BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The American Patriot's Almanac: Daily Readings on America

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Resource

I had the pleasure of reviewing this book, and it exceeded my expectations. The book design is beautiful, and it instantly drew me into the book. The book is divided by months and themes. The first thing we did was look up the dates of our family. We all wanted to se...
I had the pleasure of reviewing this book, and it exceeded my expectations. The book design is beautiful, and it instantly drew me into the book. The book is divided by months and themes. The first thing we did was look up the dates of our family. We all wanted to see what events took place on our birthdates. It is a great history lesson for us all, and it makes learning history fun. The book contains various documents that have shaped American history. Such as the Constitution, The Bill of Rights, The Gettysburg Address, The Declaration of Independence, and many more. My favorite was the Code of Conduct for the military. I have many family members serving our country, but I had never read the pledge that is required of our armed forces. This makes me honor and appreciate our troops even more. The book contains a list of the top 50 American films of all time. My family plans to watch all of these films. My children enjoyed learning about all the symbols on American money. They also wanted to learn some of the American Patriotism songs in the book. Our family plans to read the daily entry at night. This is a wonderful introduction to history for your family. It is done in a simple but engaging way. Every family should have this book in their home library. I plan on purchasing a few for relatives. This book would be wonderful for a classroom, homeschooling family, and public library. This book is worth every penny.

posted by 4amigos on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Parts cannot be viewed correctly on NookColor

We had the original version of The American Patriot's Almanac in hard cover and were happy when the updated version came out as an e-book. Unfortunately, the "American History Parade" portions of each day's entries do not view properly - you see them as one letter per l...
We had the original version of The American Patriot's Almanac in hard cover and were happy when the updated version came out as an e-book. Unfortunately, the "American History Parade" portions of each day's entries do not view properly - you see them as one letter per line (reading down the page instead of across). Apparently there is no fix for this at the present time.

posted by 2809082 on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 20, 2008

    Wonderful Resource

    I had the pleasure of reviewing this book, and it exceeded my expectations. The book design is beautiful, and it instantly drew me into the book. The book is divided by months and themes. The first thing we did was look up the dates of our family. We all wanted to see what events took place on our birthdates. It is a great history lesson for us all, and it makes learning history fun. The book contains various documents that have shaped American history. Such as the Constitution, The Bill of Rights, The Gettysburg Address, The Declaration of Independence, and many more. My favorite was the Code of Conduct for the military. I have many family members serving our country, but I had never read the pledge that is required of our armed forces. This makes me honor and appreciate our troops even more. The book contains a list of the top 50 American films of all time. My family plans to watch all of these films. My children enjoyed learning about all the symbols on American money. They also wanted to learn some of the American Patriotism songs in the book. Our family plans to read the daily entry at night. This is a wonderful introduction to history for your family. It is done in a simple but engaging way. Every family should have this book in their home library. I plan on purchasing a few for relatives. This book would be wonderful for a classroom, homeschooling family, and public library. This book is worth every penny.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    A Must Have For American History Lovers

    The moment I laid eyes on this book, I fell in love with it. <BR/>From the "aged" look of the front cover to the beautiful ivory, rough edge pages, this book captured my interest from the very first page.<BR/><BR/>In the very beginning of this book, there are three pages devoted to The American Patriot and what patriotism means. The first three pages are inspiring and spark a love and respect for all things "American".<BR/><BR/>The book is divided into chapters, January through December. For each day of the month there is a detailed historical event that corresponds with the date. At the bottom of each page, there are other historical events listed for that same date and each page is a wealth of information!<BR/><BR/>The information provided in this book not only includes history from the early beginnings of America, but current information as well. I was pleasantly surprised to see a page devoted to Pat Tillman, who was killed in the line of duty in 2004.<BR/><BR/>The writings are informative, easy to read and just enough information to be interesting yet not overwhelming. I plan to use this book as part of our American History curriculum next year.<BR/><BR/>Everyone who loves American history should have The American Patriot's Almanac in their library. And for those who aren't well versed on our history or may not have enjoyed the subject in school, I believe this book will change your perception as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Parts cannot be viewed correctly on NookColor

