Customer Reviews for

American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

An absolutely wonderful book to read!! I agree whole heartedly

An absolutely wonderful book to read!! I agree whole heartedly with another review that this should be required reading for any high school history class. In fact, the chapters are so short that it could easily apply to middle school students as well.

Rick Santorum h...
An absolutely wonderful book to read!! I agree whole heartedly with another review that this should be required reading for any high school history class. In fact, the chapters are so short that it could easily apply to middle school students as well.

Rick Santorum has addressed 25 heroes of the American Revolution and how they were instrumental in the formation and foundation of our country. He draws from the “The Declaration of Independence”…”We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” He centers on “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” and introduces Patriots who believed strongly in these areas and pursued them with their very own lives. Many of the individuals within this book were also firm in their belief that without the hand of our Creator upon our lives, we would all be lost. These biographical sketches draw our hearts and attention back to God and how He ultimately is our “life, our liberty, and our pursuit of happiness.” Without Him, we are nothing.

I found the Patriots in this book absolutely fascinating. Mr. Santorum highlights several women who served as marksmen and spies, a gentle giant who fought like a madman, a baker who fed George Washington’s army, a financial hero who supported the movement even unto poverty at his death; a bi-racial man who was the pastor of a white church for 30 years until the congregation realized he was “black” and asked him to leave. While all of these are not signers of the Declaration of Independence, they were most definitely instrumental in the foundation of our country and deserve our gratitude for their sacrifices. We also have a responsibility to teach our children the heritage of our country and how far we have strayed from the founding fathers original “Call to Freedom.”

Rick Santorum has created a wonderful history book! I highly recommend “American Patriots – Answering the Call to Freedom.”

DISCLOSURE: We received a complimentary copy of American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom from Tyndale Blog Network on behalf of the publisher, Tyndale, and author to facilitate our honest review. Positive remarks were not an obligation.

posted by ACS_Book_Blogger on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

A creature lurks in the shadows. It waits, watches.

posted by 3428947 on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An absolutely wonderful book to read!! I agree whole heartedly

    An absolutely wonderful book to read!! I agree whole heartedly with another review that this should be required reading for any high school history class. In fact, the chapters are so short that it could easily apply to middle school students as well.

    Rick Santorum has addressed 25 heroes of the American Revolution and how they were instrumental in the formation and foundation of our country. He draws from the “The Declaration of Independence”…”We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” He centers on “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” and introduces Patriots who believed strongly in these areas and pursued them with their very own lives. Many of the individuals within this book were also firm in their belief that without the hand of our Creator upon our lives, we would all be lost. These biographical sketches draw our hearts and attention back to God and how He ultimately is our “life, our liberty, and our pursuit of happiness.” Without Him, we are nothing.

    I found the Patriots in this book absolutely fascinating. Mr. Santorum highlights several women who served as marksmen and spies, a gentle giant who fought like a madman, a baker who fed George Washington’s army, a financial hero who supported the movement even unto poverty at his death; a bi-racial man who was the pastor of a white church for 30 years until the congregation realized he was “black” and asked him to leave. While all of these are not signers of the Declaration of Independence, they were most definitely instrumental in the foundation of our country and deserve our gratitude for their sacrifices. We also have a responsibility to teach our children the heritage of our country and how far we have strayed from the founding fathers original “Call to Freedom.”

    Rick Santorum has created a wonderful history book! I highly recommend “American Patriots – Answering the Call to Freedom.”

    DISCLOSURE: We received a complimentary copy of American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom from Tyndale Blog Network on behalf of the publisher, Tyndale, and author to facilitate our honest review. Positive remarks were not an obligation.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Rick Santorum's little handbook spotlights American Heroes from

    Rick Santorum's little handbook spotlights American Heroes from the American Revolution. Some are well known names, Lafeyette and Nathan Hale, and some are little known heroes, like Peter Francisco and Nancy Morgan Hart. All of them have a story that deserves to be told and known, and this book does just that.

    Divided into three parts (entitled Life, Liberty, and The Pursuit of Happiness), American Patriots tells the stories of men and women who fought and sacrificed during the War for American Independence. You will be inspired, encouraged, and educated all at the same time. This book is wonderfully well written and heart felt. Santorum is a strong Christian man with some wonderful insight into the stories he tells.

    This book makes a great read aloud for the family, and can also be read by children and adults alike. The reading level is probably for 12 and above. Some younger history buffs might also enjoy it. :-) I would highly recommend it as an addition to the homeschool history shelves.


