Customer Reviews for

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History

Average Rating 4.5
( 821 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(514)

4 Star

(158)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

127 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

If you're starting to lose faith in America, read this book! Your faith will be restored.

If you enjoyed Marcus Luttrell's 'Lone Survivor' you must read this book. Chris Kyle reminds us of just how much American fighters can accomplish with the right amount of training, hard work, attitude and appreciation of the freedoms that we all used to hold dear.
...
If you enjoyed Marcus Luttrell's 'Lone Survivor' you must read this book. Chris Kyle reminds us of just how much American fighters can accomplish with the right amount of training, hard work, attitude and appreciation of the freedoms that we all used to hold dear.
Does his super-sized ego show? Can you feel his frustration at the higher-ups, lawyers and politicians in charge? Does he feel like he could have accomplished even more under better leadership? Yes, yes and Yes. In my opinion, Chris and his fellow SEALs have earned the right to these opinions. I've always thought that there's nothing wrong with a little arrogance, as long as you have the talent and accomplishments to back it up. To paraphrase one of my favorite presidents: "Most of us go to bed at night and wonder what we accomplished all day, SEALs don't have that problem."
From cover to cover, this book will always rank at the top of my list of best non-fiction books.
I, too am amazed at the review by Snail59. As a 57 year old, 12 year US Navy veteran, I have never in my life heard anything but praise from any sailor, airman, or marine as far as the SEALs are concerned. I just can't grasp where you are coming from.


WARNING to all Progressives and ultra-liberals: DO NOT BORROW, BUY or PREVIEW THIS BOOK! You will experience increased blood pressure, severe headaches, occasional bouts of nausea and broken bones from fist pounding on hard surfaces.

posted by vacshop on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

It's Not His Job to Write...

...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While he...
...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While her input is at odd moments and rarely matches what Chris Kyle is talking about at the same time, it's still welcome to see her side of a story.

The writing itself is pretty hacked. Short sentences and short paragraphs. Towards the end of the book, more and more Navy/Military terms are used and - even as a vet myself - it started getting difficult to remember what acronym meant what. But again - it's not Mr. Kyle's job to write and he did an amazing job getting his story across.

posted by 9964395 on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 821 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    If you're starting to lose faith in America, read this book! Your faith will be restored.

    If you enjoyed Marcus Luttrell's 'Lone Survivor' you must read this book. Chris Kyle reminds us of just how much American fighters can accomplish with the right amount of training, hard work, attitude and appreciation of the freedoms that we all used to hold dear.
    Does his super-sized ego show? Can you feel his frustration at the higher-ups, lawyers and politicians in charge? Does he feel like he could have accomplished even more under better leadership? Yes, yes and Yes. In my opinion, Chris and his fellow SEALs have earned the right to these opinions. I've always thought that there's nothing wrong with a little arrogance, as long as you have the talent and accomplishments to back it up. To paraphrase one of my favorite presidents: "Most of us go to bed at night and wonder what we accomplished all day, SEALs don't have that problem."
    From cover to cover, this book will always rank at the top of my list of best non-fiction books.
    I, too am amazed at the review by Snail59. As a 57 year old, 12 year US Navy veteran, I have never in my life heard anything but praise from any sailor, airman, or marine as far as the SEALs are concerned. I just can't grasp where you are coming from.


    WARNING to all Progressives and ultra-liberals: DO NOT BORROW, BUY or PREVIEW THIS BOOK! You will experience increased blood pressure, severe headaches, occasional bouts of nausea and broken bones from fist pounding on hard surfaces.

    127 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Awesome story!

    This book is a must read for anyone who wants to find out what we are up against in the Mideast. Chris Kyle is a true American hero whose exploits are recounted in a down to earth and self-deprecating way. His courage, conditioning, toughness, fortitude and coolness under fire are absolutely humbling. An incredible story, not to be missed. Our nation owes a debt of gratitude to Chris Kyle and all of the amazing men he served with in the elite group of warriors known as the U.S. Navy SEAL's. They know freedom isn't free and have chosen to put their lives at risk to defend it for the rest of us.

    82 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Must Read!

    If you're read and enjoyed Love Survivor by Marcus Luttrell - then American Sniper is a must read. Chris paints a very transparent picture of what it was like to be a SEAL, sniper, and new father while being deployed in the war. He holds no punches back. This book was extremely hard to put down.

    As for "the vet" that gave this book ONE star and trashed Chris's book... Have some respect. You asked "what did he do?" ...I'd say laying down his life to protect our amazing country is something. If having the highest kill count as a sniper in US history wasn't enough... Some people amaze me.

    41 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Amazing story

    This is an easy read of the most fascinating story that I even read. Chris is a real-life super hero and his stories will be told again and again forever.

    I am not a big reader, but I could not put this book down and finished it is almost one sitting.

    This is a must read.

    31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Engrossing!

    An engrossing insider's account of how the battles for the towns and villages of Iraq that we've all read about were fought. Despite the serious nature of its subject, the book is filled with humor and pathos with descriptions of Chris Kyle's feelings for his fellow warriors who he is assigned to protect from ambush in the Iraqui streets. Comments of his wife Taya vividly illustrate the sacrifices our military has made, not only in terms of the dangers they face, but the repeated separations from family and loved ones. Highly recommended.

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The other night, watching the show ┬┐Stars Earn Stripes┬┐, my son

    The other night, watching the show ‘Stars Earn Stripes’, my son recognized Chris Kyle, the author of “The American Sniper”, a biography he read for a school assignment. Curious about it, I picked up the book and browsed through it. Needless to say, I finished it in 1 and 1/2 days.