    We had the original version of The American Patriot's Almanac in hard cover and were happy when the updated version came out as an e-book. Unfortunately, the "American History Parade" portions of each day's entries do not view properly - you see them as one letter per line (reading down the page instead of across). Apparently there is no fix for this at the present time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The American Patriot¿s Almanac

    The American Patriot¿s Almanac is a fantastic way for families to talk about American history one bite at a time. I was worried that this book would be overwhelming in scope and depth at 515 pages, but instead I found it to be a pleasant read at one page per day.<BR/><BR/>The book consists of a one page a day synopsis of an important historical event that took place on this date in history. For example, December 16th has four paragraphs summing up the events of the Boston Tea Party. Following this, is five single line other significant historical events, arranged chronologically, such as:<BR/><BR/>1773 Massachusetts colonists stage the Boston Tea Party<BR/><BR/>1811 The first of the New Madrid earthquakes, a series of incredibly violent quakes centered near New Madrid, Missouri, occurs.<BR/><BR/>1835 Fire roars through New York City, destroying approximately 600 buildings.<BR/><BR/>1944 German forces launch a surprise attack in Belgium, beginning the Battle of the Bulge, Hitler¿s last major offensive battle on the Western front.<BR/><BR/>1972 The Miami Dolphins become the first NFL team to go unbeaten and untied in a fourteen-game regular season; they go on to defeat the Redskins in Super Bowl VII.<BR/><BR/>When I first started reading this book about a week ago, I was always surprised to learn what took place on this date in history. My husband is a big history buff and I¿ve never been able to talk history with him before because I didn¿t have the vast reserves of trivia knowledge that he had. Now the gap is closing in! Every month historical documents are included, word for word, such as the Bill of Rights, the Declaration of Independence, The Gettysburg Address, as well as some prayers.<BR/><BR/>Most significantly though, my ninth grade son is literally eating this book up at breakfast. He sits down with his bowl of cereal and opens up the book to today¿s date and absorbs the information. I would recommend this book for middle school and above. If you can get your child to read the daily page, it would give your child a good foundation in America¿s history in about three minutes a day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    Enjoyable!!!!!

    Enjoyable!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    The American Patriot's Almanac

    The American Patriot's Almanac by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb is more than just a book. It is an education in history, patriotism, pride and above all "marketing". I used the word marketing because one look at its exquisite hard cover, navy blue spine and majestic eagle spread on its front cover is enough to make you want to have it in your collection! Such was my feeling the moment I received it and even before I had read a single page. However while the beauty of most superbly jacketed volumes are only skin deep, The American Patriot's Almanac delivers till the last page.
    Essentially meant for daily reading, it contains 365 brief, interesting selections--one for reading each day of the year. The passages are short enough to share with older elementary aged kids through adults. On the bottom of each page is a quick glance at some other moments of America's history, such as December 28 1945 when "Congress formally recognizes the Pledge of Allegiance as the national pledge". There are poems by American poets, the lyrics to traditional, patriotic songs, and even America's top movies and quotes by Americans! And a recurring theme throughout is the Christian heritage our forefathers established for us...something today's Americans often forget! An excellent gift for the festive season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    The American Patriot's Almanac by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb

    Sunday, December 19, 2010The American Patriot's Almanac by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb The American Patriot's Almanac by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb, is a collection of 365 daily readings taken from some of American history's greatest stories . Most focus on a specific detail of a historical event and many include a primary source such as a journal entry or portions of a speech. These selections are intended to inspire and assure the reader that we aren't facing anything as Americans today that our ancestors in the past didn't face. Tucked between each month are lists and other facts such as : a list of all -American movies (not all are appropriate for Christians), flag etiquette, brief expositories on American documents such as the U.S. Constitution and The Emancipation Proclamation, and American quotes, poems, and songs . At the bottom of each daily reading page the authors have included a list of , usually 4 or 5, other significant events that also occurred that day, during other years, through out America's history. I thought this was a wonderful book. It was organized clearly. Selections for the topics were well varied; a few overlapped. The short passages were written in a way that will help bring history to life. This book would make a splendid resource for anyone who already has a general foundation in American history and wanted to build on that knowledge. It would be a treasured volume to add to any American patriot's home library. In my opinion, this is a book that every American student should be required to read before graduating from high school. I plan to use this in our home school as an 11th grade American History resource. I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.I received a free copy of The American Patriot's Almanac from Thomas Nelson Publishers, as part of their Book Sneeze program, in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    I love it! Highly entertaining and easy to digest.

