetic sucking up to the racist republican party seems to imply he has serious mental  health problems.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Great Read!

    I am now going to watch the movie "Gifted Hands" because it is Dr. Ben Carson's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    America the Beautiful- best book & author I've read in a long time!!!

    I'm about 80% done reading this thoughtful book. Every American should read it to (A) see what we missed in our history books, and (B) revel in how our system nurtured a "least likely to succeed" American from Detroit to excel in thinking for himself and achieving so much in many important areas. Especially recommended to inspire young people, and all of us to man up to restore our heritage from our founding fathers. Thank you B&N!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    This guy should be our next president...

    The author is probably too smart to get involved in politics, but he should be our next president...GREAT book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I hope he is our next President

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Excellent historical facts as well as a modern-day approach to our government. His personal biography adds to the interest. A must read for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly recommend, I bought additional copies for gifts!

    Dr. Carson thoughtful prescription for the path America needs to follow is supported my numerous quotes from our Founding Father's and scriptural references from the Bible. Ben Carson, is uniquely qualified to speak on what it takes to succeed in America, and how the policies of "the nanny state" act as a disincentive to many today. He communicates his belief that for America to remain strong, our country needs to empower all it's citizens to be the best that they can be.


    Sandy1945

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    He should be President of the United States of America. The wro

    He should be President of the United States of America. The wrong guy got elected. This is an excellent book and should be suggested reading for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Natalie kaplan

    All the stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    I recommend this book to everyone, regardless of politics

    This is a excellent book. This man would make a great president. he has a true understanding of what this country needs and how to get it there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7