Customer Reviews for

American Doll Posse

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What the heck happened?

    I think this album was disappointing, did not stay true to the music-genre of tori amos' other albums. The political lyrics intergrated with rock is not something I find pleasing to listen to. This album is the worst yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    one of the worst cd's - she was on a gradual decline after scarl

    one of the worst cd's - she was on a gradual decline after scarlet walk ....................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank you, Tori

    She's still got it and she proves it with ADP. This is a very good, albeit very long, album. It's tightly woven and well thought out, but not overthought, which i beileve is where she lost me with The Beekeeper. This album has restored my faith in her ability to shock and awe. This is an album that i am proud to own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A delightful surprise!

    "American Doll Posse" feels like an apology from Tori to all us long-time fans after the overall letdown of "The Beekeeper". While not as "hardcore" as some of her earlier albums, such as "Little Earthquakes" and "Boys for Pele", "American Doll Posse" really does showcase the best of the now seasoned and refined Tori, a side of her songwriting and musical skill first truly displayed in her "Scarlet's Walk" album. "American Doll Posse" is an overall strong, beautifully balanced, and highly enjoyable album that should come to most Tori fans as a very welcome return to form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tori Rocks the Velvet Revolution

    I just heard the full album, and it's Tori's most eclectic, exciting release in years. It's a mix between the tight production of Choirgirl and the sprawling anger of Pele. Tori may be channeling five imaginary characters here, but, more importantly, she's channeling David Bowie, Patti Smith, John Lennon, Stevie Nicks, Neil Young... If there is a statement to be found here, it's that music (be it rock, glam, prog, punk or honkeytonk) has done more for America than its own government. Imagine Strange Little Girls with a real pulse. That's why Posse is so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is a landmark album for the music world. This album totally reminds me of the movie, Hedwig and the Angry Inch due to it's rock-operaesque styling (23 tracks!). From start to finish, Tori delivers songs dealing with political, social, and feminist issues that blend together into a sweeping soundscape that is magical. The 5 different "women" that make up this album set it apart from other musical ventures. "Santa, "Clyde", "Isabel", "Pip", & "Tori" make up the American Doll Posse. Overall, American Doll Posse is a classic. Nobody can ever pull something like this off again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING CONCEPT!

    The clips are fantastic! This is the most exciting release from Tori since The Choirgirl Hotel. I really think her concept behind it is pure brilliance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    tori's rockin'

    This is an awesome tori album. it's different "it's actual rock!!!" but i love it anyway. 'teenage hustling' is a great track, it's gonna rock live, and i love the preppy, poppy, radio friendly 'bouncing off clouds.' 'secret spell' kinda reminds me of 'tear in your hand' from little earthquakes. Another good song is 'girl disapearing' kinda like 'jackie's strangth' w/ the strings, but different vocals. tori rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HIghly Anticipated...

    The song titles alone (and artwork) gets this an early 5 stars. Big Wheel is floating around out there on the internet too... A bit honky-tonk with some very cool syncopation and a few 'choice words'. Can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1