    "The American Patriot's Almanac" may look slightly intimidating at 561 pages, but it is probably the easiest-to-digest history book you will ever encounter. The almanac is written like a one year Bible devotional book. For every day of the year, there is a brief but extremely interesting account of something important that happened on that day in American history (or close to it). For each date, other notable historic events are also listed. For those with short attention spans, I think this is a wonderful way to learn fascinating tidbits about important people and events from our nation's past.

    At the end of every month, there is a special section devoted more in depth to one particular subject. For example, at the end of June you will not only find the Declaration of Independence, but also the story of how the Declaration was written and signed. After other months, you will find terrific compilations like: Fifty All-American Movies, Fifty American Quotes, Songs of American Patriotism, and Poems of American Patriotism. Yes, you can probably find similar lists online. But I doubt that any others are done as beautifully as they are in this book.

    My personal favorite section is the one at the end of November, titled "Faith and the Founders." In this list of seven spiritual truths that our Founding Fathers believed, the authors point out that "When history books tell of this nation's founding, they often leave faith out of the story..In fact, most of those men and women were people of faith, and their faith mattered very much." It does my heart good to read this list. For example, did you know that the first act of the First Continental Congress was to pray for wisdom? That just makes me smile. In addition, the section called "Twelve Great Reasons to Love a Great Country" will make you temporarily forget about the debate on whether or not to extend tax cuts for the wealthy, and just make you feel proud to be an American again.

    Clearly, this history book takes several steps away from the secular perspective (as anyone familiar with Conservative William J. Bennett might have guessed). If that doesn't bother you, you will love this book as much as I do. I think that "The American Patriot's Almanac" is a treasure trove of stories and facts about our great country. It contains all of the basic information that you could ever be quizzed on in one impressive volume. And since Christmas is only weeks away, I should point out that it would make a great gift for anyone you know who appreciates history, collects trivia, and/or just plain loves America. It is a fantastic addition to my family's library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Awesome Historical Stories book!

    People say History is boring and it's hard to finish the historical books. Well, I would say it's different with The American Patriot's Almanac by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb. It's a book with 365 days of historical stories happened in the American History. Everyday, the writer would relate to what had happened in that particular day or duration in the history. Besides, on each day, there would be another 4 to 5 events listed in the page that happened around the same time of the day. I would say the way the writers organize the American History into story telling in 365 days is something very creative. It kept someone like me, who didn't do well in the history classes, interested in the history again! I would suggest to the parents to have one of these books in the house for the kids to read them. Alright, I shall check out what has happened today in the history! Have fun reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    The American Patriot's Almanac

    There are many ways to read "The American Patriot's Almanac" By William J Bennett and John T. E. Cribb. You can start at January 1 and read all the way up to December 31 with interesting tidbits in between. But that would be slightly boring. I found this fun way of reading this amazing & well researched book:

    Start with your birthday. Turn the almanac pages to that day and check what has happened on that day. Find anything interesting? (For example, I found that Benjamin Franklin was born on that day!) Email it to friends, Tweet about it.

    Then try your spouse's birthday, anniversary day, friends' birthdays, the day you joined your first job, any other special day you might have. Slowly you can finish this whole book and have a very personal experience about American history.

    You can also treat this book as a daily calendar / diary, which gives you a bit of American history with relevance to each day. With wonderful pictures, detailed explanations about important topics such as Declaration of Independence, Gettysburg address, Songs of American Patriotism etc., I hope Thomas Nelson brings many more books in this 'Almanac' series about other countries / personalities / topics.

    Strongly recommended for anyone who wants to learn about American history in a very interactive and readable manner!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze dot com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    The American Patriot's Almanac

    This book is somewhat like a devotional in the fact it offers some obscure and not so obscure facts about American history and different ongoings in America for each day of the year that happened that particular day in years past.

    This book is certainly a wealth of knowledge and would be perfect for any American History buff. The book itself is very beautiful and has rough-hewn edges on pages in the old fashioned style. However, in picking this book I believe I was looking for something more inspiring than it left me with. After reading each entry I found myself left with an, "oh that's nice..." sentiment running through my head as opposed to any conception of awe or faith.

