Customer Reviews for

American Idiot

Average Rating 4.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Keep hatin' on Bush!

    I can't stand Bush I like Green Day. They're old tyme rock 'n' roll to the max. The whole album is genius the best song is "Wake Me Up When September Ends". Why only four stars? Well, Green Day aren't the most innovative band and this album shows no real deviation from their 1990s work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recommended, however

    This is a really great album despite the fact that Green Day as gone the way of many great artists of late and bashed Dubya to make money. Oh well. Also, it is as if Green Day is becoming more Alternative and some of the music has been slowing down ever since "Warning". What happen to the fast "I don't care anymore" Green Day punk of the 90's? I was a fan of Green Day before being a fan of Green Day was cool so I know what we are missing. So I recommend picking up Shenanigans, a collection of Green Day oldies, while picking up this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    While this s a very good cd, Greenday's old stuff was so much better and I thought this cd would turn out to be the best. The lyrics are boring compared to old ones...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    green days fourth best best album

    i am disapionted with this effort i am a long time green day fan but this effort was not woth the five year wait "maria" was better Than the entire album excluding american idiot the song. insomniac still fav album. not green days best or worst most songs are forgettable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh Yeah

    OK, I was a little hesitant on this one based on some reviews. But, I think this one is a winner. I really like a band who is willing to make a statement. The upbeat sound of American Idiot and Whatsername have such an 80's beat - kind of like the Kinks. And call me crazy but I found Extraordinary Girl to sound a bit Beatles-ish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    nice!

    I didn't know the band. Well, I've heard them, but I'm trying to know them now. It seems like their music is cool and it is such a fun to listen to them. I enjoy their music, and >Israel likes you guys. You rule!<

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Okay

    This is an okay album. It isn't as good as Dookie. It isn't even close to as good as Insomniac. I like this album, but compared to the the old punk songs Greenday did it isn't good. And response to the complaining lady, real rock n'roll swears. If you can't let your kid listen to rock music then he should rot in hel*. I am 14. If your kid watches TV then he knows about swears. You can't give a perfectly okay rock ablum 1 star because it swears and your little baby can't listen to a few swears. I am a lead guitarist in a band, and eahc song I write swears twice this who album does. Come on it hardly swears. Rock=rebeling rebeling=swearing. It must suck to have a mom that won't let him listen to real music. As you said that the person's intelegent level shows how smart he is well, Billy Joelarmstrong(lead guitarist) has well crafted anti-Bush, anti-America lyrics which all punks should agree with. So what if he swears. You call this rock garbage. You should be ashamed. This music soothes all punks souls, if they have one. Mario Frangoulis is a hippy Greek soul sing. If you are such a fan why isn't your review on this idiot. I should make a CD called Greek Idiot about him. I only know this because i just looked him up. Next time you shouldn't write a negitive review about a album you probly haven'y listened to or hate it because it swears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you don't like it YOUR an "American Idiot"

    This CD tells us how green day feels about America and i think that this is good because everyone is thinking about that even if they are denying it. I like this whole CD especially " Wake Me Up When Sept. Ends"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oshla

    Green Day Is Awsome Its Always Been Awsome, Pretty Much All The Songs Rock, But I Don't Really Care For A LOT OF SLOW Songs, But This Cd Mixes Fast And Slow Punk, I Recommed Buying This Album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Certainly Different

    Very nicely done, since many of the bands are trying to go "political" these days. I just hope the hard-core fans won't mind the change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Green Day rox britts sox

    I think green day is awesome they have a lot of good songs done and they r just really cool im buying their CD for my bff for Xmas!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1