BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

American Gods (The Tenth Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(208)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended, and definitely one of my favorite novels of all time!

This book turned me over completely to Neil Gaiman and made me drooly and ga-ga for his writing like a Twilight fangirl on too much fairy dust. I've read a few of Gaiman's works before ( The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes, Neverwhere, Anansi Boys, and Stardust),...
This book turned me over completely to Neil Gaiman and made me drooly and ga-ga for his writing like a Twilight fangirl on too much fairy dust. I've read a few of Gaiman's works before ( The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes, Neverwhere, Anansi Boys, and Stardust), but none have blown me so completely out of the boiling seas like American Gods.

American Gods is one of the quirkiest books on American culture and belief that I've read. Told from the perspective of a particularly insightful non-American, American Gods takes a long, hard look at how cultures and religions mesh, change, and fade in the states. How do Americans define and create faith? What gods does a godless nation--or maybe an excessively god-full nation--have with not even 300 years of national existence under its belt? With ghosts, murders, gods (both forgotten and barely worshipped), Naiman weaves a tale that suspends previous conceptions of the American psyche, turns it up on its head, and makes you question, Who really is that homeless crazy in the subway station calling himself Mr. Wednesday?

Like the questions it poses, the story is not straightforward. Rather, it's a meandering road trip that takes numerous pit stops at creepy carnivals and random road-side attractions. Only, you have old worn-out gods and cranky demons for company.

posted by EileenGalen on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Language

Unfortunate use of foul language beginning on the very first page, once you finally get past the rather long winded introductions. Yes. Plural.

posted by 9285662 on November 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended, and definitely one of my favorite novels of all time!

    This book turned me over completely to Neil Gaiman and made me drooly and ga-ga for his writing like a Twilight fangirl on too much fairy dust. I've read a few of Gaiman's works before ( The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes, Neverwhere, Anansi Boys, and Stardust), but none have blown me so completely out of the boiling seas like American Gods.

    American Gods is one of the quirkiest books on American culture and belief that I've read. Told from the perspective of a particularly insightful non-American, American Gods takes a long, hard look at how cultures and religions mesh, change, and fade in the states. How do Americans define and create faith? What gods does a godless nation--or maybe an excessively god-full nation--have with not even 300 years of national existence under its belt? With ghosts, murders, gods (both forgotten and barely worshipped), Naiman weaves a tale that suspends previous conceptions of the American psyche, turns it up on its head, and makes you question, Who really is that homeless crazy in the subway station calling himself Mr. Wednesday?

    Like the questions it poses, the story is not straightforward. Rather, it's a meandering road trip that takes numerous pit stops at creepy carnivals and random road-side attractions. Only, you have old worn-out gods and cranky demons for company.

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Wonderful book with thought provoking ideas!

    I was unsure if this was my kind of book, but was intrigued by the title and therefore decided to give it a shot. After finishing the book, it wasn't at all what I expected before starting the book--it was better. I'll admit that when I first read reviews of American Gods, I didn't exactly understand what the book was about, or what I'd be getting myself into. I now understand that the reason that the synopsis were so vague, was because there is no way to describe the plot without it sounding slightly absurd. The only way to know and understand what it is about is to read it.

    The tone of this book reflected the mood and feelings of the protagonist. Therefore, the language was a little crude at times. This is only natural and quite realistic in this modern day. This might bother some people, but if they get even a few chapters through the book, they will immediately see how amazing this book is.

    *To get a better idea of whether or not you will like this book, the story and type of journey somewhat reminded me of Windupbird Chronicle by Murakamai. If you liked that book, you will definitely enjoy this book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    An instant classic

    This is one of my favorite books, and it was great to see it available as an e-book. If you like a sophisticated fantasy set in the modern world, American Gods is for you.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    All I hoped for...and more.

    Really great read. Engaging story and characters. I had no idea where this story was going to end up. Loved it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    You won't want to put it down!

    A great read and hugely engrossing although impossible to describe. Read this. You'll be glad you did.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Wonderfull

    Throughout my 45years of life, whenever I was asked what my favorite book was, I would ponder and think. Without fail, I would never be able to come up with a favorite, although I had read many, many wonderful books. I can now say without a doubt that I have finally found my favorite book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Good

    This book is really good. Fun to read!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    Awsome sauce

    Awsome. Just awsome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Another fantasic book

    It was hard to put this book down. Then again its hard to put any of his books down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    An amazing book

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. Neil gaimen is my faviorite author and he will be for a very long time. Everyone should read his books,expessially this one. I assure you, you won't be disapointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    COOOOOL!

    Wow. Just wow. The book of the century!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    A Bizarrely Magical Narrative of the American Experience

    Somewhere in the afterword, Mr. Gaiman apologizes for his audacity in taking on and writing about what makes "America" tick. No apologies necessary, Mr. Gaiman. Well, done. Especially the Carousel Room at the House on the Rock. I think I may have had similar thoughts when I was in that Quonset Hut so many, many years ago. Many thanks for putting that bizarrely magical place (and other places) down in print.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    buy it

    Buy it and read it. Hands-down one of the greatest books of the past few decades.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    TYGA (not foreal)

    BREAK DIS MUTHAFU**A UP!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Modern fairytale for adults.

    As a current writer, few weave tales like Neil Gamain. American Gods is a redeeming road trip tale full of unforgettable characters. You are pulled from page to page as the story touches on religions old and new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    A real page turner

    Loved it to the last page

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Great!

    Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Jz

    Asdfff

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After spending three years in prison, all Shadow wanted was to g

    After spending three years in prison, all Shadow wanted was to get back into the arms of his loving wife. However, sometimes fate can be cruel. Just days before he is scheduled to be released, Shadow learns that his wife has been killed in a car accident. Suddenly his world begins to crumble and become a much colder place.

    On his way home for the funeral, Shadow meets Wednesday. When the stranger offers him a job, having nothing to lose, Shadow accepts. Little does he know that his life will never be the same.

    It doesn't take long before Shadow realizes just how dangerous his new job is. While working for Wednesday, Shadow embarks on a road trip unlike any other. He encounters many unique and interesting people, all of which have their own stories to tell and know more about him then he does about himself.

    As an epic storms brews, Shadow has many lessons to learn. The past doesn't always die and everyone, including his late wife has secrets. The stakes are high as he finds himself pulled into a battle, a conflict, as old as humanity itself. Hidden away from the everyday world, a great war is fought over the very soil on which they stand. The soil of America is the prize.

    American Gods will take the reader on an exhilarating journey across America and through myths, some long forgotten, that may challenge their perspectives long after they turn the final page.
    The author, Neil Gaiman, does a remarkable job making his story and characters come to life. I often found myself on the edge of my seat, being drawn into the story. The plot was well thought out and kept me guessing as each new twist was introduced.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and say that for fans of myth and legend, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    The premise of this book alone is genius. I was shocked to see

    The premise of this book alone is genius. I was shocked to see this book rated at less than five stars. It' is a thoughtful and thought provoking book that is blatantly clever and imaginative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11