Customer Reviews for

American Born Chinese

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

More than expected

This graphic novel is much more than it may seem- simply just a graphic novel. While on the surface it is an interesting tale about a boy that doesn't fit in, underneath the surface there lies a whole world of myth and legend, individuality, cultural and self ac...
This graphic novel is much more than it may seem- simply just a graphic novel. While on the surface it is an interesting tale about a boy that doesn't fit in, underneath the surface there lies a whole world of myth and legend, individuality, cultural and self acceptance. An absolute must read.

posted by Anonymous on July 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

American Born Chinese: Not the Best Book

Three characters, three stories, one graphic novel. Each and everyone of them wants to fit in. The first character is Jin-Wang, who is an American-Chinese elementary and middle school student. He is a pretty realistic character, but I find her an unimpressive, strang...
Three characters, three stories, one graphic novel. Each and everyone of them wants to fit in. The first character is Jin-Wang, who is an American-Chinese elementary and middle school student. He is a pretty realistic character, but I find her an unimpressive, strange person. He does some unusual things, such as using soap as deodorant, and the general story is a bit awkward, since it focuses on the bad parts of his life. Then there's my favorite character, the Monkey King of the Flower Fruit Mountain. He wishes to be a god, but he isn't allowed to since he was a monkey, even though he had mastered the twelve arts of Kung-fu. He is a very funny character, and his story is quite interesting. I like him, except for the fact that the author shows him as a denying character, when he begs and fights to become a god. But he's still a classic cartoon character. The last character is Danny, who is an american high-schooler, but is also someone who seems to be very sad and complaining. Every year, his cousin Chin-kee visits him from China. He ruins everything for Danny, with his teachers and his friends. I personally don't like him, since he is too emotional about what Chin-kee does (although I hated Chin-kee because of how he treated other characters). Overall, this graphic novel is a bit immature, and I wasn't extremely impressed by it. It sort of gave me a bad image of graphic novels, so I'm not planning on reading another one soon (but maybe I'm stereotyping graphic novels). Oh well, it was still a fun break from the rest of my books.

posted by Agent_A on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    More than expected

    This graphic novel is much more than it may seem- simply just a graphic novel. While on the surface it is an interesting tale about a boy that doesn't fit in, underneath the surface there lies a whole world of myth and legend, individuality, cultural and self acceptance. An absolute must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to read , GREAT GRAPHIC NOVEL

    The book starts out as a mythological story then envelops into a new era , bringing in the other characters of the book, showing how the main characters all have something in common. This books shows that being yourself is always something to consider, but if you dont read the book you will not understand what I am trying to say. GREAT BOOK and GREAT MEANING.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Didn't want to end!

    Great story, art, characters etc! Didn't want to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    This book was utterly amazing, being a color graphic novel was e

    This book was utterly amazing, being a color graphic novel was exceptional. While I was reading it I couldn't help but laugh, when I found myself finished with it I was pretty upset.
    The characters are all very well thought out and I love all of them. So please read this book if you're looking for not only a funny read but a quick one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Anyomus

    G.L.Y .youve done it agian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    I love this book!!

    It had so much action and different stuff and more stuff. It goes from this to that, back this, back to that, then it combines all together in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Funny must buy

    Must buy racist but hillarous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Hello

    How is everyone?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Yang brought me back to all the awkwardness of growing up Asian

    Yang brought me back to all the awkwardness of growing up Asian in America: being ashamed of my allegedly odd-smelling, funny-looking lunches; crushes on blond-haired, blue-eyed “All-American” boys; and trying to speak a new language while struggling with debilitating shyness. Yang also reminded me of the Chinese fables I learned through watching random CCTV (mainland China broadcaster) Journey to the West episodes dubbed in Vietnamese. I never really related to the mischievous and egocentric Monkey King, but Yang captures him wonderfully in both words and images. I love the two-paneled scene where the Monkey King changes into his giant form as the Dragon King sits on a throne laughing at him. In the second panel, the Monkey King steps on the Dragon King, “STOMP!” and the text box reads: “The Dragon King was convinced.” The entire book is filled with these visual and verbal nuggets of the painful and ridiculous: Jin Wang’s misadventures in dating, the Monkey King’s comeuppance and “test of virtue,” and cousin Chin-Kee’s mortifying antics.

