Customer Reviews for

The American (Ryan Kealey Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    Another by the numbers terrorist plot

    like the premise of this book. I listened to the CD Audio version that I picked up at a truck stop for $3. The set up was good. Good revenge factor. The big terror event was deflating and the ending was just not plausible. Trying to set up a sequel. An evil Jason Bourne series. I mean how can someone, even a super terrorist high IQ super villain type survive a 180 foot drop off a cliff into freezing sea water. I know about suspending belief but come on.

    The only person in the entire US spy community to solve the problem is a retired ex special forces guy. Out of the thousands of US spies, Keeley is the only guy. Give me a break with these formulas.

    While I am at it, I wish these authors would get rid of the female character who throws a fit when she realizes the protagonist is going to do his job. Throw a fit and go home so the villain can get them there. Talk about trite. Most people I know, male and female, would just tell their whiny significant other to take a hike or grow up. I mean they went from having a great night out to her ultimatum. Me or the job.
    Pleassssssssssssssssssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Patience

    The book starts off slow, building characters and laying some historical groundwork. There is a boring mission in South Africa. However the story quickly picks up suspense and action and I couldn't put it down for the last 125 pages. I am looking forward to the reading The Assassin!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Anyone hoping to read a novel similar to Vince Flynn's Mitch Rap

    Anyone hoping to read a novel similar to Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp series will be disappointed, in my opinion. This book is absolutely filled with endless detail… unnecessary  detail. 
    The primary character, Ryan Kealy, has very few altercations throughout the entire book. In Flynn's books, every time you turn a page it seems that Rapp is beating / shooting / torturing a terrorist.
    The Rapp series is action packed… all page turners. This book took quite a while to pique my interest; too long. By the time I cared about Kealy, even a little bit, I was finished.  Foe books like this
    and characters like Ryan Kealey, I believe most readers would find the Mitch Rapp or Scott Harvath (Brad Thor) series to be far more interesting, action packed and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this read very much. Characters were well developed and the story did keep my interest to the very end. Exciting to read and always happy to see the good guys win in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Predictable and far-fetched, but I was still hooked into finishi

    Predictable and far-fetched, but I was still hooked into finishing the book. The protagonist is described in super-hero terms, the villain is described in super-hero terms, in fact you could be reading a comic book! Nonetheless, the action is good and once the terrorist threat is actively in progress, I found myself caring whether or not the bad guy could be stopped! I would call this a guilty pleasure, but I will probably not buy the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Highly Recommended If you like political drama it is a must read....

    Great book took a couple of chapters to get into it but then on the edge throughout the whole book I couldn't put it down and when I had to I couldn't wait till I got a chance to get back into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read this book, and I feel like I have just finished reading one of Vince Flynn's books. The similarities are too much. The main character, a real hero who survives bullet wounds, assualts, explosions, and attacks, while fighting the bad guys. He fights by his own rules, and in the end wins by killing the bad guys, and a terriorist attack in D.C. or else where is prevented. His operations are covert, and only a few high ranking officials know, including the president. If things don't go as planned they deny he exists or they cover up.

    I don't plan to read, any time soon, this type of book with the same type of characters, plot, or story line. If you have read any one of VInce Flynn's books you will know what I mean. I read all five of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    a must read if you like spy thrillers.

    well written. plots and people very believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Not Great - but, definitely good

    I've never seen the movie, so that comparison won't be made.

    All-in-all, a great book with a modern plot. Of course, like previous reviews state, not very realistic (but, it's also a work of FICTION - so, what else would you expect?).

    Well written, with the option of putting it down if you need to; but, also enough action/intrigue if you don't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Great Book

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Excellent Book!

