Customer Reviews for

American Dynasty: Aristocracy, Fortune, and the Politics of Deceit in the House of Bush

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Only Idiots Ignore the Facts

    If you are seeking knowledge about this book before you buy, I suggest you either check it out of the library and read it for yourself or consult a rational friend who has read it. The reviews on this page are not going to help; already, the page is studded with rants from people who obviously haven't read the book. I am stunned at the ignorance of their comments. First of all, Kevin Phillips is not a 'liberal.' He is a conservative who campaigned for Richard Nixon and voted for Reagan twice. But this sort of thing is consistent with the practice, more and more apparent on this and other book pages, of smearing the character of the authors of books one thinks are 'bad' without having read these books or even bothered to find anything out about the author. Unlike the accusations in Mr. Phillips' book, which are copiously documented so that the reader can check on their veracity for him/herself, the blatherings of these morons are not accompanied by any specific evidence. Instead, they simply seek to defame the author. This sort of lazy bullying is an insult to the people who actually use these pages for their intended purpose. I can't tell you how many times I've consulted reader reviews only to see a a historical or biographical book labelled 'trash' without any evidence that the book contains inaccuracies. For the record, I found this book a fascinating tale, well documented, with appropriate generalizations made about forces in American politics that extend beyond the narrow subject of the Bushes. But please don't take my word for it, or the word of any reader review. Too many of these reviews are written by volunteer activists with no knowledge of the books on which they are commenting and nothing better to do with their time. No, check it out for yourself. Then decide for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Important must read

    If all Americans had read this book prior to the election it would have changed history. This is one of the most complete books I have read on the EVIL Bu$h family. Their quest for power has no bounds. This book should keep any Bu$h family member from ever 'winning' another election. I will hand my copy down to my grandchildren so they will understand the failure of our democracy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Superb account of creeping corporatism

    This is an outstandingly useful study, not just of the Bush family, but of a brutal and rapacious ruling class. Its power bases are Wall Street, the Pentagon, the CIA, the Texas-based oil business and the British alliance. Its corporatist fascism is destroying America¿s democratic and republican traditions. CIA director Bush Senior thwarted Carter¿s efforts to get the US hostages out of Iran, helping to get Reagan elected. After becoming vice-president in 1981, Bush arranged the arming of the mujehadin and Saddam. Bush illegally sold arms to Iran and used the funds to back the Contra terrorists. In August 1990, Thatcher encouraged Bush¿s attack on Iraq: ¿George, I was about to be defeated in England when the Falkland conflict happened. I stayed in office for eight years after that.¿ Leading the religious Right, Bush junior portrays America as a new Rome beset by barbarians, and Iraq as Babylon. These fundamentalists use the Bible to justify pre-emptive war (Esther 8:11); Jeremiah 50:8-20 promises that Israel will gain `from the destruction of Babylon¿. The Bushes look after their own: the richest 1% has doubled their share of US income since 1980. The ratio of executive pay to factory workers¿ pay went from 42:1 to 419:1. The USA and Britain now have the least social mobility in the developed world. Texas capitalists oppose immigration control because they want cheap labour. ¿In addition to laws inimical to unions, the proven solution for keeping costs down has been Mexican laborers ¿ either illegal immigrants or temporary guest workers ¿ Their presence in the Texas labor market also applied downward pressure on other wages.¿ The Republican Party and the Labour Party have common policies: imperialism and warmongering, fraud and corruption, government support for religion (faith schools), a class hatred of trade unions, support for freedom of capital (which equals slavery for workers) and for offshore tax havens, a rhetoric of compassion and inclusiveness but a policy of secrecy, deceit and lies. Capitalism in absolute decline generates this kind of politics: the EU and Russia are going the same way too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    What A Mess

    After reading the other reviews, I am curious if I read the same book. I found Mr. Phillips book to be convoluted at best. His ramblings were difficult to follow and if you have any common sense, you realize that his arguments are not logical. This is one of the worst books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    All you need to learn about the Faux NeoCons & Bush family

