BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

American Skin

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Great Book

    Like Life there are no happy endings when it comes to this book. I recommend to anyone who's ever had to struggle through life and came out of it as neither a better person or a worse person they just came out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    Read This Book

    I've reread this book about five times and every time I enjoy it like it was the first time. American Skin takes a ton of turns and twists, some of which are shockingly smooth. I can forgive the parts that are less smooth, or even feel less honest to the characters, because the imagery and plot remain continuously exciting. Unfortunately, I can't get over the disappointingly coincidental ending. I accept most of the book's irony for the 'fun to read' factor but I just can't forgive the ending (which is all fluff and seems tacked on). Still, it is a great first novel and I hope to see more of what De Grazia is capable of as he grows as an author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    And i'll read it again!

    Amazing book, i couldn't put it down. Pop culture at it's finest, i only wish i could write something as good as this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Not Factual?!? Ha!

    I have read this book several times, and live In Chicago, the events in this book are based off factual evrnts that happened here, the Dunkin Donuts is still sitting there on the corner of Belmont and Clark (though with tons more private security) and The Gorgon (Medusa's in real life) the building is still there, right next to the EL tracks which still bare some burn marks....so call it non-factual , then come to that area of Chicago and re-think that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    just awesome

    great book. it's nice to have someone write about topics that we want to discuss, but don't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    read it.

    this book captured my imagination, and led me to want a whole new life. you'll want your life to transform just like alex's, and your dreams will become his own. amazingly written, vivid and realistic. truly wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    Really, a good book

    This is one of the best books I've ever read,(works by Tolstoy, Hemingway, and Dickens included). The story is absolutely riveting - it's a rare occurence that a novel can keep me interested enough to read in one sitting, but this one did it. It also helps living in Chicago, because places are described so specifically I can see the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2001

    American Skin

    I thought the book was incredible. It was reallly well written. It didn't seem fiction it seemed like it was something that actually happened b/c it was so greatly written. Ot was so hard to put down. I recommend everyone to read it : ) Melissa*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    don de grazia has proved himself to me

    this book is incredibly well written. i literally couldnt put it down. i often found myself rushing through pages just to get to the next one. it is nonstop excitement from one page to the next. i really started to feel for alex after the first twenty pages. i also enjoyed his portrayal of skinheads and the way that it all started. most other works focus on the neo-nazi skinheads while de grazia focuses on the real skins. this book is wonderful and i recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2001

    Awesome Book!

    When I first saw this book I thought that is would be about stuff that I really didn't want to hear or read about. 'Another Racist Book' popped into my mind. Then I read it and now I love it! It tells the story of a guy whos life changed when he meets new people and what happens to him because he had to leave his home. It explains what 'skinheads' were before they supposedly turned racist. Which most aren't these days. But I just recommend reading this book because I never put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    American Skin

    This was a excellent book, despite what some people comment on it, I think it was a great piece of work. Sure it wasn't accuate, but it was a great book and I've already recommended to a bunch of my friends. I live in Chicago, and have experienced similar things that Don De Grazia wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2001

    Awesome book!

    I thought this book was great. I was born and raised around Chicago so I knew all the places they were talking about. It was well written and just kicked A$$!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    new american classic

    This is the best book I've read in a long, long time. However, if you are looking to have your own political ideals affirmed by this book you will be very disappointed. This is a true work of art, and filled with hard truths many won't be able to swallow. People who aren't used to having their beliefs challenged may find American Skin downright infuriating. To these self-satisfied sorts I have two words: Ha ha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2000

    awesome story

    This book is so great-- the story of a kid whose licked before he even gets out of the gate-- and how he's fighting to change his lot in life-- Jack London wrote this book called Martin Eden about a sailor who wants to become a writer and get educated. I thought about this tragic story while I read De Grazia's novel. They are both about the struggle to move out of your class-- yeah we have classes in America. And how some people want to keep you down-- sometimes the people on top of you and sometimes even your own people. It gave me a real sense of hope that people can pull themselves up-- even without a home or a family--just by sheer determination. This book is an epic tale like reviews called it-- a great journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    A great book about the life of skinheads/punks

    I thought this book was very well written. It wasnt very factual, but it potrayed the life of a skin head very well...It is a very good book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    a moving story of human triumph

    I picked up this book because my brother was a skinhead-- just like Alex was. This book made me weep for all the kids I knew growing up that had nothing and nobody. Don De Grazia captured the exquisite pain of lonliness and hopelessness on the page with a rare beauty. And then the triumph of bulldozing your way into a life you can hold your head up about-- to not give up-- even in the depthes of prison and loss and killing-- well i won't give it away but this book slayed me-- i love timmy penn and alex too-- why did this book have to end?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2000

    TRUE TO LIFE *its sad but true*

    this book is the best book i have ever read. taken from a 17 yr old punks point this book is true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    Outstanding Best I have read yet

    I havn't been so affected by a book befor.. until I picked up American Skin. It is one of the closest and accurate books on skinheads I have read. I was very immpressed by the technique of the author. He honestly makes you fall in love with each and every one of the characters. I was in awe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    Where can I find another like it???

    This was an swesome book. Even the way they talked was realistic. I've never seen a black girl with a chelsea though, I must be deprived. I read this book in one day, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    Fantastic!!!

    American Skin will blow you away. It is American History X meets The Catcher in the Rye... I absolutely loved this novel, and I recommend it to everyone (at least everyone who is at least 15 years of age or older)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2