Customer Reviews for

American Heroes: In the Fight Against Radical Islam

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    American Heroes by Oliver North

    I chose to read this book becasue i watched Oliver North's military shows when i was younger. I decided that if the book was as good as the tv show then it would be worth my time and it certantly was. I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind who is willing to learn about the war. The book tries to be politically correct but has a conservative attitude toward most things. American Heroes has great information about the war and provides a touching first hand accounts of these events. Anyone willing to learn will enjoy this book as long as it is read with a open mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMERICAN PATRIOTS

    "AMERICAN HEROES" IS OLIVER NORTHS WONDERFUL TRIBUTE TO ALL OF THE BRAVE MEN AND WOMEN WHO SERVED ON THE FRONT LINES IN BATTLE DURING IRAQI FREEDOM AND THE WAR IN AFGANISTAN. WHATS SPECIAL ABOUT THIS BOOK IS THE WRITER WAS REALLY OVER THERE WITH THE TROOPS INTERVIEWING THEM AND LIVING WITH THEM AND GOING INTO BATTLE WITH THEM UNLIKE MANY WAR CORESPONDENTS WHO ARE NOT EVEN THERE AND WRITE THEIR BOOKS FROM THE STATES COL OLIVER NORTH WRITES HIS BOOK FROM THE MIDDLE EAST AND HE IS A DECORATED COMBAT VETREN SO HE KNOWS WHAT BATTLE IS LIKE. THIS IS A VERY REMARKABLE BOOK WHICH SHOWS THE SOLDIER AND SAILER AND MARINE A REAL REACAMENDATION . THIS IS REAL HISTORICAL VIEW OF WHAT LIFE IS LIKE AND GIVES A GREAT APPRIEATION FOR OUR MILITARY.GREAT GIFT IDEA,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    A "boots-on-the-ground" narrative of military operations in Iraq & Afghanistan.

    Ollie gives us a soldier's perspective on daily military operations in Iraq and Afghanistan. He and his camera man/producer take us on patrols and missions with many touching and compelling images and narratives. There are profiles of heroes who put it all on the line to serve their country and their fellow soldiers. The many citations supporting medals awarded to the heroes, many posthumously, are gripping and the profiles of wounded warriors are inspiring. This is the news that is not reported in the popular media; stories of personal dedication and sacrifice and outreach to the people of these countries. these stories emphasize the innate goodness, humanity and compassion of the many american military members serving in these foreign lands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    American Heroes

    I have not read this book yet, but when I read the synopsis and looked through it, I can't wait to get at this book. Oliver North has written several good books and this is by far one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    A Truly Inspiring Book!

    Oliver North has done fantastic job on articulating why America's military is the finest in the world. His very real examples of courage and faith provide us with reasons to be proud of and thankful for all of the men and women serving this great nation as well as the families they had to leave behind. The book also provides a very accurate and easy to understand history of the conflict in the middle east. It is very uplifting and interesting book for anyone who loves this country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Facts Trump Spin

    After reading this extremely well done book, I'm even more motivated to thank every military member I encounter. I for one am grateful to live in a nation defended by truly noble and selfless countrymen. Thanks to Oliver North for having the diligence and courage to tell the truth about the Global War on Terror. This is one of the most compelling books I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Big Oliver North Fan

    I've always liked war stories on Fox News. This book is an extension of that. It is well written and done to the quality as only North can do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    great personal story's

    A very good account of the men and women in the war . A great read about our best and what makes us that . Great Americans all .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Very Military Technical

    If you like war history, you will like this book. I didn't really enjoy it until the very last 20 pages. Too much military verbage for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    honorable tribute to our brave men and women

    'american hereos' grew out of col. oliver norths many trips visting with the brave men and women on the frontlines in iraq and afganistan.I feel this is a very important book because not only will it show what our soldiers are really doing in the fight agaist freedom but it will tell the full story by someone who was really there with military experience. these days the press and certain politicans dont stand for our freedom cause they werent their. this is a great fast reading book that needs to be told. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1