Customer Reviews for

American Brutus: John Wilkes Booth and the Lincoln Conspiracies

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    Of all the books on the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln and John Wilkes Booth, this one stands out as being the best.Once I started reading, I found it difficult to put down. Several years ago, I had the priviledge of going on a Booth escape tour with the author, Michael Kauffman, and discovered his knowledge of the subject is amazing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Pleasantly Suprised

    Michael W. Kauffman presents a completely different aspect of the Lincoln assassination in this book. Although there was no new information presented, the time frame and original records are woven together in an incredibly precise way, despite the lack of organization in the initial police reports. Unlike some historical authors, Kauffman does not just present you with the facts and send you on your way. Instead, he presents a psychological and in-depth look at every turn along with the facts.In the end, as Kauffman so wonderfully puts it, 'Booth immortalized himself by making one of history's greatest dramas...in the process, he accomplished what every actor aspires to do: he made us all wonder where the play ended and reality began.' This book was highly informative and served as an eye-opener as to just how narrow-minded I can be. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes to get sucked into a good book...which I'm hoping, is every reader.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Fascinating, Action-packed, Compelling and Accurate!

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly. I am not an avid historian and generally prefer non-fiction but, this book kind of found me (my son was doing a Lincoln report) and I read it with all of my free time in a few days. I hated to stop reading it. Basically, it is chronologically correct and tells who was standing where, who was doing what and why it mattered. The glimpse into JWB was historically fascinating. My favorite tidbit is that Booth actually lay in the Lincoln 'deathbed' a few days before the shooting (hope Lincoln's shooting is not a spoiler, for you!) If you are a Lincoln expert, you're on your own to see if this book is good for you. But, as a lay-person to the assassination (I have read a few books on the Civil War but, not the shooting), I was riveted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Outstanding

    Incredibly detailed, yet so easy to read. You will be hooked immediately. He gives a ton of new information and dispells old myths; painting an incredibly clear picture of how it all happened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    5 for the book, 3 for the e-version

    The book is extremely well written and organized, and very (for want of a better word) entertaining. It is an excellent read.

    The e-format leaves something to be desired. I purchased the version for Nook, and the Notes section is unacceptable. The notes are not numbered to correspond with the numbers in the text, so you have to count through from the beginning if you don't read them all in sequence. There is no "Back" key available, or linking between the text superscript and the note, a system a lot of the better e-books have now incorporated (see Pete Townsend's autobiography for an excellent example). And the notes themselves are jumbled, like badly formatted text imported into a word processing program, which makes them more difficult to decipher than the information warrants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    Great read!

    Kauffman really did his homework on this book. Takes you a step further from you typical Booth read. I was very pleased with the details this book offers. Gets you into Booth's way of thinking as well as those around him. Enjoyed this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    BOOTH'S FINAL ROLE

    140 years have gone by and we're still fascinated with that long ago April night.Michael Kauffman has written what is probably one of the better works on the Lincoln assassination in recent year.In gripping detail he describes the chaos in Ford's theatre after Lincoln is shot.He uses sources from actors and audience members alike.Mr. Kauffman also gives a detailed account of Booth's early years and the reasons for his Southern sympathies.It's also made clear that Booth and not the Confederate Secret Service conjured the plot to kill Lincoln,only after attempts to kidnap him had failed.Up until Richmond fell Booth wanted to only kidnap Lincoln, deliver him to Pres. Davis and use him as a bargaining chip to get the Union to surrender.It's only after Lee surrenders that Booth decides that he will strike a final blow for the South.What interested me the most was how Booth was able to manipulate the other conspirators into his plot withot telling them anything.I could go on but I won't.The only thing I will say is that Booth did not escape to India or live elsewhere in the U.S.A. under an assumed name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Reads like a novel. Very well researched with lots of facts and details.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Every Penny

    Well written and researched for a period of time that controls much of occurs today. Was it a government conspiracy of the South or of the industrialists of the North? Did the Union conquest of the South guarantee Lincoln a future third term as President that led to his assassination? Kauffman's American Brutus is a must read for history buffs of this era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    American Brutus

    There can be no better title for this review. As an avid Civil War era scholar I have read more books than I can tally, this is one of the best ones ever read. From the exhautive research to the stirring narrative Mr. Kaufman has written a diffinative work. That I learned a great deal about John Wilkes Booth is not the only accolade I give this volume. It is a page turning, riveting account of the entire "plot" to rid the country of Lincoln with all its twists and turns and ultimate surprises. If one has not read this yet now is the time and it is a must for a permanet library. Kudos to Mr. Kauffman for this very great addition to civil war literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    overall a good book

    I really liked this book, it told me a lot of things i never knew about the Lincoln assassination. The only thing I didn't like about it was there was
    WAY too many names to keep up with. Most of the time i forgot who the person was they were talking about. But if you like history i really recommend this book its well written and in depth. Overall a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hunt for John Wilkes Booth

    American Brutus was published in 2004 and I bought a copy. Since then, I have re-read it several times. It is an outstanding book--the best of all the books I have read on Booth and the assassination of President Lincoln. The book was the basis for a History Channel special called "The Hunt For John Wilkes Booth." Mr. Kauffman has done thorough research and the way in which he details all the events surrounding the night of April 14, 1865 are spellbinding. I highly recommend American Brutus to anyone who is interested in President Lincoln and John Wilkes Booth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1