BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

American Life

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    These bad reviewers are crazy!

    I think this is Madonna's top album. It might not be her usual style... but that is the whole point. She has amazing, pointed lyrics that I have grown to cherish. Well worth your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Props to Her Experimentation

    "American Life," although generally not like Madonna albums of the past, is still a must for all Madonna fans because it shows what Madonna is greatly known for: her ever-changing style and persona (both musically and artistically). Whereas "Ray of Light" gave off vibes of ambient electronica and "Music" gave off a kaleidoscope of electro-pop flavors, "American Life" is more simplistic when referring to both the lyrics and the content. The messages may be deep, but the lyrics might as well be as simple as the lesser introspective "Music." Also, the album tends to mold a more generally acoustic sound for Madonna. I would call it an "electro-folk/rock" hybrid. It's still a pop album, just a daring one at that. It's definitely not going to be for all people, but I suggest the more open-minded ones to take a listen at the album and realize that Madonna is still alive and kicking as an artist. It makes you anxious to what her next album would be like. "American Life" is a lush, simple, and at times sentimental piece of work mixed with somewhat very unstructured electro-pop beats, which does seem to work here. Madonna hasn't lost it and never will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of her best

    American Life shows Madonna's creativity, and her williness to move forward with her music. This is truly a great album. It is hard to say which song stands out. Each song is unique in its own right, yet work together to make a truly inventive album. This is not the same Madonna as days gone by, but then again she has matured as a woman and grown as an artist. The songs on American Life highlight and show her growth. I applaud Madonna and can not wait to see which direction she goes with her next album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Maverick and Trailblazing

    Most will feel compelled to listen to Madonna's newest album in it's entirety during their first listen, if they have the time. It is worth every second, believe me. The individual tracks are like an artist's palette mixing musical hues and textures. Madonna's art continues to transcend even our great expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Retrospective Madonna !!

    Wow, Regardless of people that are always trying to say negative things or just be mean spirited not only with Madonna, but true artists everywhere, American Life is flawless !!! Not only does she write, and co produce all her music, she does it with class, elegance and style. Yes, some songs are very deep, but I believe our state of minds these days are deep as well. This is one of those cds you listen to once, and you have a lot of questions, and than you listen to it the second time, you find yourself either humming the tunes, or singing along with it. Thank you Madonna for connecting with our hearts and our souls on this soon to be classic !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New and Magnificent

    Madonna does it once again on American Life. Playing the guitar? Never heard that from the Queen before, she's good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Got Madonna Under My Skin

    As a Madonna fan since I was in-utero, I can honestly say this is the most REAL album she has EVER released. Several tracks stand out as some of her finest yet ("Love Profusion," "Nobody Knows Me") ... indeed, "Nothing Fails" may just be THE quintessential Madonna song. Although "Ray of Light" is still my favorite album (with its deep, dreamy, drowned world essence), "American Life" comes pretty darn close. Forget the critics --- have *ANY* of them done *ANYTHING* close to what Madonna has done in her life? If not, sit down and shut up! Everyone else, GET THIS ALBUM NOW! Kuduos, Madonna ... you're still the brightest little star the world has ever seen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The greatest of all

    This is one of the best Cds ever made. If you like pop,dance,folk,classical,and Hip-hop all in one. You will love this Cd.Inventive,smart,and great don't even begin to discribe this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Madonna Does It Again

    Proving that she is more than the mother of reinvention, Madonna's American Life shows the singer still has tones of creative juices left some 20 yrs after the release of her first album "Madonna". I love this album evern more so than Music. Hopefully she'll be recognized for this. A Must have for any Madonna fan, but then again what type of Madonna fan would you beif you havent gotten then album already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Madonna's back!!!

    This album is soooo good that I never want to stop listening to. Her music is a lot like Dirty Vegas, in fact they did produce her song "Die Another Day." Her music is not what it used to be. It's a lot like techno and Avril-Lavigne-meets-Kraftwerk. Everybody, get this album!!! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Our Great Icon is BACK!!!

    Madonna the Great! has successfully reinvented herself with the new release. It's a wonderful experience once again as the greatest pop diva belts out new materials that will surely catch fire in the mainstream pop. Liked the title track so much. There's so much to listen and enjoy from the Material Mom. Just hope I could watch the video. Anybody's got a copy? Do send to bogs64@hotmail.com. Reserve your copies now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Madonna Rocks and Folks!

