Customer Reviews for

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History

Average Rating 4.5
( 814 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(508)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

126 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

If you're starting to lose faith in America, read this book! Your faith will be restored.

If you enjoyed Marcus Luttrell's 'Lone Survivor' you must read this book. Chris Kyle reminds us of just how much American fighters can accomplish with the right amount of training, hard work, attitude and appreciation of the freedoms that we all used to hold dear.
...
If you enjoyed Marcus Luttrell's 'Lone Survivor' you must read this book. Chris Kyle reminds us of just how much American fighters can accomplish with the right amount of training, hard work, attitude and appreciation of the freedoms that we all used to hold dear.
Does his super-sized ego show? Can you feel his frustration at the higher-ups, lawyers and politicians in charge? Does he feel like he could have accomplished even more under better leadership? Yes, yes and Yes. In my opinion, Chris and his fellow SEALs have earned the right to these opinions. I've always thought that there's nothing wrong with a little arrogance, as long as you have the talent and accomplishments to back it up. To paraphrase one of my favorite presidents: "Most of us go to bed at night and wonder what we accomplished all day, SEALs don't have that problem."
From cover to cover, this book will always rank at the top of my list of best non-fiction books.
I, too am amazed at the review by Snail59. As a 57 year old, 12 year US Navy veteran, I have never in my life heard anything but praise from any sailor, airman, or marine as far as the SEALs are concerned. I just can't grasp where you are coming from.


WARNING to all Progressives and ultra-liberals: DO NOT BORROW, BUY or PREVIEW THIS BOOK! You will experience increased blood pressure, severe headaches, occasional bouts of nausea and broken bones from fist pounding on hard surfaces.

posted by vacshop on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

It's Not His Job to Write...

...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While he...
...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While her input is at odd moments and rarely matches what Chris Kyle is talking about at the same time, it's still welcome to see her side of a story.

The writing itself is pretty hacked. Short sentences and short paragraphs. Towards the end of the book, more and more Navy/Military terms are used and - even as a vet myself - it started getting difficult to remember what acronym meant what. But again - it's not Mr. Kyle's job to write and he did an amazing job getting his story across.

posted by 9964395 on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    What a pity that such an interesting story was so poorly written

    What a pity that such an interesting story was so poorly written and with so much faux humility. This guy loves being a "bad ass" and it shows. Fine, but don't pretend humility! Having served two tours in Vietnam, I know your type well. Why didn't you tell your story to a real war story author and let your account of things be presented in a professional manner, worthy of our military and the brave men in it.

    12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Depends

    Politics aside this book was written at a sixth grade level. It's an important story but it is difficult to believe any part of it. It is adolescent. It denigrates the service of all of us who have served. Read, "The Good Soldiers" but skip this one. Service is praise worthy but his kind of writing is not. This sounds more like a politician claiming to have accomplished important things in such a manner as to leave you wondering whether or not any of it was true.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    ok book

    while i can appreciate what all our service men and women in all branches of the military go tru for this country and what their families go tru it is hard to understand why someone would like to brag about how many people he killed like notches on a six gun of a gunfighter of the old west it is war and a lot of people from other wars such as ww2,korea,or viet nam dont care to brag or boast of what they went tru or did but it showes this war is truly a different war. also why so many refrances to yankees arnt we all americans united not north or south or east or west.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Poory written, not easy to read.

    This was a book I had to force myself to finish. I found it poorly written and didn't hold my interest. I am an active duty military member and I thank Mr. Kyle for his service but please, don't write any more books.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    good read

    This was a interesting story if you are interested in the types of weapons that the author used in battle. If you are not interested in weapons it might be a dull read.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoy special ops books and thought I would love this one. Kyl

    I enjoy special ops books and thought I would love this one. Kyle's accomplishments are amazing and no one questions his love for this country or what he did for us. However, the book is boring and self-indulgent too often. Missions and training are covered in a few short sentences and we are treated to long winded passages complaining about his bosses or "politics" as he likes to refer to it.

