BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

American VI: Ain't No Grave

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    American VI : Ain't No Grave by Johnny Cash

    My Mom loves her John Cash CD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    American VI: Ain't No Grave

    This is Johnny Cash's last recording before he died. It is a very moving album for me to hear as I have listened to him from the start of his career to this last recording.

    I strongly recommend this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The last Songs by an Country Icon

    This was the most meaningful album I have ever heard. You can almost hear the Sadness of Mr Cash having lost his wife and his soon departure to join her. I have listened over and over again to this truly great Cd. I highly recommend it, The feeling he puts into these songs is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cash Album

    Like the other albums in this series, the music in this one is soul reaching. It is about a fact of life, death. And only Johnny Cash could put his own touch on this. It is well done and a master piece of music that will live on through generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't be fooled by the fact that Johnny Cash died in 2003. This album is definitely not an attempt to draw profits from culled recordings of the past.

    As the title indicates, this is the sixth installment of a collaboration between Johnny Cash and producer Rick Rubin. As he has demonstrated in the past, Mr. Cash has a way of taking songs of others and adding his own feel to them. Adding to the covers is Cash's original, 1 Corinthians 15:55, a statement of his faith and conviction, composed from a two sentence Bible verse.

    For those looking for Johnny Cash songs in the vein of Folsom Prison Blues, I Walk the Line, or Get Rhythm, they should probably look for an anthology or greatest hits album, but if they limit themselves to this it will be their loss. For those more familiar with his later work, they will be very pleased with this album as it does not disappoint or have any weak points (maybe a surprise or two).

    Also, not a surprise, Cash and Rubin have selected excellent musicians for accompaniment. They, along with Rubin's production, provide a great backdrop to present Cash at his finest.

    This album shows a great deal of reflection, as well as Mr. Cash's awareness of those he is leaving as well as those he has lost. A large factor in this album is Johnny Cash looking death in the eye and not backing down or walking away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "CASH"

    The last installment in the "American" recordings by Johnny Cash and produced by Rick Ruben is definitely a hit in my book. In all of these recordings Johnny is singing songs that he really wants to sing, but the last one was the best in my opinion. June died during the last session, and Johnny knew he was dying. You can tell by his voice that he's old and sick, but the feeling and the heart in these songs there are no words to describe. I was already a huge Johnny Cash fan, and to me this was the icing on the cake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Johnny Cash's Farewell Album?

    Since Johnny Cash's death in 2006, there have been two postumous albums of new material. "American VI: Ain't No Grave" is being proclaimed as the final Johnny Cash album. I don't know how true that is (Cash reportedly recorded almost a hundred songs while doing his first American Recordings album). But the songs on this brilliant record sure ring with a finality about it. Like nearly all of Cash's albums with Rick Rubin's American Recordings, the sound is low-fi, the emotions run high and there is a sense of fragility about Cash's voice and subject matters. The song selections are especially good this time---Sheryl Crow's "Redemption Day", Kris Kristofferson's "For The Good Times", Bob Nolan's "Cool Water" and even the Hawaiian standard "Aloha Oe", which heartbreakingly closes the album. However, the album's standout track is Cash's only original song: "I Corinthians 15:55"---"Oh death, where is thy sting?" Most of the material Cash had done on this record was made right after his wife, June Carter, passed away. So, these words ring more than true for the man, who would pass away just a short time later. His farewell album? Maybe. A timeless masterpiece? Definitely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1