    I come from a country where patriotism used to be forced down our throat on a daily basis, a continuous lie the communists told us for generations. The result of it? We all hated it.
    After moving to the US I always wondered what drives Americans to stand when the national anthem is played before each game. What unseen force tells them to fly their flag, high on a mast, for the world to see it, for the wind to dance with it. What drives them to enroll in the military, leaving all they love and their family and make the ultimate sacrifice.
    Chris Kyle’s autobiography answers to all these questions and more. As Chris explains it, it's God, country and family. It's being selfless and the need to protect all that you inherit from your forefathers, believe in, all that you have, and all that you are.
    American Sniper is Chris Kyle’s account on the Iraq war where he’s deployed 4 times. To most people one time is more than enough. You serve your country, do your duty the best you can and then return home. But not for Chris. He needed to be there among his fellow countrymen, covering them, taking fire for them and protecting them with his life if it meant that was the last thing he'd do.
    What media presented (and I should say manipulated) about the war in Iraq is by far different than Chris’ view on it. We American's didn't go there to, as Chris says, “bring democracy to Iraq”. We went there to protect fellow countrymen, fight for our country not Iraq. It's a war that politicians deemed necessary, not our soldiers. They only followed orders.
    As a kid Chris had always dreamt to join the military. A dream he'd fulfilled, lived and finally shared memories of it by writing this biography. It's written from Chris’ point of view, concise and detailed, a progressive narration of war seen through a soldier's eyes. From time to time his wife Taya pitched in, giving us an insight of what a family goes through while their loved ones is at war, the constant fear, the anguish, the frustrations. The biography tells untold stories of unknown heroes. It doesn't sugarcoat, doesn't use fancy words and artistic scenes. There's nothing artistic about the war.
    Like you and I doing our job, that’s what Chris did: his job. People might or might not agree with his cold-blooded attitude toward the people he killed. But before you throw that stone let me ask you something: if you disagree with Chris why didn't you stand to protect this country?
    God Bless America!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    It's Not His Job to Write...

    ...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While her input is at odd moments and rarely matches what Chris Kyle is talking about at the same time, it's still welcome to see her side of a story.

    The writing itself is pretty hacked. Short sentences and short paragraphs. Towards the end of the book, more and more Navy/Military terms are used and - even as a vet myself - it started getting difficult to remember what acronym meant what. But again - it's not Mr. Kyle's job to write and he did an amazing job getting his story across.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great autobiography about a truly inspirational man, soldier, friend and husband. Great insight to both his life as a solider but also as everyday American.

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Right...

    All I have to say, show me a real sniper who will openly talk about his work and experiences, and I'll show you a con-man.

    19 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A sobering account

    Truely a realistic snapshot at the state of mind of one of our most decorated warriors. An absolute must read for the truly patriotic reader. EVERMORE thankful for you Chris and your family

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Jammed

    I think his gun jammed somewhere along the way. Sort of a good read into the everyday goings on in Iraq in combat, other than that, Mr. Kyle could be more humble...yeah I am sure he kept a count, people like him do.

    17 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Should be required reading

    This is not a polished account that has been handed from editor to editor. This is the first hand account of what it was like being part of a highly trained, well equipped and motivated team of professional war fighters. Chris Kyle tells the story as a humble man would, with no extra dramatics. Here is a man who went to war based on his personal belief in God and the upbringing he received as a boy and young man from his family. I don't see this as primarily a book about our most lethal sniper. I see this as a book about a patriot who chose to serve his fellow countrymen and in so doing, happened to kill more enemy than any other sniper has had opportunity to kill. This story is as much about the other SEALs and Marines he served with as it is about Chris. As a US Marine myself, I appreciate knowing there were men like Chris on overwatch. The thoughts shared by his wife Taya are profound and insightful into the stresses of military marriage.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Unreadable

    Very little about combat missions or thought processes of a navy seal sniper. This book is basically a navy seal complaining about his bosses and telling stories of times he and his buddies did crazy stuff. I can hear that at my own job. Do not buy.

    15 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Horrible

    This was worse than Marcus Luttell's book. Something I did not think possible. I can't believe I spent the money for it.

    15 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    A must read for any true Patriot.

    This book is not only about Chris Kyle and his career in the Military, but it also give you a glimpse of what life is like at home for the wives and husbands left behind.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Crap Shot!

    Poorly written - sophomoric & self indulgent.

    14 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    What a pity that such an interesting story was so poorly written

    What a pity that such an interesting story was so poorly written and with so much faux humility. This guy loves being a "bad ass" and it shows. Fine, but don't pretend humility! Having served two tours in Vietnam, I know your type well. Why didn't you tell your story to a real war story author and let your account of things be presented in a professional manner, worthy of our military and the brave men in it.

    12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Straight from a SEAL this narrative has a hardcore tone and "legit" experiences. If Lone Survivor appealed to you then this book will definitely mean something to you!

    The story is a military original and allows one to get a peek at what the mindset of a warrior must be. The overall book is an A+. Certain aspects could be elaborated on, but it doesnt affect the meaning and power what the author is trying to get across. ---

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Pass on it!

    I am a fan of good military non-fiction but this is, unfortunately, a poorly written book. Also, it dispels the noble warrior image and shows someone who merely likes killing "savages" and staying in the military long past when he needs to dispute the demands of a family at home. If it weren't for the money going to a good cause I would have seen if I could return this book after the first few chapters. I didn't even finish, I think I had a couple chapters to go but couldn't justify wasting my time on this book when there are much better books out there.

    10 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    OK book

    I enjoy reading sniper and special operations books and I realize that the authors aren't writers they're warriors but I expected more from the this book. This guy is one tough man and I respect what he did for his country but he could have gone into more detail about training and missions. Maybe he went into all the detail that he was allowed, who knows. The book is worth reading and I will read it again. Just my two cents.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 821 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42