    I have been buying copies for friends and family in the hardcopy and will now purchase the paperback for others. This lists lots of the books over the years that have warned liberals and conservatives about the Bush bunch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Lots of information, mediocre analysis

    The book obviously contains a great deal of information about the Bushes, however, it suffers (as many political biographies frequently do) in several areas. The author too often subsitutes his own conclusions for fact. I was often left wondering about the true context of events and statements cited by the author (seems there are things that might have been left out because they weaken the author's argument). Any discerning reader should have a handful of salt available when reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    An Important Read

    I think this book is an important read for anyone who wants to understand the decisions made by George W. Bush and his government. But my guess is that it will go unnoticed by most readers of history. While the story has a depth of research behind it, the analysis seems a bit thin in places. As I was reading this fascinating story, I felt short-changed on the analytical part of the story. That said, with its wealth of references at the end of the book, one could easily find more information on any particular part of Phillips's book, by visiting the library. For me, having followed recent American History with a skeptical eye, Phillips's book does what others do not: an historical perspective. There's no question in my mind that the Bush government has been operating under its own rules of engagement. Bush Dynasty proves it. What Phillips's book does is put every event since the year 2000, into the historical context people need in order to understand the decisions the Bush administration makes. I hope my American cousins read it and pay heed to its importance in this election year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    The Truth From a Conservative

    When a Republicsan strategist reveals what the liberals have been saying, intelligent people must pause and think. If Phillips has no motive other than to tell the truth, so be it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Knowledge

    The TRUTH remains the TRUTH and the TRUTH should never be ignored no what the source.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Another partisan 'revelation'

    Kevin Phillips, Michael Moore, Molly Ivens, and anyone else that can get a book published by a liberal press are all determined to tear this county apart for the sake of whatever party they are currently a member of. This book was written only as an effort to influence the 2004 election, not for any true historical purpose. A waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Do the publishers read their own reviews?

    '....create a dynasticized presidency that would have horrified America's founding fathers.' Excuse me, but am I the only Political Scientist who actually read the assigned readings? Anyone recall a family named Adams? Didn't Adams the elder help write a famous document....as a Founding Father, no less?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Some Disquieting Possibilities

    Kevin Phillips is a Republican political analyst whose previous writings have proven remarkably prescient. His 1969 book,The Emerging Republican Majority, accurately predicted the major electoral shift favoring conservative thought and Republic dominance.His more recent concerns, as reflected in The Politics of Rich and Poor and Wealth and Democracy, have centered on the nation's growing economic inequities. In the latter book, Phillips criticized recent Republican economic policies, which he finds irresponsible and a betrayal of the interests of the majority of working Americans. Republican 'free market theology,' as Phillips describes it, has achieved the status of gospel, universal in application and beyond criticism. American Dynasty reveals his concerns about the dynasticization of national politics, with all the negative consequences the term implies. The Bush family, Phillips contends, has long benefited from connections to energy and defense industries and the intelligence community. Though he frames many of his conclusions as conjecture, he offers a disturbing portrait of a political dynasty that that has been willing to resort to the most cynical means of political manipulation to advance their own interests and those of an elite of wealth and influence, often to the detriment of average Americans. Perhaps the most alarming contention here is that George W. Bush has,for all practical purposes, inherited the leadership of the Christian Right and is, in fact, animated by a disturbing conviction that his rise to the presidency was the result of Divine Providence. Indeed, Phillips' greatest contribution to the debate here may be in his chapter detailing the surprising strength ( and therefore political influence) of American Christian fundamentalism. In G.W. Bush, he argues, the fundamentalists have found the political leader who shares their perspectives and, literally, speaks their language. More ominously, Christian fundamentalist beliefs intersect dangerously with American Middle East policy. One could certainly challenge some of Phillips' contentions, such as his argument that the outlook of the current president is the product of several historical traditions and perspectives peculiar to Texas, but altogether he presents a multitude of issues that deserve further consideration. Phillips offers the hope that the trend towards dynasticization (which he finds elsewhere beyond the Bush family) may be an aberration; if not, the future of American democracy is far less certain. Once again, Phillips has proven himself a master of political analysis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Rehashed Sensationalism