    I would recommend this book for anyone interested in more knowledge on all the interesting little facts and details about America and its people, but this is not something I am going to turn to every morning looking for something to start my day with.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneezebook review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Very good book!

    If you are at all interested in the United States, how it was formed, who helped make it into the country it is today, or any type of American trivia, this is the book for you. This book is full of facts about our country and its people, from the Revolutionary period up to modern day. Past presidents, military heroes, famous inventors, facts about weather records, past events, and more can be found in this book. Sectioned off into 365 days of entries, so you can either read one entry a day to make it last all year, or read a couple sections a day, and finish earlier.



    I like the way it's sectioned off into days, and something important that happened on or near that day. Then it has a small list of other events or famous birthdays on that day, listed by year. I learned a lot about our country, and what makes it great and interesting. From the Bible passages that different presidents used during inauguration, to a listing of the state flags and their symbols and meaning, this book is packed with information. Soccer Star and Bookworm are huge fans of "Did you know.", so I've had fun sharing the information I get out of this book with them.
    I recommend this book for anyone taking an American History class or interested in American History, and it also makes a good conversation piece between parents and kids, if you want to talk about something that isn't video games and television.
    I received this book for free from Book Sneeze for review purposes only, and was not compensated in any other way. My opinions are truthful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Very high quality, great book

    I knew right away that I wanted to read this book when I saw that is was co-authored by William J. Bennet. What I didn't know was that it would be hardback and nearly 2 inches thick, with cloth binding! This is an extremely high quality book, and the content matches it in quality as well.

    Imagine a book with dates for every day of the year, and items of American history, from the monumental to the mundane, located on each and every stuffed page. Then, add in songs, articles, and other information, and you will have some idea of what this book is all about.

    This book has one page for each day of the year. That page has a main reading for the day, and also a list of the other events in American history that happened on that date. At the end of each month there is an article with more in-depth historical information, and some have songs, prayers, poems and the like. This makes the book excellent for reading daily. Kept on a bedside stand or coffee table, it is great for daily reading and then the further contemplation throughout the day that is sure to follow.

    If the read-a-little-a-day style does not suit you, don't give up on this book just yet. I am not one to read a snippet and then put the book down until tomorrow. (Maybe that is why I always read devotionals more like novels- straight through. ) Even though that is not my style, I really enjoyed reading this book. There is a lot here, and even if you just pick it up and start browsing, it is easy to read. If you take into account the thick index in the back of this book, you have a valuable resource book as well!

    *I received this book free of charge from BookSneeze for this review. I am always honest and fair in my reviews. *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    For the Revised 2010 edition...

    I have realized how much I need to teach my children that they live in a country that is worth being proud of. I found a pleasant surprise in this book! It's simply great! The beginning explains why we need to be proud to be patriots. It isn't an antiquated thing. There are several stories that let the reader know that the authors acknowledge that our country is not perfect! Yet, our country is a great country to live in! I was also very curious about what they would say about our country being a God centered country. I disagreed with what they said far, far less than I expected to. The book essentially has one entry for each day of the year and then at the end of each month there is a special addition. For one month, the Declaration of Independence is included and the story of its beginning. For another, there is a list of 50 great American quotes--and then also quotes by people outside America about America (some of these were awesome!). But, my favorite monthly addition was actually the list of 50 All American films. I was quite surprised, and honestly pleased by the films they chose. The Disney film chosen will completely surprise you! With all of this great information in this book, I can foresee us using this a couple of ways in our homeschooling. In middle school, I will read the entries with my kids and discuss the information. The additional information will find many uses. Late in middle school and into high school, I would love to watch each of these films with our kids and talk about them. I have great hopes for good discussions about them! If you are looking for a supplemental resource for your U.S. History curriciulum for middle school or high school students, I think this would be a great choice! Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Thomas Nelson Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Great book... Great US History almanac... a definite read for all!

    The American Patriot's Almanac by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb, published by Thomas Nelson, was everything I expected and more! This newly revised, updated and expanded almanac includes a slice of our great country's history alongside the daily "American History Parade."