    I think this is CD is just wonderful. It managaes to be both introspective and fine pop fare. The standout tracks are: Hollywood, Im' So Stupid, X-staic Process, Easy Ride and Love Profusion. It is a far more satisying CD then Music because it is more consistent (like the reviewer stated) more on the par of Ray of Light but better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a beautiful album

    American Life explores themes of love and enlightenment through creative, innovative, and sometimes artfully-abrasive music that sounds utterly unlike anything in pop. Lyrically, the album explores Madonna’s understanding of love as constituted through relations with others—as opposed to the narcissistic self-love of celebrity adulation. Love grants wisdom, but also a certain sadness, because love is always haunted by loss (the death of a mother, for example). Love also constitutes a kind of spirituality, and this album finds Madonna continuing her spiritual quest, moving beyond “religion” in deliberately contradictory lyrics: “I’m not religious, but I feel so moved, makes me wanna pray” she sings on the devastatingly beautiful “Nothing Fails.” Musically, the album cites Madonna’s past, just as it does lyrically, with references to “Like a Prayer,” “Ray of Light,” even “Papa Don’t Preach” occasionally popping up. The production values are impeccable, and even though the songs are often a mélange of complex computer effects, they never seem impersonal. Madonna’s voice is lovely, as she masters a variety of singing styles (including an homage to Kate Bush on “Mother and Father”). And the dance songs rock, especially “Nobody Knows Me,” which includes a killer breakdown (Madonna singing/shouting “I don’t watch TV!”) that will get you on your feet. Don’t be put off by the aggressive imagery of the cover and videos: this is an extremely personal album that far surpasses Music and Ray of Light. There is not a bad song on it. This album just might bring tears of joy tempered by wisdom to your eyes—it did to mine, honestly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intriguing, Artistic, and Fun

    I think this album is one of Madonna's best so far. She has gone from this pop phenomenon to become what I consider a true artist. When she wants to become something she truly goes for 100% without looking fake or unreal, but as if the character she is assuming is a real part of her which leads me to believe that this new style has been apart of her, but no one ever knew. The sounds on this album are amazing. Songs such as " I'm So Stupid " " Hollywood " and " Love Profusion " go for the acoustic rock vibe and its done very well. Madonna's vocals are a lot simpler on this album, and there are less effects to give you the feeling that everything is raw and more personal. She has done it again and it is done brilliantly. I give this album an A++, and I give Madonna a thumbs up for having the guts to create an album that a few years ago would have been far away from her personality and style. Cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ***American Legend***

    madonna has returned with a set of music that is music to our ears. *american life*, madonna's 10th studio album, picks up lyrically where *ray of light* left off, and continues that electronic-synth sound of *music*. indeed, the melodies on *american life* make the album very singable, and easy to listen to over and over again, wheras on *music*, the songs really had no lyrical high points, and the wall-shattering beats took center stage. Here, madonna herself takes the stage. On *hollywood*, the electro-pop beats give way to a vulnerable madonna singing about the ways of hollywood, while at the same time a catchy tune, the sadness in her voice is evident, and has been missing from a madonna album for years. it is a welcome change. in *im so stupid*, madonna proclaims..."everybodys looking for something" while the beats flutter around her pure voice like floating butterflies. on such tunes like *nothing fails* , *nobody knows me*, and *mother and father*, madonna has NEVER sounded more introspective in her entire musical career, touching on family, her husband, and thoughts on religion that make you move your head to the beat yet question your beliefs at the same time. *intervention* has the most catchy chorus since *secret*. one listen and it's guaranteed to never leave your head! wonderful! and, *x-static process*, my favorite song of the set, is almost reminiscent of an old peter paul and mary folk tune. madonna cries with a tinged voice..."jesus christ will you look at me, don't know who i'm suppposed to be". with just madonna's layered voice, harmonies, and an acoustic guitar, the song will touch any heart. very serious, very fun, very personal, are the ways to describe *american life*. seems like a move towards the future for madonna's music. here, combining elements from all past albums, madonna acheives lyrical genius,musical prowess, yet maintains her vulnerability and intrigue as always. in an interview recently she said, there's more to come in the future from me! if this is what any of it will sound like, we can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful CD, almost as good as the last

    I recently heard this cd at a party last weekend. It's sweet! There are some great songs on here. Madonna has truly reached a higher level as an artist. My favorite song on this cd is her tribute to the Golden Girls, entitled "Everyone thought Blanch Devereaux was a tramp, but the real dirty dog was Rose Nylund." Madonna's commentary on American life is really inciteful, especially now that she speaks in an Brittish accent. Her song, "I majorly overcooked this hotdog, but I'm gonna eat the doggone thing anyway", really makes me think about the state of the world. It's hard to imagine that just last year, Madonna was donning a Michael Jackson Thriller jacket and using words like "homies" and "chillin'". Anyhow, I really had a blast listening to this cd with my friends. We had a whole night dedicated to Madonna. This cd is quite a bit different than her usual stuff. I think you'll like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1