Customer Reviews for

American Prince: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Good read about one of Hollywood's most attractive men

    I grew up in love with Tony Curtis. As a child, I was attracted to men, not boys. I watched Houdini every time it was on televsion. My favorite comedy is Some Like it Hot, more to do with Billy Wilder's approach to humor as opposed to the characters, but Tony Curtis was the main reason I watched this time and time again. He was gorgeous as a man and adorable as a woman...see the movie. Reading this autobiography filled in the details of a man that was not expecting to become so famous. Much of his life makes sense, he was tantamount to a rock star due to his looks, and he certainly acted like the preoverbial kid in a candy store, and it cost him a marriage to Janet Leigh. The book is funny, scandalous at times, and enthralling since there is definitely more to the man than one would think. If you like Tony (Bernard Schwartz), you'll like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Mjlup hlb,

    Jl

    ?,jl.
    Injl.um

    Jlopip up,ipip
    Kl.
    Jl jl n,

    Io
    Mjl.!.,m
    G

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    lo Love it

    If you love Tony Curtis you will enjoy this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Regina b

    Ipersonally met him when i was 11 he wason a telethon for easter seals what a guy even thogh i never read his book but he was very down to earth in person i didnt was my faceon the rt side for amonth iloved jamie lee though in the Halloween flicks and still watch them all every oct in tune with the holiday

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great Writing Stlye

    A must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Great Read

    I found Mr Curtis honest and funny, this is a must read if you are a fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Tony Curtis doesn't reveal all, just some

    I know Tony Curtis to be quite a character in his senior years, but this memoir is quite tame and gives few details of his years as a lothario other than to mention a number of partners. On the whole, it was an interesting light read but very much on the surface.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    American Prince: A Memoir

    This memoirs about Tony Curtis are very interesting. It a part of his life that I didn't know. It is a very good book for a Biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest and Entertaining Biography

    For many years, Tony Curtis ranked as one of the major cinematic heartthrobs. Now in his 80s, he tells the story of a career that hit its height in the 50s and 60s, then began a long downward spiral of hasty marriages, drugs, and endless empty affairs. His greatest regret seems to be that he was never taken seriously as an actor. This could be due to the fact that he took nearly any role that was offered - especially in the latter years when he had numerous ex-wives and children to support. From the start, Mr. Curtis's reaction to temptation was to give into it, and he had affairs with some of the most gorgeous women in Hollywood. Having a wife didn't stand in the way, though he was furious if a wife "betrayed" him by having her own affair, justifying his anger by saying that at least he was "discreet" about his own escapades. The book moves along easily, from his difficult childhood in a dysfunctional family to his success as a film actor to his recent years as a respected artist and philanthropist. It's not badly written, though I wish he and his ghost writer would have realized that there are many synonyms for the word "beautiful" - which he used to describe nearly every woman he bedded.
    I give Mr. Curtis credit for his honesty - often the reader is tempted not to like him much - but he is as tough on himself and his shortcomings as anyone else could possibly be. A highly entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    American Prince Tony Curtis

    This was a fascinating read about his life before stardom and his meteoric rise in Hollywood. His home life during childhood was very difficult. His early marriages weren't much better. He seems to have found the magic key to happiness in his last marriage. I liked this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest and Entertaining Autobiography

    For many years, Tony Curtis ranked as one of the major cinematic heartthrobs. Now in his 80s, he tells the story of a career that hit its height in the 50s and 60s, then began a long downward spiral of hasty marriages, drugs, and endless empty affairs. His greatest regret seems to be that he was never taken seriously as an actor. This could be due to the fact that he took nearly any role that was offered - especially in the latter years when he had numerous ex-wives and children to support. From the start, Mr. Curtis's reaction to temptation was to give into it, and he had affairs with some of the most gorgeous women in Hollywood. Having a wife didn't stand in the way, though he was furious if a wife "betrayed" him by having her own affair, justifying his anger by saying that at least he was "discreet" about his own escapades. The book moves along easily, from his difficult childhood in a dysfunctional family to his success as a film actor to his recent years as a respected artist and philanthropist. It's not badly written, though I wish he and his ghost writer would have realized that there are many synonyms for the word "beautiful" - which he used to describe nearly every woman he bedded.
    I give Mr. Curtis credit for his honesty - often the reader is tempted not to like him much - but he is as tough on himself and his shortcomings as anyone else could possibly be. A highly entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank You Mr.Curtis !!!!

    As a long time fan this book was a TREAT to read !! Also a huge thank you for confirming that yes Marilyn Monroe and Jeanne Carmen were in fact friends !! <BR/> <BR/>With much love and great respect ,<BR/> Cita Shepherd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2