    I enjoyed reading through the historical events which left such in impact on our country. My whole family enjoyed looking up their birthday to see who had the most exciting historical events.

    Since we are learning US History this year, we have been able to review such documents as: The Declaration of Independence (and how it was written and signed), The Constitution of the United States and the Bill of Rights, and the American Creed - just to name of few.

    Each year our students in the public schools are learning a different US History from previous generations. This Almanac helps bridge that gap and gives an insight into the Christian founding principles of America.

    Per the author, "Our nation's founding principles of liberty and equality are among humanity's noblest aspirations. As long as the United States is a place dedicated to those principles, then to be an American patriot is to love something noble and good. By loving America, we lift our own sights." Let us be a country filled with PATRIOTS who love this country, take pride in what America has accomplished, are active in their communities, and are involved in the election process - voting, reading up on the issues, and being an active participant.

    Book rating: 5 out of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    American Almanac

    As a blogger for booksneeze, I am reviewing the American Patriots Almanac by William J. Bennett and John Cribb published by Thomas Nelson. This book is a combination of a "devotional" book and a history book in one geared especially for those interested readers in American history. Actually it is like a devotional book of historical facts, figures, historic places and events. As an almanac of American History and its historical figures, a vast amount of information is presented in this book. What makes this patriotic themed almanac unique is that there are 365 entries, one for each day of the year. Well known figures such as Abraham Lincoln as well as lesser known historical personalities are included in this encyclopedia- like volume. Plenty of statistics, dates and trivia facts are contained within this volume as well. Each month has its own theme. For example, April is dedicated to a survey of American movies. The entire month of May is dedicated to flag etiquette and February is dedicated to the various flags of the revolution. There is bound to be something to appeal to a wide variety of interests. In a day where many modern readers are used to small broken up passages of texts and quick facts, this book is sure to appeal to a wide audience and the casual reader alike. The passages of text and information are broken down into smaller digestible chunks of information for today's modern reader. Anyone who enjoys any type of quick fact book, will appreciate this almanac. Furthermore, this book is a great introduction to American history and trivia. It is a good springboard to introduce the reader to various historical facts. The opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Great daily dose of US History

    I just discovered this book this year and am having our two daughters, whom we homeschool, use this book to add information to their history timelines. We all find it very interesting to find out what was going on in America on a given day. The book has sparked some great conversations. We often bring up some bit of information we have read to others. For example, on today's date, March 15, the American Legion was founded, Maine becomes the twenty-third state, and in New York State, voting machines are first authorized for use in elections. It's a great book to have laying around and leafing through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Great book for Kids

    We got this book for our kids (7 and 9). Great book to read before school (if there's time). Nice little stories about American history, and popular culture. These that we should remember fondly about America. Great if you want to start teaching your kids about American history (like Lincoln, Jefferson, Lewis and Clark, Pearl Harbor). You know the stuff they may not get in public school these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Absolutely Terrific

    This book is an interesting way to learn little facts about US history. Many of the entries promote patriotism and pride in the courage of those who went before us. Every family should not only own one but should read it to their children. It provides a wonderful way to share insights into history and character with our children and grandchildren. There is nothing dry or dull about this. Every entry lives!! I have given the book as a gift several times and my husband and I enjoy reading it ourselves. Thank you, William Bennett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for history lovers

    When I saw this book, I was very excited to get the opportunity to learn more about the history of my country. I thought this would be a great way to learn about the heroic and courageous things that people have done so that I can live in the U.S.


    This book definitely helped bolster my patriotism. Because I read all 365 entries in a period of several months, it tended to drag at times, just because it was so much reading. But for something short to read once a day, this is wonderful. I really can't say just how much I enjoyed reading this book. As well as short blurbs on different people, places, etc., at the end of each month, there are "essays", I suppose you could say, that tell about different things - reasons to love our country, the history of our flags, fifty all-American movies, etc.


    The only thing that bothered me were the few instances of profanity. I've never been one to want to read profanity in a book. However, people in history were just as flawed as we are today, and I understand the reasons the authors kept the quotes completely intact.


    Overall, I suggest this book. It's great to get to read a little about our country's past every day.

    -Audra, Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger
    www.audreywithachance.blogspot.com
    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4