Customer Reviews for

American Vampire

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

darkly rich humor

This was definitely a great book. It was a dark, eerie tale that was interlaced with a dark humor.

Think of it as Janet Evanovich meets Twilight Zone. I absolutely loved it.

First off, you have the hunky egotistical vampire (and no he doesn't sparkle! Huzzah f...
This was definitely a great book. It was a dark, eerie tale that was interlaced with a dark humor.

Think of it as Janet Evanovich meets Twilight Zone. I absolutely loved it.

First off, you have the hunky egotistical vampire (and no he doesn't sparkle! Huzzah for that!). Mix in a small town that no one can escape from. And top it off with a spunky woman with a hidden past that she can't hide from.

Right there, you have the recipe for a great evening. It was a very quick read that was well worth it.

So brew yourself a nice cup of tea, grab a nice blanket, and snuggle into your reading chair. You are going to be in for a great treat. You won't want to put this book down.

posted by Wakela_Runen on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Waste

of time and money.

posted by TAOinVA on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    darkly rich humor

    This was definitely a great book. It was a dark, eerie tale that was interlaced with a dark humor.

    Think of it as Janet Evanovich meets Twilight Zone. I absolutely loved it.

    First off, you have the hunky egotistical vampire (and no he doesn't sparkle! Huzzah for that!). Mix in a small town that no one can escape from. And top it off with a spunky woman with a hidden past that she can't hide from.

    Right there, you have the recipe for a great evening. It was a very quick read that was well worth it.

    So brew yourself a nice cup of tea, grab a nice blanket, and snuggle into your reading chair. You are going to be in for a great treat. You won't want to put this book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Waste

    of time and money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Great vamp novel

    I really enjoyed this book and wanted to give it five stars. I thought the characters and the story were great! However the ending left me with some questions. A fun, fast read. And it was definitely entertaining. I read it in a day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    What the Hell Happened to Jennifer Armintrout!?!

    Ok, this is my second ever review. The first review I wrote was about a totally amazing book. THIS book....is the polar opposite. She filled the pages of this book with completely unlikeable characters. There wasnt 1 redeeming quality in ANY of them. The plot was different and could have been a really great story, but she didnt take the time to develop any of the characters or the story. Background in any form just isnt there.

    Honestly, this is one of the few books I've ever read where I wish I could get not only my money back, but the time I wasted reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Loved It!!

    A touch of horror and a great romance! I love bad boys and "American Vampire" delivers. This book should be made into a HBO series like "True Blood." I read this book so quickly - I couldn't put it down! I was upset when it ended and hope that Jennifer Armintrout writes some more like this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    readers will enjoy the tale of an American Vampire trapped in the Heartland

    Somewhere in Ohio, Graf McDonald is on his way to a party, but in spite of GPS he is totally lost. Smoking a cigarette, the vampire sees a light and heads to it. When no one responds to his knocks he shouts at whoever is inside. Twentyish Jessa tells him to shut up and drive as It is coming.

    Graf is confused thinking maybe he entered an isolated Amish community though unsure what caused a part of a roof to fly at his car. He learns he is in Penance, Ohio as the first outsider to enter in five years as It does not allow anyone to enter or exit. Supplies are extremely low and the townsfolk are panicking. Now he cannot leave either. Though neither Graf nor Jessa trust each other, they need each other to survive; and not just from It.

    This engaging romantic horror fantasy stars a hedonistic vampire and a desperate country girl inside a town with no pity run by a monster. The lead couple is terrific as he cares not one iota about others except as a blood bank or a place to hide from the sun; thus his transformation to caring in love feels off kilter and detracts from his self-indulgence. On the other hand Jennifer Armintrout cleverly reveals clues about It over the course of the story line that has readers wanting to know what it is. Although the romantic subplot feels more like a sub-genre requirement, readers will enjoy the tale of an American Vampire trapped in the Heartland.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Great dialogue and a vampire unlike others out there

    I received a review copy of this book and really enjoyed how different it was from other vampire books I've read. The vampire hero, Graf, is not at all heroic for most of the book, nor does he have Secret Angst; he's on his way to a wild party when he's drawn into a cursed town and can't escape. I loved that he was self-centered and vain; that's how I've always imagined vampires would be. Rather than wanting to help the trapped townspeople, he just wants to leave. After he eats someone. His constant snarkiness was my favorite thing about the novel.

    The heroine, Jessa, is at the end of her rope when the novel begins, but Graf's arrival, and more especially his annoying personality, help to shake things up. As the story progresses, she and Graf begin to trust each other and to fall in love; I didn't entirely believe in their romance, and wished they'd remained adversarial; I suspect the romance might continue to develop in future stories.

    Armintrout does some clever things with the cursed town, and the reason it's cursed. That part of the story reminded me of a certain type of horror movie.

    Overall, an interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    It took me several tries to get through this very dull and overl

    It took me several tries to get through this very dull and overly long novel. The characters are crabby,
    unsympathetic, and unlikeable. The romance feels forced and out of character, especially for Graf.
    I made myself finish the book only to be rewarded with an underwhelming ending.
    (Bonnie B.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, quick read...

    This was an interesting twist on a vampire novel; it had some fun quirks and was a pretty quick read. I'd recommend to anyone who likes vampire stories and just wants to read for fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read, but not spectacular.

    This book often made me laugh. You have your reluctant hero in Graf, a city-slicker vampire who's lost his way because his GPS is defunct and he ends up in a creepy, backwoods Ohio town, the likes of which, hasn't seen a moving vehicle in, oh, say five years. You also have a piss-and-vinegar heroine, Jessa, who's in her mid-20s and the "other woman" in her ex-boyfriend, Derek's, marriage.

    And then you have It. The demon beast holding the town captive and terrorizing the citizens.

    The dialogue between Graf and Jessa is often amusing. The townpeople reminded me eerily of one of those creepy small-town movies by Stephen King (you know the kind, with pitch-forks, torches and eyes that are glazed over?). The plot felt a bit mish-mashed. It often took a turn I didn't expect (not in a good way) and I thought it was a little far-fetched. The ending was abrupt; I expected more out of it, so I was a bit disappointed there.

    But overall, a good read and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys vampire fiction with a healthy dose of humor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Interesting and orginal, horror at it's most original

    Though this novel might be cast as Paranormal Romance, it has more of a backbone in horror. The plot is interesting, a town cut off from the outside world cursed to let supserstition and fear rule. Without a doubt the mystery surrounding the creature stalking the trapped inhabitants and the source of what caused their troubles to begin is definitely a premise that will have you reading late into the night. Truly this is novel shows the wonderful writing ability of Armintrout as she does a lot with such a little setting. The characters and the meager social structure adds a nice sense of suspense and urgency to the story. While the characters can be a little more antagonistic then needed, bordering on annoying at times in fact, this is still an interesting and unusual read that I really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2