    Score ~ ¿¿¿¿¿
    Violence ~ 0
    Indecency ~ 0
    Language ~ 0
    Age ~ 10 and Up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    former sen. rick santorum has writtion a fantastic history of ma

    former sen. rick santorum has writtion a fantastic history of many of the little known patriots and founders of the american revolution. alot of these are people that I did not know about yet they contributited so much to the founding of our country and with out these individuels and there deeply commited faith and strong stand that they took for our country sometimes putting their very lifes on the line these book is a must read espically for all students and would make a fine gift for the holidays and birthday gift for a friend or family member.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    A creature lurks in the shadows. It waits, watches.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is wonderful book filled with beautiful stories about those who risked thier lives for our freedom today. Great book for our students to grasp even more about our history. Rick Santorum has given us a wonderful book to enjoy for generations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    BBBBBBBBOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS SO BORING!!!!! EVEN BIG NATE AND DIARY OF A WIMPY KID IS BETTER THAN THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Xavier

    It's strange to read something so different, but so well thought out... Your work is as always, excellent, Lu. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Falling. ~Fith Chapter~

    "Cassandra."
    A booming voice
    Echos around a
    Great hall.
    "My Lord, Zues."
    Bowing.
    "You have been
    Summoned
    Here this day to recieve an
    Obligation.
    Fali to accomplish this
    Obligation and you will be
    Terminated." Hard
    Cold eyes staring at me.
    "Yes, my
    Lord.
    But, what, is this
    Obligation?"
    Inquiring.
    "In time, you shall find out."
    Body shaking as thought scramble to
    Process.
    Obligation?
    Termination?
    Surely not...
    "You shall
    Journey underworld.
    Mingle with the
    Mortals and bring back your
    Observations."
    Journeying.
    I sigh.
    Hands trembling
    Nodding.
    "Yes, my
    Lord Zues." Guards
    Escorting my numb body from the
    Summoning
    Room.
    Rushing to me.
    Marcus holds my face.
    Whispers.
    Distinct.
    "Are you
    Okay?
    Is everything
    Alright?"
    Warm eyes.
    Staring into mine.
    His are so
    Bright
    And blue
    And sparkling.
    I rise.
    To my feet.
    And head to pack for my journey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    10/10

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Rebel

    Name:Rebel
    Species:Wolf
    Age:9 moons
    Appearance: Black she-wolf with rust spots and grey spots on her back(just a few spots). Grey muzzle with black markings on the end. She has a rust, star shaped, marking on her face. Shining amber eyes. Rust tipped tail.
    Powers:None
    Mate:None
    Off-Spring:none
    Mother:Clouds at dawn(gone)
    Father:Omega
    Siblings:Jay, stone, and journey
    -Rebel

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Themis

    Name:Themis(means justice.) * Gender:Female * Age:Unknown. Well, to her it isn't. She's over a hundred years old,but looks 3 years old. * Species:Lilac Siamese Cat * Pelt:a whitish brown, with a darker brown 'mask' on her face. Her ears are also a dark brown, along with her paws. She has a teardrop marking on her chest. * Eyes:a pretty, icy blue. * Personality:She's calm, patient, and rarely loses her temper. She's hardworking, and can adapt quickly. She's loyal only ti those who have earned her trust, which is a particularly hard thing to do. She's independent, and prefers to do most things alone. She's fast thinking, and intelligent. She finds it particularly funny when cats say she's "wise beyond her years." * Mate:None * Kits:None * Family:Hex(mother, dead.) Jinx(father, dead.) Lola(sister, dead.) Falco(brother, dead.) Skye(brother, dead.) * History:Born a loner, she learned to depend only on herself, especially when she left her family to go off on her own. Captured by a twoleg, she was stuck for years, until she finally made her escape. Afterwards, she was attacked by her siblings, who had long since turned to evil. Believing it was her job to hand out justice, and avenge all those cats killed by her siblings, she fought her siblings, ending each of their lives. "Justice has been served," she'd said. After that, she roamed around, spying on evil cats and dealing out justice to those who killed many. She eventually came to the freedom chasers, and joined up with them. * Powers/Abilities:She's not immortal, but she can live forever. She often has premonitions, most of which she'd rather not share.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    The Shadow Guardian

    A black griffin watches from the shadows, its one steel eye stained with blood. It growls at the other creature and suddenly dissapears.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Lily

    Name: Lily•••Species: Cat•••Gender: Female•••Age: 7 moons •••Mate: None so far :(•••Kits: Nope•••Parents/Siblings: None of your business.•••Personality: Has a short temper with cats that she dislikes. She doesn't trust people easily, and is always fiercely loyal to her Clanmates and few trusted friends. She is quick both physically and mentally, and she always has a sharp retort ready.•••Appearance: Light gray with white paws and faint white stripes on her back.•••Powers: Controlling the earth(plants).••• Past: You would know if I trusted you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Autum

