Customer Reviews for

American Civil War Gazette

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

67 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful App

As a student of military history this is a capture of lost history. A great asset for any history buff. Dr.D

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Should I get it?

SHOULD I GET IT.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Very cool.

    I love this app, this period in American history is amazing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    drew

    good for learning about when stuff happened and for general learning about the civil war

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    If you like civil war newspapers get it

    Im not a big fan

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Help

    As of the last update of March, 28th I am unable to open my original app and I cannot open my March 1862 Extra. I was about to order the remander of the 1861 Extras, but will wait until this item is resolved.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    History

    Seems like decent app, give little more time and reading. What is up with the extras...do not exist?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Love

    I love it a lot

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    worth getting

    need to up date,but oh well!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great, interesting app. Very informative and easy to navigate. No problems that i can tell. It has articles from different paper sources. Good buy.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    It wont stop installing!

    Please help it just wont finish installing!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Love it!

    If I could give this app 8/5 stars, I definitely would. A must-have for any history geek like me. Highly recommend it. Check it out!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    GET IT! I AM ORDERING YOU! THAT'S A COMMAND! NOW! BUY IT NOW! DON'T HESITATE!

    This app is so cool! It features real life articles from the Civil War! Get it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Problem with June 1861 EXTRA edition

    This is a great app, but it does not open up after June 25th. I have to archive it and try to open back up at an earlier date to get it to open.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Anonomous

    This is really fun and each day there is a newspaper artical every day. Really good, they are really facinating and cool. I love it and so does my mom. I really reimend this app to people who love the civil war.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Sweet

    I love civil war stuff and it helps me learn.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Best civil war app

    This is amazing. And guess what..... it is FREE!!!!! You can acuttaly see the real letters sent from military leaders at that time. For example you can read a letter that lincoln gave to a leader in the army. Itis amazing to see letters like this on the nook. If you liked this e reader book, click yes on the bottom of the comment box. Thank you barnes and noble for making this article for free. If it wasnt free it is still worth every penny. Thank you for clicking yes and thank you barnes and noble for making things like this for free!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Update coming soon!

    NOTE: If you got this app BEFORE 2013, you may not be able to get 1863 as an 'active' year. DELETE (not archive) the gazette app (not the monthly apps) and reinstall. Since the gazette app is free this won't cost anything.
    Updated version to come by February.
    I got this workaround from the developer and it works.
    I've been using this since I got my Nook. I love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    I'm a modest Civil War buff who plowed her way through the Shelb

    I'm a modest Civil War buff who plowed her way through the Shelby Foote trilogy and I really enjoy this app. It's quite fun to see the newspaper articles from North and South. If you're even moderately interested in Civil War history, you'll enjoy the American Civil War Gazette.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Pgiood

    Cgdjdic good

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    I love it so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This app realy helps me in history class. Espesially since I am failing that lesson right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Great app

    Great app for the armchair historian. I love it!

    Corey

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5