Customer Reviews for

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History

Average Rating 4.5
( 815 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(509)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

127 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

If you're starting to lose faith in America, read this book! Your faith will be restored.

If you enjoyed Marcus Luttrell's 'Lone Survivor' you must read this book. Chris Kyle reminds us of just how much American fighters can accomplish with the right amount of training, hard work, attitude and appreciation of the freedoms that we all used to hold dear.
...
If you enjoyed Marcus Luttrell's 'Lone Survivor' you must read this book. Chris Kyle reminds us of just how much American fighters can accomplish with the right amount of training, hard work, attitude and appreciation of the freedoms that we all used to hold dear.
Does his super-sized ego show? Can you feel his frustration at the higher-ups, lawyers and politicians in charge? Does he feel like he could have accomplished even more under better leadership? Yes, yes and Yes. In my opinion, Chris and his fellow SEALs have earned the right to these opinions. I've always thought that there's nothing wrong with a little arrogance, as long as you have the talent and accomplishments to back it up. To paraphrase one of my favorite presidents: "Most of us go to bed at night and wonder what we accomplished all day, SEALs don't have that problem."
From cover to cover, this book will always rank at the top of my list of best non-fiction books.
I, too am amazed at the review by Snail59. As a 57 year old, 12 year US Navy veteran, I have never in my life heard anything but praise from any sailor, airman, or marine as far as the SEALs are concerned. I just can't grasp where you are coming from.


WARNING to all Progressives and ultra-liberals: DO NOT BORROW, BUY or PREVIEW THIS BOOK! You will experience increased blood pressure, severe headaches, occasional bouts of nausea and broken bones from fist pounding on hard surfaces.

posted by vacshop on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

It's Not His Job to Write...

...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While he...
...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While her input is at odd moments and rarely matches what Chris Kyle is talking about at the same time, it's still welcome to see her side of a story.

The writing itself is pretty hacked. Short sentences and short paragraphs. Towards the end of the book, more and more Navy/Military terms are used and - even as a vet myself - it started getting difficult to remember what acronym meant what. But again - it's not Mr. Kyle's job to write and he did an amazing job getting his story across.

posted by 9964395 on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    It's Not His Job to Write...

    ...and it shows. But with that in mind, it's a pretty insightful book. He not only talks about what he did in the Middle East, but also how his job affected his marriage and his relationship with his kids. Even his wife spoke (wrote) her mind from time to time. While her input is at odd moments and rarely matches what Chris Kyle is talking about at the same time, it's still welcome to see her side of a story.

    The writing itself is pretty hacked. Short sentences and short paragraphs. Towards the end of the book, more and more Navy/Military terms are used and - even as a vet myself - it started getting difficult to remember what acronym meant what. But again - it's not Mr. Kyle's job to write and he did an amazing job getting his story across.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    OK book

    I enjoy reading sniper and special operations books and I realize that the authors aren't writers they're warriors but I expected more from the this book. This guy is one tough man and I respect what he did for his country but he could have gone into more detail about training and missions. Maybe he went into all the detail that he was allowed, who knows. The book is worth reading and I will read it again. Just my two cents.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great warrior not so great book

    Great warrior not so great book

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Decent read but not what I expected.

    First and foremost I thank the author for his years of service and sacrifice. I was never in the service but I have plenty of friends and relatives that have been including my dad who was in the US Air Force in Viet Nam. To all service people thank you!

    While this book was based on something that I find incredibly fascinating, snipers and SEALS, and didn’t disappoint but I did would like to have been given a little more information on declassified procedures etc., other than what was given. This is my first ever auto biography that I have read so I didn’t really know what to expect.

    HOWEVER! What I didn’t expect at all and what was more gratifying was the fact that the author put a human spin on things and gave you the perspective of what he, his family and friends went through because of his enlistments and deployments. The perspectives from his wife were great also.

    In short if you’re looking for a technical how too manual of sniping and a list of kills, missions etc., this is not the book for you. But if you’re looking for a book that will let you glimpse inside the mind of one of the best that the USA has to offer then this is your deal!