    Some readers may enjoy the inserts of his wife's thoughts, but personally I found them boring and also very vain.

    If you want to read a GREAT book on SEALs, check out The Red Circle by Brandon Webb.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    overrated

    This should of been named "himself" I thank him for his service but nothing special. He may of known Carlos the marine sniper from the Vietnam war but he is no CARLOS.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Must Read? Not so much...

    Poorly written. This book did not hold my attention, and I had to force myself to finish it. A lot of "chest thumping" as previously stated. Mr. Kyle certainly isn't humble, which really takes away from his story. I regret spending my money on this book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    Did not care much for this book.

    Just did not care much for the book, after the first couple of mentions of bar fights, choking outs, etc. that was enough but the subjects and incidents seemed to keep coming up.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Don't waste the time

    Despite appearances this is NOT a compelling or inside look at the life of a SEAL. The writing is basic at best, the story choppy, some inside jokes are left hanging because the context is incomplete and the reader is not brought in.

    Lots of Mom, Apple-Pie, and patriotism - but little substance. Kyle is "All hat and no cattle" as they say in Texas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Pretty arrogant writing, decent material

    Good story line, pretty easy to read, but written from an extremely arrogant point of view. Feel like this guy will come and bust my face in just for not giving him a 5 star review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Sorry, I found this book one-dimensional.  Although Chris Kyle d

    Sorry, I found this book one-dimensional.  Although Chris Kyle does a lot of ‘disclalimers” - as in, “Ah shucks,
    “I’m just a good old  boy” and I was just lucky, but then goes on to mention that he IS the biggest, baddest 
    sniper of them all.  
    He does give a great inside view on how the Navy Seal’s work. Training, working with other units in the Army etf
    give a good “Gee, I never knew that before.”  But overall hes treatment of his wife and family really turned
    me off to his narcissistic personsality.  Again, it’s  a good read, but got tired of reading about
    his bar fights and other exploits of being a macho Seal. Post Note;
    was sorry to see that sadly was gunned by a fellow marine and his home shooting range.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I found myself wondering about the "body count" which

    I found myself wondering about the "body count" which seemed to become an obsession. There was a moment in the book when Chris actually spoke of the competive nature he had to accumulate more kills than another sniper. That bothered me somewhat, and made me mistrust that all his kills were legit by SEAL standards. The book was a tough read for me; way too elementary and rushed to a conclusion. Not horrible however.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good story

    Unfortunately it reads like it was written by an amateur. Didn't he have help?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Just a So-So Read

    I am a big supporter of our military. I am certainly sorry Mr. Kyle was murdered, and I feel bad for his family. But a couple of things about this book bothered me. First, when will Texans get over this impression that those of us who are not Texans care anything about how great other Texans are and how great a Texas upbringing is. Who cares? And Mr. Kyle had loads of this attitude in the book. Secondly, I understand the need for the "warrior mentality" and appreciate the success it has brought our military men & women. It just seems to me that Mr. Kyle enjoyed killing just a little too much. I am glad we have warriors like Mr. Kyle. They have sacrificed more than we can imagine. This book just left me uncomfortable about some of the mind-set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Cy

    Cg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Tom

    I bought this book expecting more from the cowriters. They unfortunately did not do any favors for Chris Kyle. What should have been compelling subject matter turned into a very dry, monotonous rehashing ofstories that ended up blending into each other. There is insight into the modern combat experience, but it gets lost in the minutae.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Excellent Read

    Great insight into what it was like in the SEAL's during the Iraq war. Read cover to cover in two days, written like a thriller, a real page turner. Not just a book about laying on his stomach sniping or hours crawling into position. A very proactive sniper who gets right into the thick of it, even down on the ground building clearing, like he shouldn't have been according to his actual seal role.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great book! It left me wanting to read more. I have recommended it to several friends.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2