    Phillips' new book simply puts a finer point on his last, 'Wealth and Politics'. The linking of wealth and political power is nothing new, and CERTAINLY not unique to the Bush 'Dynasty'. Nice Try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Make Up Your Own Mind

    I first saw Kevin Phillips on C-Span discussing this book. Phillips is a lawyer and former aide to the Nixon White House, and is hardly a liberal flame-thrower. I was impressed by his level-headedness in reviewing, with a tinge of disappointment and anger, the history of the Bush family and its many years of backroom dealings with the royal family of Saudia Arabia, the oil industry, and, incredibly, the Bin Laden family. (Don't forget, in the days immediately following 9-11, the ONLY commercial flights that were allowed to take off in the US were the planes carrying members of the Bin Laden family out of the country.) This is not a shrill, one-note, Bush-bashing book, and Phillips does not appear to have an agenda or axe to grind. Accordingly, he comes across as exceedingly fair and objective. His history goes back several generations, is detailed and fully supported, and reveals the Bush family's long-standing ability to insinuate itself with, and to do the bidding of, the monied class. As others, including Phillips himself, have mentioned, these are not new revelations - it is all public and available information. What seems to particularly gall Phillips is the mainstream media's laziness and lack of interest in pursuing any aspect of this tale. Neither Al Franken nor Ann Coulter, Phillips is to be commended for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    not the same old conspiracy theory

    Phillips connects the historical relationships of the Bushes to the policies we see in the headlines today. It is not the ranting of a Michael Moore or an Al Franken, but rather a methodical look at the Bushes and the influences of big money on the White House and foreign policy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Money

    This author is making money by praying on the fears of well meaning, but naive, American people. That means you! The Bush family is not an old-world monarchy re-incarnate looking to enslave the masses as the author would have you believe. If they are so powerful, how is it that the father lost his re-election bid to Clinton? How did the current President's oil company fail despite the good ol' boys network? This book is full of biased propaganda, not written by an 'independant' as claimed. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    A Republican writer gets it right

    Finally, a well-researched, thoughtful, balanced look, written by a Republican, at the how the Bush family turned from moderate aristocrats to extremists controlled by religious zealots and corporate chieftans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    An independent who voted for Bush

    If you are determined to live in 'Leave it to Beaver' land, then I suggest you NOT read this book. LET FREEDOM RING is a better choice, it will help you to feel all warm and fuzzy inside and then you can top off your day with some FOXNEWSCHANNEL 'fair and balanced' news. As for me, I like my information straight up with no chaser. The chapters on Enron and Halliburton alone make it worth reading. Put down your copy of the latest 'Left Behind' novel and start dealing with reality. To quote a famous scientist: 'The problems that we face will not be solved by those who created them'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    A Must Read

    All Americans owe it to their country and continued education to read about the 'family' in office. Rather than crying conspiracy, one should consider the source and read with an open mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    The Kevin Phillips Masterpiece

    Somebody had to bring them all together--the great-grandfather Samuel, associate of Rockefellers; the grandfather Prescott, investment banker and Senator; the father George H. W., a true believer in high-end tax cuts; and the present incumbent. And George Herbert Walker and the other crony capitalists and spies. Kevin Phillips, building on much knowledge and research, has done this, producing the most engaging, insightful, and solid book of his career. He has moved far from the usual portrait of George W. as Texas cowboy and born-again alcoholic, to place him in a well-established family tradition of oil, avarice, Realpolitik, religiosity, and manipulation. The work is lavishly detailed and often entertaining. It tells us, all too clearly, that we are living in a different America from the one we once thought we were in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2