Customer Reviews for

American Sniper (Enhanced Edition): The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History

Average Rating 3.5
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Wiilsonn

The book is a must read very good book. The only thing i could not get the entire photos on my nook color.

posted by mrwilson on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Sloppy

I'm a medically retired Marine with over 10 years of active duty service. Formost, I appreciate and respect Chris Kyle's service.
I Saw a lot of hype for this book so I checked out the sample which I enjoyed, unfortunately, the book seems to get progressively sloppier a...
I'm a medically retired Marine with over 10 years of active duty service. Formost, I appreciate and respect Chris Kyle's service.
I Saw a lot of hype for this book so I checked out the sample which I enjoyed, unfortunately, the book seems to get progressively sloppier as it goes on. Much of the material seems really jumbled, and does not flow well from chapter to chapter. I understand that Kyle is a Warrior and not a writer, and I understand that it's more of a collection of memories than storytelling, however the way it's written might leave you scratching your head sometimes.
There's an awful lot of ego and chest thumping, a lot of times it's overt, and sometimes you can only see it between the lines. This of course is understandable as well. It's the nature of the beast, but one can only stand so many pages of it before it detracts from the rest of the story. This along with other technical details, at times, makes me question the accuracy of some of the material. But, who wouldn't want to "Hollywood" up their own story?
The material written by his wife, and the parts concerning how he dealt with his marriage and becoming a father seemed really out of place and awkward, but that's really how it is. It's often a dual life for military members. But in a story that's already suffering from organization and editing issues, the family stuff just compounds it further.
I wish I would have paid closer attention to the negative reviews before dropping 13 bones on the enhanced edition since I see some of the same gripes from them as well.
I think this story might whet a lot of young naive appetites, or those of armchair wannabes. It definitely portrays a "Shootem up" "Call of Duty-esque" outlook on combat and warfare in general.

posted by 1396917 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Wiilsonn

    The book is a must read very good book. The only thing i could not get the entire photos on my nook color.

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    I recommend this to everyone!

    I thought this would be an interesting read but never expected it to be such a great book and story. This is an autobiography and a story, a history lesson, window into the battles in Iraq, a non-political view of the Iraqi war, and more. It is written as shorter stories and accounts of this special man's experiences defending friends, servicemen, and solders. Not that he is any more special than any other person serving in the military, as he himself will attest, but he is a hero all the same. I recommend this to anyone regardless of your political leanings or beliefs because it tells a very real story of how this part of the world is, not just how we would like it or wish it to be. It is very easy to read which is good because you won't want to put it down.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Thank you Chief

    RIP. There are many Marines alive today because of who you are.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended -

    This is one of the better military books I've read. If you want to really feel what it's like to be in the battle zone in Iraq or even think you know what it's all about in Afghanistan, you must read this account. I felt as though I walked through the dirty towns myself, rifle in hand. Chris Kyle is brutally honest about his chosen career and his struggles with family life. No long drawn out stories about Navy Seal training. Just enough to give you the gist. I am in awe of our Special Ops soldiers and their abilities and their love for what they do. At times it's hard to like Chris because as a grandmother I think he should put family first.But, as a woman who honors the military way of life and who wishes she could serve, I understand. His wife is to be congratulated for sticking through. This is a fast, honest and hard hitting book. I understand Iraq so much better and see that it is not always as portrayed on the news. God Bless Chris and his band of brothers in the past, now and in the future. This is my daily prayer.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    OutSTANDing

    Couldn't put it down. A gritty, emotional, sometimes humorous, and honest look at war from a guy that went there with the clear intent of making the other side die for their cause. He did just that, and did it extremely well.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Just bought the book so

    I see some of you folks have problems with the down and dirty type. These boys don't play by PC rules and if they talk sh,t about doing their job they earned it. I am just glad we have some real men left to do the dirty work no thanks any of you PC wuss boys. So I give it 5 stars just because you don't like. Did read half a chapter at Sams, some good sh,t!

    Meaux

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good book

    I like it. The enhanced edition is cool too.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Yes

    So upset when i finished the book. Never wanted to stop reading. I would be tthrilled to shake chris kyles hand. What a true patriot. God bless our troops!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Excellent Reading

    This book had me entrigued by how Chris Kyle saw things that most people would be in shock. Excellent and vivid accounts that most of us in the military can relate. Dark events in history but with a twist of humor to it from his point of view.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Murderer!? Are you figgin kidding me!?

    I haven't even read the book yet, but I'm sure I'll love it. To call ANY of our military murderers is offensive and ignorant. We were, and still are, at war. Our soldiers aren't murderers....they are what stands between the real murderers and every American. To all of them I say thank you and keep up the good work!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Me

    This book was absolutly amazing he tells the was as it was and didnt spend any time pattung himself on the back great book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Really cool

    This is a really cool book and well written. Thanks for your service chris

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book written well by author and wife of their experiences on and off the battlefield. How family deals with war and the mentality of a true warrior is revealed. Thank you Chris and Taya for your service to our country!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    American Heros.. Chris Kyle gives us a great insight to what lif

    American Heros..
    Chris Kyle gives us a great insight to what life in the SEALs was like. It started out with his life back in Texas where he was just another cowboy who broke in horses, rode bulls, and worked as a ranch hand. He went from being just another country boy to being a sniper in the SEALs he took us through the training and the beatings he endured to get to where he was. I would recommend this book to anyone. This book gives you a great insight to what the boys who fight for this country go through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    I thought it was an amazingly well thought out manuscript. Not o

    I thought it was an amazingly well thought out manuscript. Not only was Mr. Kyle honest in his feelings he expressed his feelings and thoughts on becoming a seal, husband and father. Taya I loved the insight you gave as a military wife. When we are thanking our men and women in uniform we forget to include our thanks to the families who have given so much. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    An AMAZING Read!!!

    I LOVED this book! As someone who does not usually like autobio's I was unable to put this book down. Chief Chris Kyle is a true American Hero. His story is incredible and very well told and written. It's written in a way that sucks you in to the point where you feel like you're actually there. Interlaced with the dramatic and intense situations that he writes about are bits of humor that actually made me laugh aloud. I read the whole book through without stopping and have reread it twice more since. I give this book 5 stars and recommend it to everyone! Chief Kyle is very open and honest about his emotions and feelings in regards to being a sniper and he is also very open about his personal life. His wife also contributed a few stories as well so you are able to see inside their relationship and marriage! All in all, this is a great book and I believe that anyone who reads it will have a better understanding of what it's like to be a soldier.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read for Military lovers

    A must read for those who are interested in knowing what has happened in the current wars the our nation has been in.
    Chris Kyle does a great job giving an insight in what the Navy Seals accomplished in these current wars.
    Great details and smooth quick read for anyone loving stuff about the military.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    GreatRead

    Interesting peek into the life and action of a U.S. sniper

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Absolutely Amazing

    I couldn't put the book down! Thank you for sharing your battles both on the field as well as off. You have given great insight to the sacrafices that all military give during war.
    Thank you Taya for sharing your feelings as well as allowing people to see how you had sacrafices with the biggest one being your husband.
    Best of luck to all of you! Simply put this book ROCKS just like both of you!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Amazing

    Not only an amazing book but an amazing man as well

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6