Customer Reviews for

American Assassin (Mitch Rapp Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 2343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1022)

4 Star

(543)

3 Star

(363)

2 Star

(172)

1 Star

(243)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This is a refreshing Rapp tale as Vince Flynn tells the story of how he became the CIA superagent

CIA Operations Director Thomas Stansfield understands the Cold War is over as the economic chaos begins to implode the Soviet empire. However, On December 21, 1988, Pan Am Flight 103 explodes over Lockerbie, Scotland, killing all on board and several in the town; Stans...
CIA Operations Director Thomas Stansfield understands the Cold War is over as the economic chaos begins to implode the Soviet empire. However, On December 21, 1988, Pan Am Flight 103 explodes over Lockerbie, Scotland, killing all on board and several in the town; Stansfield realizes a new adversary has taken its first visible strike.

Islamic terrorism has begun so to take the fight overseas, Stansfield orders Irene Kennedy and Stan Hurley to create a team who do not exist so that they can work outside the cage of politicians. Kennedy recruits twenty two year old college athlete Mitch Rapp who shows a propensity for stealth; however, the kid has no interest in working for the incompetent Feds as he only wants to murder those who murdered the Lockerbie victims. Soon he and Hurley go at it to see if he has the right stuff. Six months later, Rapp is in Istanbul to bring the war to the east starting with the efficient assassination of the Turkish arms dealer who sold the explosives. Soon after the first kill, bodies are left on two continents with Rapp knowing Beirut awaits him, but unaware his adversary plans to greet him as an honored dead man.

This is a refreshing Rapp tale as Vince Flynn tells the story of how he became the CIA superagent. Fast-paced throughout, Mr. Flynn uses the Lockerbie tragedy as the impetus for converting Rapp. Fans of the saga will relish the hero's tyro days starting with the bruising first nutcracker battle in the Virginia barn between Rapp and Hurley, his killing of the murderers and their associates and culminating in his escapades to survive the hells of Beirut. This is a great entry in a strong series.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Flynn disappointment

Not even close to the prior 11 great Flynn novels. Rapp is an automaton not a rookie. No background information such as Islamic terrorism or PanAm Lockerbie provided which could have been in this setting. Flynn phoned this one in. Read like a publisher's merry-go-rou...
Not even close to the prior 11 great Flynn novels. Rapp is an automaton not a rookie. No background information such as Islamic terrorism or PanAm Lockerbie provided which could have been in this setting. Flynn phoned this one in. Read like a publisher's merry-go-round assignment to produce 150,000 words a year. If you've never read Flynn, don't start here! If you have, skip it.

posted by Kitwa on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Flynn disappointment

    Not even close to the prior 11 great Flynn novels. Rapp is an automaton not a rookie. No background information such as Islamic terrorism or PanAm Lockerbie provided which could have been in this setting. Flynn phoned this one in. Read like a publisher's merry-go-round assignment to produce 150,000 words a year. If you've never read Flynn, don't start here! If you have, skip it.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    What happened? Not up to par

    I love the Mitch Rapp series and usually read them in two days. I've had American Assassin for a month and have only gotten to the middle and don't care to finish! It's plodding and uninteresting - too much time spent on day by day accounts of Rapp's training at The Farm, too much time spent on Stan Hurley coming to grips with Rapp's talent...dull, dull, dull. Would have been better with some interaction between Mitch and his girlfriend and develop that relationship so readers can understand why Rapp was so moved to avenge her death - instead she's a passing reference. Also all the typos are distracting. Overall, very disappointing and I want to return it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Don't bother

    Terrible editing--too many typos; grammatic errors; inconsistent segues; characters' names mixed up (e.g. "Mark" instead of "John" Cummins). At times I felt as if a "protege" of Flynn's was writing it. Took me two weeks to finish because it was so uninteresting--normally I would stay up half the night to finish one of books. Boring, boring, boring.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Very disappointing

    The author had what initially appeared to be a good idea: explore the beginnings of Mitch Rapp's career as a CIA black ops agent. But as Flynn writes in his Acknowledgments section, "Publishing.is a dynamic, exciting industry where things can go wrong." Several things went badly awry with this novel. There are an astounding number of typographical/grammatical errors, e.g., "Your sure?" Is this the fault of the editor or a proofreader? The overblown opening about Rapp's training and the hurried ending seem to indicate that Flynn didn't have much to say after all. Maybe he is tiring of his protagonist. Perhaps the publisher pressured him into releasing the manuscript too soon. Whatever the reasons American Assassin is the low point of what has been a mostly-entertaining series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Price is ridiculous for an ebook

    No way would I pay this much for an ebook.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    no

    this book appeared in my library and wont go away

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Worst VF Book EVER!!!!!!!

    The typos and grammar errors didn't bother me. What got me whas Mitch came into camp and was already a bad A**. He was too cocky and sure of himself. I was highly disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Buyers Remorse

    I was so into the book by reading the sample. I hesitated at paying the high price but I just had to have it. I have buyers remorse. This was not a good purchase.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    A Huge Disappointment

    I counted 12 serious, blatant typographical errors including a continuity problem, and I'm sure there were more I didn't catch. This is very disrespectful to the reader who paid $16 to $20 for a hardcover first edition. One would expect the author and the publisher to at least correct the errors.

    Beyond that, the pace is sluggish, the writing sophomoric, the action limited, and the characters are unbelievable. A colossal bore. I've read all the previous Vince Flynn novels. This was a huge disappointment, and probably my last Vince Flynn novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Don't buy this book!

    Mr. Flynn stopped written goods books when he made Rapp age too fast
    and also when he killed his wife. The wife could have added a dozen books around her profession and his, but Flynn killed that, than made Mitch turn into a a character that was too old compared to what he was.
    Now starting over? What a waste - there is no place for this to go, besides its poorly written - was it a whole weekend or just a day to punch this out!

    rh23

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    looks boring

    Everybody says don't judge by its cover but i am sorry this looks really boring

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    WASTE OF TIME NOT EVEN 1 STAR

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME IN THIS HORRIBLE BOOK FAIR WARNING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Very Disappointed!

    I was very disappointed in this book and can figure out why it was written now after I have read so many books with Mitch Rapp. To me it was like putting the cart before the horse.
    I was bored and just could not get into the book and skipped over many pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Just reading reviews

    If Schuster needs a new editor who really understands the English language, I am available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Wrong series number

    This is listed as number 11 in the series but should be number 1. This starts out with Mitch Rapp''s initial training in his first assignment. I started with number one but it should be number 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    This Book Was Not Proofed Before It Was Published

    It’s very unfortunate that Mr. Flynn has no one to proofread his books before they are published. I bought the hardcover edition at B&N for $6.98 on sale (the e-book is $9.99). I enjoyed the story but all to often it was interrupted by sentences that didn’t make any sense. There are words that are spelled correctly but misused and words that are just plain misspelled. I won’t buy anymore of his books for this reason.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    E

    I can't follow this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Probably THE most disappointing book I have ever read.

    I have read all of the previous works from Mr. Flynn and couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. Was I ever disappointed. I should have waited and read the reviews before buying this one. If there is an "Istar" of books, this is it. I could recount all of the comments of the previous postings regarding this book but I will only add that if this is the quality of the work we can expect going forward, this IS my last Flynn purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13