    I would also HIGHLY recommend reading “Act of Valor” by Dick Couch! It’s a great story and it will make the most steeled man shed a tear at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    OK read

    Simplistic style, easy read. Informative book about seal life. No picnic - Lifestyle not for everyone. My take is these "men" haven't matured as individuals, and like to hurt or kill people with the excuse it's for the country they love. Choking out people and beating the crap out of newbies as a hazing ritual is stupid. I am not denigrating the military which I respect highly. They do a difficult necessary job.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Good Story but Vague

    First of all, God BLess Chris Kyle and his service to our Nation. The story was good, but I wish he did not pass it thru military censors before he published. I know he had to do this, but it makes the story a series of events instead of a journey. I especially liked his wife's comments as he progressess thru his Seal Adventure. HE sees himself as a Famous Sniper, but most people dont know what Seals do and their work is very shadowy to the public. Seals have a perception that they are superb fighters and mentally tough as steel. IT is well earned. I wish he would have gone into more detail about his bar fights with him and his buddies. I like the details about his weaponry and combat take on that weaponry. HE really needs to write another book about what it felt like to Enter Seal training and the adventures from then on. Kinda like a movie of a man who trains to be the best and the consequences of that path in life. Also there was no mention of Seal Switchblade knives or the one man Seal Helicopter, rumored to exist. He has 250 kills to his credit. I have the highest respect for this man and his service, BUT- Killing a ragtag insurgent holding a weapon, is not like Dwayne Hathcock or Zaitsev at Stalingrad. It just is not. In my opinion. That being said, This Mans life would make a great movie, with the right script. It has bravado, girls, guns, hazing, shooting, fighting, training , and a Kick-Ass Hero. I hope he writes another book and it was one of the best sniper books I have read. Look me up Kyle, if you need a script. I will make you famous....

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Difficult Read

    I am not used to reading this type of Autobiography. This story is very technical. I worked my way thru it slowly to try and get a feeling for Chris Kyle, but he withholds his feelings and walks the reader thru military weapons and military situations without taking the reader thru any drama or attachment to his involvment. Rather clinical.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Very good read

    This is not a history lesson but the thinking of one man and how he perceives the war and his role. He admits that he tells it with little detail as some of his friends have noted. Even so it is worth the time to read to add to your perceptions of this limited vision. No single GI see's the "BIG PICTURE" only what is in front of him and his experiences. As a former Law Enforcement sniper I would have liked a little more "dope" on distance, hold offs etc. But that's not his style. What is his style is a gritty picture of his day to day existence and I particularly liked his wife's insight. Thank you for sharing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Everyone should read this book if they are looking for a book ab

    Everyone should read this book if they are looking for a book about stories about real encounters in the 
    war in Iraq. He tells of what goes into being a SEAL. You will see the first person point of view of war. 
    It is an exciting thrill of the different firefights that go on during his deployments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Not recommended.

    I expected more of the author. He came across as someone I would not have liked. I am sorry about the way he died though. He was too in love with war and reveled in it. I thought he neglected his family far too much. Had to go off and play war. No thought to the possibility he might be killing innocents. Book was OK. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Not an in depth book at all

    This is a book about how he got where he is but not much analysis of why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Read for a suprise

    I am a sniper in nerf games and i killed the whole 12 enemy kids' from onther neighbohood. The leader of or team promoted me to general of sniper!pretty sweet right?i was hiding in a tree and here come two enemies hideing in the brush under the tree well i wipped out my pistol let 'em have(sniper tip always change positoins after fireig a few shots)well then i moved over to a bush i saw the leadeer on a bike leading the attack !then i saw they got our machine gunner so i jumped on and let all heck loose killing em all and that finished our nerf war .of course we had more the fowleing days !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Decent read

    Did not like the additional commentary from his wife which i found spoiled the flow of his narrative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    aberry1282@yahoo

    Add me as nook friend

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Recommend - if you like real life stories of Vets.

    I was hoping it would be as good as Lone Survivor by Marcus Lutrell din't hit that mark but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Interesting Read

    Interesting story, and Mr. Kyle is very authentic. Even if you don't like some of what he has to say, you have to appreciate his unapolegtic attitude and his unrelenting dedication to his job and his team. Some of his story is disturbing, however, he was very brave, and possessed many qualities that make him a great warrior and patriot of the US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Good but a lot of language

    Not quite up there with Lone Survivor for my taste. I respected his honesty as far as how he felt about targets, what was important to him and some government processes, but there was a lot of language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Alissa olive

    I am at my house and i am texing you and i am so so bord alissa and later i will tex youin a bit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    For the die-hard military reader.

    Good insight to training, however, the stories of deployments got to be repetitious without a purpose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Hero

    I liked the book, wish him well he sounds like he saw and did too much and now like so many others can not fit back into society. What a shame since he served us so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4