Customer Reviews for

American Civil War Gazette

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

67 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful App

As a student of military history this is a capture of lost history. A great asset for any history buff. Dr.D

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Should I get it?

SHOULD I GET IT.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Wonderful App

    As a student of military history this is a capture of lost history. A great asset for any history buff.
    Dr.D

    67 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Wow!

    I love this! I am a Civil War fanatic....what an interesting app this is! Yes...definitely 5 stars!
    Nookycooky

    51 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Fantastic.

    Incredible information, great layout. A must have for anyone interested in the Civil War.

    39 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    #1 Civil War Fan

    Great app for learning about the War Between the States! I love to study this war and it was a great app for me. If you are genuinely interested in the Civil War or you're studying the war at school this is a great app for you! :D

    27 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    After one week, I'm addicted...

    This app gives incredible insight into the period as written by the people who lived it. I love the off the wall stories that never made the history books. (Who knew that the governor of Utah had to hightail it out of town due to an affair with a young lady that would have resulted in him "biting the dust"?) You can read all about it here! If you like history this is a must-have...

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Great educztionzl tool

    I think i'm really going to enjoy this one. Thanks for making it FREE!

    14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Awesome

    I Loved It!

    14 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great app, tons of information

    Just wish font size could be increased a bit!

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    3 out of 5 stars

    Good app for a war buff like me. But if you think it's free, well it's not. There's like 10 issues and then you have to buy the rest. Good deals ($0.99) but in the long haul it'll end up costing you more than a good book on civil where you can get just as good info on the same things.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good

    If you like history you love this

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great

    10 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Get this app. It is great for history lovers+extras

    Read all about the surrender of the conterfredrate soilders

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Anounymous

    Great app!If you like history you'll love this! But im nine and i sometimes could not understand some of the stuff. And the font is a bit small.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Awesome!

    My husband and i absolitely love this app. One of the BEST free nook apps i have ever found!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Im going to look at when i start learn about it

    So im going to read it when i learn and have a civil war day @ school

    8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Though the idea is fascinating, the execution is appaling. The p

    Though the idea is fascinating, the execution is appaling. The pages were obviously scanned, OCRd and never proof-read. There are misspelled words, missing words, and some of the pages deteriorate to pure gibberish.
    It would be a fascinating read, if it was actually readable.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Happy to have

    We usedvto recieve the print of this when my father was alive. We have a fond connection to the civil war. As history buffs this makes a grrat tool to teach thr kids with

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Love it

    So interesting like you are really there

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Love it!!!

    Initionally this was meant to be used by my son, but I'm hooked. I have been sharing with my mother and aunt, they too are enjoying it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Excellent!

    This app is good for jr high and high school students who are interested in the civil war.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5