    Good writing style. Keeps you in suspense so that you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Thrilling escapism

    I have gone backwards with this author. I started out on The Invisible A birthday gift as I love to read, I was so impressed with the authors choice of characters and his gift for building, that I went out and purchased both The American and The Assassin. Wonderful stuff, complete, thrilling escapism which is the sole reason I read in the first place. I highly recommend anything Britton has put together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    American

    This book had me riveted to the spot. I literately could not set it aside. I am a huge Brad Thor fan and indeed it was his words that set me out to read The American as in his own words Brad said and I quote 'In his debut novel, Britton has delivered a level of storytelling excellence most writers spend a lifetime trying to achieve. The American is brilliantly well-written.' -Brad Thor, And Brad. YOU where spot on Britton is an excellent story teller. I have since purchased The Assassin and The Invisible and look forward to reading both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    American

    I was well into the book before I learned that this was the author first book I am glad I did not know this at the start as it may have put me off buying it.I am glad I bought it and read it as it will now be noted as one of the best thriller books I have ever read. and I am going to get the next one now as I have to know what happens to March. ??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    American

    In this debut novel Andrew Britton takes us on a terrifying ride through present day dangers. The average American lives in fear of terrorist attacks. And in the opening chapters of The American a US senator is attacked in DC. Who is it that walks among them in & How can they stop him? The research is a fascinating record of investigative work, which combines exhaustive checking with intuition. But the 'The American' is clever, too, particularly when he's cornered. Some of the novels finest moments come after 'The Americans' false identity is discovered and yet this isn't a novel about a killer, but about a man of uncommon intelligence and nerve.One that many many readers came to admire and like. Britton give him a background, a past, a reason to do what he does. He has made the terrorist likable. I had read this statement in reviews and was pushed to find out more. I am glad I did I finished.The American then went back out and purchased the Assassin, and The Invisible. TIP to Barnes & Noble Carry more than one copy of The American as I predict a lot of people will be reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    American

    Former Special Forces Officer Ryan Kealey is now living in Maine, lecturing occasionally at the University of Maine as an associated professor of International relations. His partner of six months is Katie Donavon, who isn't totally sure he has retired. When Ryan sees on the news a terrorist strike on Independence Avenue, Washington DC - a hit on three cars in broad daylight, killing a US Senator, an outspoken critic of Iranian hard-liners, he waits for the telephone call he knows will come. Arriving in Langley Virginia, Jonathan Harper Deputy Operation Director at Langley shows Ryan a tape on which he identifies Jason March, an American national, now clearly high up in Al-Qaeda. Ryan Kealey knows Jason March, not a man to make mistakes. So who can stop him, only one of their own, the man who trained him Former Special Forces Officer Ryan Thomas Kealey. The hunt is on. Within two weeks Washington DC is again the scene of terrorist devastation. Both Ryan and is new partner British Naomi Kharmai of Central Intelligence, Counter Terrorism, are caught in the operation. Like all good stories much of the intrigue lies in the past. Just what did Jason March do to Ryan, and where exactly is he? Written from multiple points of view with the action switching constantly from Washington to Langley to Iran, and then to South Africa, with a couple of end of chapter cliff-hangers, this is a page turner. The characterization is excellent - I chuckled at the reference to Naomi scratching her butt. Also some great sexual tension. A stunning unexpected climax. I Recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Just finished reading The American. Very impressed. I have tried my own hand at writing on and off for years. Then along comes this slip of a boy and shows us HOW to do it and do it right. A winner an engrossing read. looking forward to starting The Assassin which is next on my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    IF YOU HAVE SOMETHING IMPORTANT TO DO, DON'T START READING

    If you have a lot to do, don't start reading this book. It will keep you from getting anything done because you cannot put it down. Page after thrilling page it just gets better and more exciting. Do yourself a favor, get this book and set aside a few hours to ride this one out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    It will stay with you.

    The American will linger in your mind. the kind of book that will make you lose track of time. Very impressive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    An engrossing read.

    I found it difficult to set aside. Read it in a few short days The atmosphere and the plot. Well put together. Skillful and very exciting. Overall I would say an engrossing read.I will recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3