    Name- Autum
    Rank- wolf
    Gender- female
    Mate- none, yet
    Pups/kits- none, yet of her own she adopts orphans though
    Apperance- a redish colored shewolf with green eyes that have gold flecks in them. I have brownish patches that blend with my redish fur.
    Personality- loving, fierce, kind, and strong.
    And is adopted mother to Firekit and Hollykit who were originally in Foreverclan... But thats another story
    ~Autum

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Royal

    Name: Royal. Species: Cat. Appearance- Long-furred, white, deep black eyes. Wears a chain with a greenish dragon fang. Personality- A bit stuck-up, but perserverant and very protective of his friends. He's secretive about what he can do. Other- Despises reptiles, especially dragons, and doesn't do well with fire.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Birch

    A small, dark raccoon. She is a converter. Young, just about a year. Hasnt been hit by a car. Yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Raven

    Name- Raven
    Species- Cat
    Gender- Tom
    Ranking- Warrior/Loner/Rouge
    Age- 9 moons
    Personality- He's quiet and mysterious, and doesn't warm up easily to other cats, though he is extremely loyal to those he trusts. Raven is also very agile, swift, and clever.
    Description- A small lithe white tom with black, ginger, and light gray flecks on his back. He has black-tipped ears—one has a nick in it—a black tail-tip, sharp icy blue eyes, and feathery white wings.
    Powers- He can fly, due to the fact he has wings. His other powers are unknown.
    Parents- Unknown
    Littermates- Unknown
    Enjoys- Hunting, flying, fighting in the dark, and climbing trees, all which he is very good at.
    Favorite Kind of Prey- Mouse
    Mate- None yet
    Kits- Obviously none
    History- Ha ha... you won't be able to worm it out of him THAT easily...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Puma

    Puma~gender:female. Type of animal:lion. Mate:zane(dead). Cubs:two cloud a boy and lala a girl. Personality:sweet and kind but fierce when she needs to be. Powers:none. Appearance:her fur unlike other lions is a golden blue her eyes are green and she is strpng~puma

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Aero & Wick

    Name: Aero
    Age: 8 moons
    Species: Cat (shapeshifter)
    Gender: Female
    Ranking: Leader/rogue
    Personality: A jokester at times but is a fierce battle opponent. She has a deadly temper, though. If you get her mad, you'd better start running.
    Appearance: A pretty, agile smoky black tabby shecat with white chest and paws. Green eyes that appear to have a silver gleam when hit by light. A long tail, silver whiskers, a nimble figure, and thornlike claws. Her right forepaw is missing two toes, and her left ear is torn. Better at swimming, fighting, and moving heavy things.
    Parents: Cloudsun (mother) and Flames That Burn In Grass (father)
    Siblings: Dawn (sister) and Asher (brother) ((need RPers))
    Mate: None :(
    Kits: Wick (adopted)
    Powers: Is a shapeshifter
    History: Hmm... it's not that easy!

    Name: Wick
    Age: 4 moons
    Species: Cat
    Gender: Male
    Ranking: Kit/loner
    Personality: Secretive, clever, quick-thinking, and loyal. Is very protective of fellow Freedom Chasers, and can get pretty mad when provoked.
    Appearance: A thin, dark gray tabby tom with white paws and electric yellow eyes. Long-legged, built for speed, with a long tail and short whiskers. Has a scar across his left shoulder and right hind leg. Better at tree-climbing, running, and leaping.
    Parents: Aero (adopted mother)
    Siblings: None right now (may have some if Aero has kits or adopts young)
    Mate: Um, KIT here!!
    Kits: Gross
    Powers: Can control storms and electricity
    History: SO telling that!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Stars and Dusk

    Stars-----------****
    Description: A small black shecat with gold and white splotches that look like paint. Her eyes are blue and kind of sparkle.
    Age: 7-8 moons
    Mother: Fish that Leaps Out of Water
    Father: Darkness that Creeps onto Land
    Sibs: Evergreen Tree that Whispers in the Wind, and Faint Light of the Sun
    History: She ran away from her tribe when she could because she didn't want to live there. She was trained be a loner named Sky and traveled here to make new friends and belong to somthing important.
    Other: She can transport herself to any place at any time. Sbe likes to have fun.

    Dusk—————————/////\\\\\
    Description: A grey wolf pup with amber eyes and a white paw.
    Age: 3-5 moons
    Mother: Lilac
    Father: Unknown
    Sibs: Moon and River
    History: He was the runt of the litter, unwanted by his family. He only ran away a half moon ago, and isn't sure about himself.
    Other: Might or might not have powers, and is quiet and shy.


    YUSH IT ISH DUNES!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2