Customer Reviews for

American Grown: The Story of the White House Kitchen Garden and Gardens Across America (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Odered this for the Nook Color. Very nicely done and informativ

Odered this for the Nook Color. Very nicely done and informative. Love that the proceeds are going to charity. Keep up the good work.

posted by SandraHP on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

I just ordered my copy and I so far rate it "very good"

I just ordered my copy and I so far rate it "very good" because it is already an inspiration to so many people that need a garden but do not know yet how much they really do! I was born and raised on a small family farm and we grew and harvested our own food f...
I just ordered my copy and I so far rate it "very good" because it is already an inspiration to so many people that need a garden but do not know yet how much they really do! I was born and raised on a small family farm and we grew and harvested our own food for a family of 8. We provided the extra harvest to familys who did not garden and this was a simple and natural occurence that took no additional effort to produce. No matter what your politics are, surely you can allow your mind to imagine how a basic gardening incouragement can begin a food revolution that this country has to embrace! Thank you First Lady Michelle Obama for your insight and leadership. For the negative comments written here that have nothing to do with the book or it's intent, please remember that hate will inspire hate.

posted by Inspired2Read on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Odered this for the Nook Color. Very nicely done and informativ

    Odered this for the Nook Color. Very nicely done and informative. Love that the proceeds are going to charity. Keep up the good work.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Excellent! The First Lady has done a lot to promote healthy liv

    Excellent! The First Lady has done a lot to promote healthy living for all age groups. I respect her and admire her. She also promotes healthy lifestyles for our children. What better way to celebrate the bounty of our land than to grow vegetables and prepare them? I applaud Mrs. Obama's class and style.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Just bought this to share with my daughters. We have our first g

    Just bought this to share with my daughters. We have our first garden patch growing in an attemptto eat healthier and avoid a lot of the contents in processed foods. Extremely easy to read and enjoy for the inspiration for recipes! Love the photography, the layout of the chapters and knowing our money spent is going to charity as well as having an heirloom book to share with my girls for years to come.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    This book is not readable on the Nook Color. Barnes and Noble sh

    This book is not readable on the Nook Color. Barnes and Noble should not list this as a nook book when it can not be read o n the nook color.

    14 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Very interesting and enjoyable!

    Very interesting and enjoyable!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Buy it in hardcover!

    Yes, I have bought the book and am reading it. No, it is not particularly political, though it contains a message that everybody interested in nutrition and fresh foods should heed. As a long-time gardener, I am glad to add "American Grown" to my collection. But I also highly recommend it to potential gardeners. Buy it in hardcover to keep and enjoy for the photography.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Beautiful book for the Nook Color! It's a large book, so you hav

    Beautiful book for the Nook Color! It's a large book, so you have to make room for it, but the pictures are phenomenal. Mrs. Obama didn't know much about gardening initially, but she learns as she goes, as do all of us. I'm partway through... can't wait to finish it!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Awesome book for home gardeners

    This book was so inspirational, it made me want to start a compost pile and grow more than just some tomatoes in the summer!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Font too difficult to see

    A beautiful book but i was unable to read the words.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Awesome woman awesome mission..this is a book review spot...not

    Awesome woman awesome mission..this is a book review spot...not one to spew political hate..at the end of the day politics has nothing to do with her gardening except it gives her a platform. Seems she cares about some kids health more than their parents do. Learn respect.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Good info but bad Nook format.

    I really wanted to give this book five stars but I can't. Mrs Obama lives the life she wants others to be able to enjoy. This book, with it's stories of almost every past Presidential family and they concern for healthy food and family gardens, provides a wealth of information.

    However, this should have been listed as a Nook magazine, not a Nook book. Like all Nook magazines, the pictures are brilliant, but you can not choose your formatting styles, highlight or make notes. That is why I had to bump it down to 4. As a magazine, it is a 5. As a Nook book, very frustrating.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I love this book! I have been slowly expanding my garden from a

    I love this book! I have been slowly expanding my garden from a 6 x 6 ft plot to over 650 sq feet the past 6 years. I have made mistakes, and had wonderful harvests. As I read this book, I was saying "Ha! I did that too" or "Ohh! I need to try that." I am already thinking about the changes for next year. This book is also inspiring a couple people in my neighborhood, and we are talking about starting a small community garden in our sub-division. The book is written in an easy, yet thoughtful manner. If you are a new gardener, or someone who has been at it for years, you can learn from this book. It was also nice to learn about the history of the gardens at the White House, and I was thrilled to learn about the honey bees. My 8 year old daughter, who loves to work in our garden and in her school's garden, loves all the photos of Bo, and loves the little side stories about him. This is more than an instruction book, it is a beautiful story about America and her gardens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You might remember a few months ago when I was lucky enough to m

    You might remember a few months ago when I was lucky enough to meet Michelle Obama, shake her hand, and get an autographed copy of her book, American Grown.

    It was amazing, and thanks to my Aunt M, who came with me, I had an extra copy of the book to giveaway, which I did.

    Anyway, I wanted to actually read the book, and since it's a nonfiction book that is more coffee table than novel, it took some time.  But it was so worth it.

    Michelle Obama shows how deeply she cares about gardens, fresh food, health, and childhood obesity.  Her introduction to the book was so moving I suggest that you stalk the shelves at bookstores just to read it (because I think it will encourage you to purchase a copy for yourself).

    Some of the quotes/things that I loved about the book:

    "Just as each seed we plant has the potential to become something extraordinary, so does every child" -p. 23

    Did you know there's a White House beehive???  And they give away excess honey to visiting (or when they visit) dignitaries.  I wish I was someone important enough to have some of their honey!

    Did you know that apples come from Asia?  I didn't, but that's one of the facts I learned while reading.

    There are also many recipes, which are some of Mrs. Obama's favorites, tips for building your own gardens, and spotlights on many of the neighborhood garden spaces in the United States.

    I also like how honest Michelle Obama is in the book.  She talks about the successes, of course, but also some of the gardening failures, too.  It seems very genuine.

    American Grown is for gardeners and non-gardeners alike.  This book was amazing, with not just beautiful pictures but also tons of amazing facts.  The First Lady really shows her passion in this book, and it is one that will make you smile and feel good no matter what your political views are.

    Plus, all of the proceeds go to the National Park Foundation, which I think is pretty cool.

    Are you the gardening type?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Regardless of your political views, Mrs. Obama did a great job w

    Regardless of your political views, Mrs. Obama did a great job writing this book! Beautiful pictures, great stories on the White House garden and other victory/community gardens. She is donating proceeds to the Park Service. I highly recommend to anyone who loves gardening and knowing where your food comes from. She sends a very important message of how important it is to get our children involved in nature and healthy food! I love White House history and I cannot wait to visit DC and take a tour!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Excellent book

    This book is full of wonderful information and gorgeous photos. Mrs. Obama is the perfect role model for a healthy lifestyle. I'm buying hard cover versions too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Read the intro online and I can't wait to get my copy in the mai

    Read the intro online and I can't wait to get my copy in the mail. I can already tell this is going to be a good book. Mrs. Obama is an exceptional person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Good!

    A must have for any reader. Very insightful and entertaining. Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is good love it

    this book is good love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Love it!

    Beautiful photos, easy to follow gardening tips and delicious recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    You go Mrs. First Lady!

    Mom and I are truly inspired by you.
    I knew you had special gifts from the Lord!

    Beautiful Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2