    Yang is a master at creating real characters and situations within a graphic genre featuring limited text (some pages are completely text-free) and hilarious caricatures of what it means to be Chinese. Ultimately, American Born Chinese is a story about self-acceptance and true friendship. I’d recommend it to anyone who can relate to Jin Wang and Danny’s experiences, or anyone interested in a good laugh, a great story, and very entertaining art.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Best book ever!!!!

    This book is about finding the truth in people (in a funny way) and that no matter who or what you are you are loved and you mean something to people. P.S. I'm 11 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    It is awesome

    Really really good highly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    That book is very funny and the drawings are fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    A graphic novel with a universal theme!

    An Asian boy named Jin Wang moves from San Francisco to a new town. At his new school the other kids all think he's weird and he will eat their dogs. But when another Asian boy named Wei Chen comes to the school the two become best friends. This is how the story starts.
    I enjoyed this book because it had a good story line. As I read, I wanted to find out how all the different characters (The Monkey King, Jin Wang, and Chin-Kee) and their conflicts would tie together, which doesn't happen until the end, and the next thing I knew I just read 200 pages in two days.
    I'm not even Asian and this was one of the best books I ever read; the meaning of the book was not just about being Asian, it was about being yourself. READ THIS BOOK!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    American Born Chinese - A Fantastic Read

    "American Born Chinese", by Gene Luen Yang is a fantastic read. This book is a graphic novel, meaning it is an easy read, and it is interesting. The plot line is amazing, featuring three stories in one book. These three stories vary from romance to action, featuring a story of a young American Chinese boy trying to fit in, a teenage American boy who is forced to keep moving schools due to his cousin's yearly embarrasing visits, and a story about a monkey that does not accept himself as he is. In all three of these stories, characters strive to be someone they're not, and in the end, they find themselves to be who they really are. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes graphic novels and quick reads. I like this book because even though it is short and quick, the density of the story is amazing. One thing I did not like about this book was that it was quite a quick read, leaving me wanting more. Another book I would recommend is "Prime Baby", by Gene Luen Yang, because it is the same author as this book and it is a delightful story for the children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finding your identity

    The American born Chinese is a great book about finding one's identity. It is three stories, with three different characters, but one single theme. The first is the son of Chinese immigrants, Jin Wang, who wants to fit in with the kids in school. How far he is willing to go to fit in is what the story is based on. The second story is the tales of the Monkey King, who did everything to become a Great Sage, an Equal of Heaven. Who realized he was just a monkey when he was informed there is a creator of all existence. It's not until he can accept who he is that he can be free from his own imprisonment. The third story is about a kid named Danny and his cousin Chin-Kee who typical Chinese stereotype. The stories merged into a single narrative. The idea in the story is being happy with who you are. This is a great book for kinds who are finding it hard to fit in and those who are trying to find their identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exceptional Read

    Excellent graphic novel. Entertaining, great cultural material, a must read for all. If you don't read graphic novels, this is a great one to pick up and start. Not just entertaining, but valuable lessons for life. Great for teens and adults. I highly recommend this book! It has become a permanent addition to my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    American Born Chinese Review

    I thought American Born Chinese was a very entertaining book with a good lesson in the end. Although, I am not a comic book reader I decided to pick up this graphic novel and I read the book within almost three hours. I found myself not able to put the book down. This book cracked me up, at times I actually laughed out loud. The characters are fun and the story is very uniquely written split up into three stories conjoining as one in the end. I would definitely recommend this book to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    Informative and Creatively Entertaining

    American Born Chinese is a thoroughly entertaining graphic novel that you can engage in from the first page to the last. There are three stories in the beginning of the story that finalize into one story in the end. Gene Lang does a fantastic job creating personalities of the character to the point where their choices are never contrary to their personality. He then intricately strings together their stories to one final conclusion featuring all of the characters from the three stories. <BR/> Gene Lang also does a great job keeping you entertained throughout the story. He mixes comedy, with drama, and ties it all together into a novel about outsiders who just wanted to fit in and were willing to lose who they really are to fit in. I recommend this graphic novel for any reader, in the knowledge that no matter what your interest is in stories, everyone can capture an important theme in this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    A book for ABCs and non-ABCs

    If you're looking for an easily accessable book on Asian American issues of racism and cultural hybridization, this is the book! Great for readers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I bought this at the book fair at my school and expected something weird and i read it for five minutes and it turned out that i read it in one day. IT GREAT! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2