Customer Reviews for

American Gods

Average Rating 4.5
( 859 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(512)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

As I pray to the God of the Internet...

This is one of those books that I simply COULD NOT put down. It's a great fantasy story as well as a wake up call to pay attention to everything around us. Gaiman fans will LOVE it. Also, read the sequel, Anansi Boys.

posted by Danibelle on April 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time!

I don't know if I have ever reviewed a book on here before or not, but I was so disappointed with this one I had to give my 2 cents. This book took me FOREVER to read! If it wasn't for the fact that I owned it, I would have thrown in the towel long before I finally go...
I don't know if I have ever reviewed a book on here before or not, but I was so disappointed with this one I had to give my 2 cents. This book took me FOREVER to read! If it wasn't for the fact that I owned it, I would have thrown in the towel long before I finally got through it. Everyone hates it when they read a book that is extremely easy to put down and this is one of those. There were so many parts that I thought to myself that they would surely get tied together with the main story by the end....but no! This book was completely pointless, and although I like to own most/all of the books I read, I think this one may make its way to a garage sale or used book store becauseI wouldn't suggest it to anyone or ever read it again. The length wasn't completely overwhelming, but it was a long enough book that it made it all the more irritating at it's lack of point.....and for as long as it took me to read it it might as well have been 1,000 pages. And when the book finally reaches some sort of climax, it brushes over the events of some big battle instead of actually going over what happened....all build up and zero payoff!

posted by Anonymous on August 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    As I pray to the God of the Internet...

    This is one of those books that I simply COULD NOT put down. It's a great fantasy story as well as a wake up call to pay attention to everything around us. Gaiman fans will LOVE it. Also, read the sequel, Anansi Boys.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Difficult to read, but artstically crafted

    Having read previous reviews of this book, I have to both agree and disagree with most of them. The novel is difficult to read on two levels. First, it is extremely graphic at times. It has several explicit sex scenes and lots of horrific violence. Second, it relies on a fragmented, piecemeal narrative that requires close concentration in order for the reader to "get" all of the interconnections. However, the novel is also very well crafted and makes several meaningful arguments about humanity and morality. Moreover, Shadow, the main character, is very compelling and likable. Due to the conflicting nature of my reactions to this novel, I found myself on the verge of putting it down several times, but in the end I was glad that I saw it through. The novel's depth and complexity overcame it's tendency to dwell on the brutal and grotesque elements of human nature.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Worth reading

    This is a good adventure story that forces you to look at Gods in a new way. It has good Character development, many good twists and I was amazed when all elements of the plot were brought together in the end. If you like stories that include adventure, changing relationships, love, and war you will enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    VERY INNOVATIVE

    I had heard about Gaiman, but never read one of his works. AMERICAN GODS is a good blend of real life and fantasy, done in a unique and interesting manner. The story moves along swiftly, and the descriptions of the numerous and varied gods is fascinating and informative (clearly, a significant amount of research went into the writing). I would recommend this to anyone interested in fantasy works, but I'm not positive it would have a broader appeal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read!

    From the moment I picked up this book, I was struck by the author's writing style, and although I had never previously read anything by Neil Gaiman, there was a familiarity that sucked me in. I soon realized that the familiarity was a combination of good literature and a modern point of view that encapsulated my own interest in religions and popular culture. The characters and tales woven into the pages, tales of gods of the old world and gods of modern times, were so well developed and so carefully intertwined, I couldn't wait to return to the book each time I set it down. American Gods is a wild ride across the American landscape, touching down in familiar places and taking you to the realm of the gods. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Unpredictable

    This book took a while to get into. It was not a sit on the edge of your seat and cant put it down kind of book. But even so, the premise of the story and the plot are great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great read

    Sometimes drawn out and perhaps a bit cliche in the new gods though the gods themselves are unique and the pantheon within is really incredible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Wonderful

    This book is huge and not the easiest read at times but it is worth the effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    One of those books you really need to pay attention to to understand.

    Do not read this book if you can't pay attention to it. I enjoyed this book. Every once in a while I like to read a book that will actually make my brain work. It has meaning and depth. Shadows path through the world of the American Gods is a tricky one, a coin trick that is simple once you slow it down and look past the illusion, clear the smoke and turn the mirrors! THAT is how I inturpet this book. There were times I got a little confused but in the end I think it's briliant. 4 stars instead of 5 because some parts seemed to be there simply to confuse the confused. Don't get me wrong though I love Neil Gaiman one of my favorite books is Neverwhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Ob

    trryggl...ujnlij xvvnklljuytffhhbrg.
    Ipimnjczrj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    American Gods presents the soul of modern day America against th

    American Gods presents the soul of modern day America against the back drop of America’s founding immigrants and the icons they built to their beliefs. Very entertaining. I highly recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    This was a great game of guess the god. They didn┬┐t all age espe

    This was a great game of guess the god. They didn’t all age especially well either. Odin, Queen of Sheba, Czernobog, Anansi, Horus, Anubis, Thoth, and even Kali are some of the old gods in this clever and funny novel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An engaging read that gives the reader heavier things to ponder.

    An engaging read that gives the reader heavier things to ponder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    A page turner

    You can't help but turn the page. You just have to know what comes next. I can re-read this book over and over! Just loved the book that much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just recently discovered Gaiman, and really loved Neverwhere.

    I just recently discovered Gaiman, and really loved Neverwhere. I was a little apprehensive about American Gods after reading a few reviews here, but I forged ahead anyway, and I'm really glad I did. I found the book very interesting with solid characters. The story seems to have a long arc -- it doesn't bash you over the head with the point right away, rather I found it had gathered in my subconscious as I read and trickled to the conscious as I continued and the story developed.

    I was disappointed with the beginning of Chapter 18, and for the life of me I cannot figure out why it starts the way it does. While I was reading it I was angry and afraid that those four paragraphs would ruin the story for me, but I was able to get back into it, and the story finished very strong.

    The e-book version I bought has entries from Gaiman's online blog at the end of the novel, which I found very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Very strange and enjoyable ride!

    This is a drama/fantasy tale about feuding Gods in America and how a bunch of mere mortals are caught up in the war. Gaiman's novels are always a little out there but definitely not boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Gods are people

    Gods are people too, and Neil Gaiman makes them interesting as well. The story has everything a comedic thriller has plus mythology tossed in for flavor. No plot synopsis will do justice just find the time to sink into a slightly tilted world and be carried away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amaizing imagination and deeply thought out.

    None

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Fun reaf

    Found it a little hard to follow at times, but an interesting tale nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11