Customer Reviews for

American Born Chinese

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

More than expected

This graphic novel is much more than it may seem- simply just a graphic novel. While on the surface it is an interesting tale about a boy that doesn't fit in, underneath the surface there lies a whole world of myth and legend, individuality, cultural and self ac...
This graphic novel is much more than it may seem- simply just a graphic novel. While on the surface it is an interesting tale about a boy that doesn't fit in, underneath the surface there lies a whole world of myth and legend, individuality, cultural and self acceptance. An absolute must read.

posted by Anonymous on July 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

American Born Chinese: Not the Best Book

Three characters, three stories, one graphic novel. Each and everyone of them wants to fit in. The first character is Jin-Wang, who is an American-Chinese elementary and middle school student. He is a pretty realistic character, but I find her an unimpressive, strang...
Three characters, three stories, one graphic novel. Each and everyone of them wants to fit in. The first character is Jin-Wang, who is an American-Chinese elementary and middle school student. He is a pretty realistic character, but I find her an unimpressive, strange person. He does some unusual things, such as using soap as deodorant, and the general story is a bit awkward, since it focuses on the bad parts of his life. Then there's my favorite character, the Monkey King of the Flower Fruit Mountain. He wishes to be a god, but he isn't allowed to since he was a monkey, even though he had mastered the twelve arts of Kung-fu. He is a very funny character, and his story is quite interesting. I like him, except for the fact that the author shows him as a denying character, when he begs and fights to become a god. But he's still a classic cartoon character. The last character is Danny, who is an american high-schooler, but is also someone who seems to be very sad and complaining. Every year, his cousin Chin-kee visits him from China. He ruins everything for Danny, with his teachers and his friends. I personally don't like him, since he is too emotional about what Chin-kee does (although I hated Chin-kee because of how he treated other characters). Overall, this graphic novel is a bit immature, and I wasn't extremely impressed by it. It sort of gave me a bad image of graphic novels, so I'm not planning on reading another one soon (but maybe I'm stereotyping graphic novels). Oh well, it was still a fun break from the rest of my books.

posted by Agent_A on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    American Born Chinese: Not the Best Book

    Three characters, three stories, one graphic novel. Each and everyone of them wants to fit in. The first character is Jin-Wang, who is an American-Chinese elementary and middle school student. He is a pretty realistic character, but I find her an unimpressive, strange person. He does some unusual things, such as using soap as deodorant, and the general story is a bit awkward, since it focuses on the bad parts of his life. Then there's my favorite character, the Monkey King of the Flower Fruit Mountain. He wishes to be a god, but he isn't allowed to since he was a monkey, even though he had mastered the twelve arts of Kung-fu. He is a very funny character, and his story is quite interesting. I like him, except for the fact that the author shows him as a denying character, when he begs and fights to become a god. But he's still a classic cartoon character. The last character is Danny, who is an american high-schooler, but is also someone who seems to be very sad and complaining. Every year, his cousin Chin-kee visits him from China. He ruins everything for Danny, with his teachers and his friends. I personally don't like him, since he is too emotional about what Chin-kee does (although I hated Chin-kee because of how he treated other characters). Overall, this graphic novel is a bit immature, and I wasn't extremely impressed by it. It sort of gave me a bad image of graphic novels, so I'm not planning on reading another one soon (but maybe I'm stereotyping graphic novels). Oh well, it was still a fun break from the rest of my books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    More than expected

    This graphic novel is much more than it may seem- simply just a graphic novel. While on the surface it is an interesting tale about a boy that doesn't fit in, underneath the surface there lies a whole world of myth and legend, individuality, cultural and self acceptance. An absolute must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to read , GREAT GRAPHIC NOVEL

    The book starts out as a mythological story then envelops into a new era , bringing in the other characters of the book, showing how the main characters all have something in common. This books shows that being yourself is always something to consider, but if you dont read the book you will not understand what I am trying to say. GREAT BOOK and GREAT MEANING.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    not worth the money.

    i read this book with high school book club recently and did not like it at all. it is not organized well and the characters were not belivable. dont waste your money

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    American Born Chinese consists of three tandem narratives. A sec

    American Born Chinese consists of three tandem narratives. A second generation immigrant and the only Chinese-American student at his new school in a predominantly white area, Jin Wang just wants to be a typical American boy. The immortal Monkey King is a proud kung fu master who is trying to become more than just a monkey. And all-American Danny is embarrassed by his Chinese cousin Chin-Kee, who puts every Chinese stereotype into loud, off-putting action.

    As I read along, I wondered what, if anything, these storylines had to do with each other. Were they merely different perspectives on common themes, since all three addressed issues such as racism and intolerance? When the connections between these three narratives were revealed: wow! I was stunned. An entirely new and profound layer of understanding opened up for me.

    I loved the artwork and the message of this one. Though aimed at grades 7 and up, it's a great selection for adults as well. It's an incredibly fast read, so it would be a nice pick for a read-a-thon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Didn't want to end!

    Great story, art, characters etc! Didn't want to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    This book was utterly amazing, being a color graphic novel was e

    This book was utterly amazing, being a color graphic novel was exceptional. While I was reading it I couldn't help but laugh, when I found myself finished with it I was pretty upset.
    The characters are all very well thought out and I love all of them. So please read this book if you're looking for not only a funny read but a quick one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Can't download this!!!!!!!!!

    What the jell!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Anyomus

    G.L.Y .youve done it agian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    I love this book!!

    It had so much action and different stuff and more stuff. It goes from this to that, back this, back to that, then it combines all together in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Retarded

    G

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Funny must buy

    Must buy racist but hillarous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Hello

    How is everyone?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    To there is a magical monkey

    U sond just like my bff bailey she would put a smiley face just like that and also her favorite word is pie.....awwwww pie!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Yang brought me back to all the awkwardness of growing up Asian

    Yang brought me back to all the awkwardness of growing up Asian in America: being ashamed of my allegedly odd-smelling, funny-looking lunches; crushes on blond-haired, blue-eyed “All-American” boys; and trying to speak a new language while struggling with debilitating shyness. Yang also reminded me of the Chinese fables I learned through watching random CCTV (mainland China broadcaster) Journey to the West episodes dubbed in Vietnamese. I never really related to the mischievous and egocentric Monkey King, but Yang captures him wonderfully in both words and images. I love the two-paneled scene where the Monkey King changes into his giant form as the Dragon King sits on a throne laughing at him. In the second panel, the Monkey King steps on the Dragon King, “STOMP!” and the text box reads: “The Dragon King was convinced.” The entire book is filled with these visual and verbal nuggets of the painful and ridiculous: Jin Wang’s misadventures in dating, the Monkey King’s comeuppance and “test of virtue,” and cousin Chin-Kee’s mortifying antics.

    Yang is a master at creating real characters and situations within a graphic genre featuring limited text (some pages are completely text-free) and hilarious caricatures of what it means to be Chinese. Ultimately, American Born Chinese is a story about self-acceptance and true friendship. I’d recommend it to anyone who can relate to Jin Wang and Danny’s experiences, or anyone interested in a good laugh, a great story, and very entertaining art.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Its lame

    LAMEST book EVER

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Recommend

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone in the teen age group. It is a very good book, based on how every teen want's to either be somebody else or change who they are. And in the end they always find out that their true personality will always be golden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Best book ever!!!!

    This book is about finding the truth in people (in a funny way) and that no matter who or what you are you are loved and you mean something to people. P.S. I'm 11 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    It is awesome

    Really really good highly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    That book is very funny and the drawings are fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4