Customer Reviews for

American Patriot: The Life and Wars of Colonel Bud Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heroes in our Time!

    This book should be required reading for all Americans. There is something to be gained by all in reading this story. Mr. Bud Day and his fellow POW's--those who truely endured incredible hardship and human cruelty, yet "Returned with Honor"--are all hero's of the highest order. The unbelieveable torture they were subjected to and their response revealed their love of family, country, and faith. All of these men are special and should never be forgotten. As a retired Air Force member, and an individual who loves his country, I am thankful for the sacrifices made by Mr. Bud Day and all POW's who "Returned with Honor". GBU.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Courage

    This autobiography should be required reading for all United States high schools. It is the unbelievable courage of men like Bud Day that keep America free.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Clearly a Champion of every HONORABLE individual who has ever served!

    Upon finishing this book it was clearly evident to me why this book is on the Chief of Staff Air Force Read List! Col. Day is the finest example of a hero which any branch of service could base there core qualities. To keep with the Code of Conduct and NOT relent shows the courage and resolve that we all aspire to reach. I, as a veteran of 24 years USAF, wish to thank Col. Day for his efforts in re-establishing our veteran's medical care. Mr. Coram has done an OUTSTANDING job in relaying the life and wars of Col. Day! Mr. Coram stated that "veteran's are weepers." This is true as I truly wept as I finished this book...TRULY INSPIRING! This is a must read simply to remind us of how we can find our way back to center and KEEP to the CODE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    One of my favorite reads.

    Great book. Couldnt put it down. Have reread it twice and read it to my son. Hats off to Mr. Coram for a wonderfully written book, although COL Day makes it pretty easy for it to stay interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great book on an Air Force hero

    This book describes the life and actions of the most highly decorated Airmen alive today... an Airmen who also served as a Marine and Soldier. His POW goal was to "Return with Honor"--great words for all of us to live by in all endeavors. I was also impressed that he and the other POWs started their own AF Wing, the 4th Allied POW Wing while in Hanoi. The thought provoking part of book for me is that he and the other POW leaders worked to hold those POWs accountable who did not return with honor, actions that I think were right. He also highlighted that they were not Prisoners of War, but Prisoners at War. Anyone reading this book will wonder if they have the fortitude to do what he and the other "hard resisters" were able to do, many for more than five years. I'm saving this book... its a keeper. I pay tribute to the American Air Pirates.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    A Great 'American' Story

    As a former USAF veteran of the Vietnam era, I was honored and humbled to have been in the same organization as Col. Day. His life and unimaginable courage is narrated in a well written, fast paced fashion. The author is to be commended for his able handling of a story that could have become overburdened with superlatives. For only superlatives can describe Col.Day's 'and Mrs Day's'accomplishments, and ability to overcome horrific events. Anyone reading this fine book will always wonder, 'How would I have reacted under similar circumstances.' The thought is almost overwhelming. Thank you, Col. Day, for giving your all for the rest of us, and author Robert Coram for a fine book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Excellent!

    People need to realize what men and women have gone through to fight for and protect our nation's and other nations' freedom. It is a shame that our troups weren't appreciated in Vietnam and that it wasn't even called a war. Our freedom to protest and hold banners that say 'No More War' has been protected by our service men and women. I read that civilizations progress from bondage to spiritual faith to great courage to liberty to abundance to complacency to apathy to dependence back to bondage. Where is the U.S. now? I thank God for the service men and women that we have today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Lorrie

    God bless you and yours. You are a true American

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    A one of a kind HERO

    Even after having met Colonel Day, this book provides so much more insight into his past. In talking with Bud, you would never know half of what he did, because he is such a humble, friendly and unassuming gentleman. If you want to know what "Duty, Honor and Country" means, READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I'm Not Sure Tough Guys Like This Are Being Replaced In The World

    This guy is one tough Monkey. The book is a great read about a great man that served in three wars. I truly enjoyed this book and am in awe of "Bud" Day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Wow!

    Let us never forget what it means to love America. Bud Day's experiences, expertly recorded by Robert Coram, should be embraced by all Americans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Thank God we have men like Bud Day and all the other incredible men to are filled with such fire and keep our country safe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    A must read!

    This is a fantastic book about one of the greatest American patriots ever. I was honored to first meet Col. Day eight years ago and he's one of the most impressive and decent people this country has ever produced. I cannot recommend this book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Outstanding

    I'm not a Fighter Pilot, but I have been in the Air Guard for 6 years out of Sioux City, IA, Colonel 'Bud' Day home town. I have even had the great chance of meeting the Colonel a few times and this weekend will have the chance to meet Robert Coram. This book from page one grabs you at the heart and makes you want to finish it in one sitting. Its the classic True story of a everyday boy from Midwest with a poor start being told the future without living it because 'Riverside boy going to College was Outrageous'. Everyone should take the time and read this book and get to know the Colonel and his wars.Even if you are told you are too small and may need a 'few' waviers to do something, great things can and will happen if you make them happen. Thanks Colonel for serving this country and thanks Robart Coram for giving the Colonels story life to a new generation of Vet's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    What I didn't know

    I received the book 'American Patriot' on Monday 4/30/2007. I just finished reading it. I am a retired USAF F100 Fighter Pilot and I felt that I knew a lot about the POW and after effects, but learned that I was a novice. I bailed out of an airplane in South Vietnam in 1965 and spent 36 hours prior to being rescued and thought several times that I was going to be one of the POW's in Hanoi. This book is a must read for anyone who has been or will be subject to such conditions as Col Day and his compatriots endured. Thanks Col Day and the other NAM-POW's. Mel Elliott

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2