Customer Reviews for

American Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Torn about this one...

While I gave the book 4 stars, I am still perplexed in how I should feel about it. If it were just a story, completely made up, not about a recent First Lady, I would say that I really enjoyed the book. But because I know this book is loosely based on the life of Laura ...
While I gave the book 4 stars, I am still perplexed in how I should feel about it. If it were just a story, completely made up, not about a recent First Lady, I would say that I really enjoyed the book. But because I know this book is loosely based on the life of Laura Bush, I felt like I was trespassing into her life, without actually really knowing the facts. This is not "historical fiction" in the same way a retelling of the life of say, Anne Boleyn is, where Anne is still the main character. Alice is not Laura, and yet she is. I almost feel like I should now go read something about Laura Bush to separate the fact from fiction. I don't want the decisions or actions that Alice took in the book to reflect how my opinion on Laura Bush is formed, as I don't know really what is true and what is not. I know the big things, but when it comes to the intimate details, how can I judge? I think this is a tricky thing to write. I don't think this book is not worth reading, I think it is, I am just wary about how this reflects on the former First Lady and I am hoping that peoples opinions of her are not characterized by this book. Even though it IS fiction, that does not mean it is not powerful in what it is portraying. A good read still.

posted by blue2280 on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Cheap Shot!

After reading less than 100 pages of this so-called work of fiction I have no desire to finish it. What a cheap shot this author takes at Laura Bush. I find the book disrespectful and uncalled for. The author has taken the liberty of adding a disclaimer at the beginning...
After reading less than 100 pages of this so-called work of fiction I have no desire to finish it. What a cheap shot this author takes at Laura Bush. I find the book disrespectful and uncalled for. The author has taken the liberty of adding a disclaimer at the beginning of the book as if the disclaimer makes this insulting and disgustingly sexually explicit book acceptable... not in my book. If you want to write fiction, then write fiction, but to add such a trashy element to a story that so closely mirrors the life of a former first lady is unacceptable.

posted by 1595797 on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Cheap Shot!

    After reading less than 100 pages of this so-called work of fiction I have no desire to finish it. What a cheap shot this author takes at Laura Bush. I find the book disrespectful and uncalled for. The author has taken the liberty of adding a disclaimer at the beginning of the book as if the disclaimer makes this insulting and disgustingly sexually explicit book acceptable... not in my book. If you want to write fiction, then write fiction, but to add such a trashy element to a story that so closely mirrors the life of a former first lady is unacceptable.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't waste your money!

    I was duped when I bought this book. It's neither fact nor fiction. It is a left wing view of the G.W. Bush family. If you are a Bush basher, by all means buy it. It portrays the former President as a drunk and inept husband and political person. His wife is supposedly the only intellectual part of the marriage. It is not a keeper for my permanent library.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected.

    This one started out as an entertaining read fairly quickly for me but has kind of fizzled and I'm only around page 160. At this point I really have no desire to read further and I can't figure out why. It could be that I'm somewhat aware of how the story will continue (no mystery), or that it's starting to show a modicum of dullness, or that I'm finding it a little bit disrespectful. At any rate, I'm going to abandon it. I'm not willing to take this ride for 500+ pages.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Cheap Trash

    I read about 80 pages of this book and it was cheap trash. The book showed no respect for the main character, former First Lady. What did I expect from a Liberal writer!

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Don't bother.

    I could not bring myself to finish this book. The characters were entirely unappealing and the plot line was unimaginative. I was bored.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Very Disappointing

    I had no idea this book was based on Laura Bush when I bought it, but it didn't take long to figure that out. Unless you are a diehard Bush fan, this book is totally unappealing and tedious. The characters are unbelievable, the educated, quiet Alice falls for a man who is a functioning alcoholic, and obviously not very bright. She tolerates his foul-mouth (even around their young daughter) and supports his every move, even though she doesn't have the same beliefs as him. Please. The sexual language is really unpleasant and unnecessary (especially after you have a picture of Laura and George Bush in your mind!). How this book became a bestseller on anyone's list, is a shock.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Could not finish.

    I found it impossible not to compare the main character to Laura Bush and was so offended by the liberty taken with her life that I could not finish the book. I got half way through and could not stomach anymore. I am a supporter of the Bush family and greatly admire Mrs Bush. This seemed like a trashy way to cash in on her life without her consent by changing a few facts. A writer is certainly allowed poetic license but I think this book went way over the line of common decency and respect.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Judging a book by it's cover

    You know that old saw, don't judge a book by it's cover? This is an excellent example. The book cover is beautiful and the quality of the book is quite high. Open it up and it is pure trash. One level above bodice ripping porn. Don't buy this unless you want something that looks good on your book shelf. This book is "a pig w/lipstick on".

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    One of the worst!

    This has got to be one the worst books I've ever read. With all the detail, ad nauseaum, it could have been 150 pages. Bad!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Disappointing

    I thought the cover and the first chapter of the book was an indication of the content of the entire book. I was annoyed with the descriptions of the character's sexual activity. Is that all Sittenfeld has to write about. Save those attractive covers for an author who deserves it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Don't waste your time, this book starts with promise but is a major disappointment.

    So disappointed. I was not expecting a book that so closely mirrored the life of a fomer first lady. I enjoyed the first portion of the book but was angry at the end....I was unhappy to find the characters and the plot a poor play on past history. I would recommend not wasting your time on this read. I wish I could get my money back from this purchase. I WON'T READ THIS AUTHOR AGAIN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Appalling!

    This is one of the worst books I've ever read! This was a politically driven book; one that personally attacks our former first lady and president. I will never read or recommend another book written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Skip this book - you'll be glad you did.

    I was extremely disappointed in "American Wife". From the description and title, I thought the story would be about a First Lady and her experiences while her husband was serving as President. I was dismayed to discover that the book didn't even touch on his presidency but rather was a loosely, poorly written, THINLY veiled attack on First Lady Laura Bush.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    What is so special about this book that it costs more than any other?

    I'll pass (or go to the library). The reviews look mediocre too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    The worst piece of trash I have ever purchased!

    About 25% into this book I tossed An American Wife in the trash can which is right were it belongs. If you are looking for a mentally UNstimulating filthy read full of descriptive sex then this is the book for you. It is clearly intended to make the reader think they are following the life of the First Lady, Laura Bush, even though it is denied by the author. American Wife is a small minded trashy novel. As an avid reader and collector of an eclectic collection this is the first book of any kind I have ever destroyed.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Really Wanted to Like It, But I Didn't

    The premise of "American Wife" was what drew me to the book in the first place. It sounded like something I would have enjoyed reading, but I really didn't. I kept reading in the hopes that the book would finally have a point. Instead, the characters were tepid, the plot almost non-existent, the prose rambling, and the allusions to President and Mrs. Bush quite insulting (and I was not a huge Bush fan). It was clear that the author had a liberal political agenda. This book would have benefited greatly from aggressive editing. It was a huge disappointment and I really have no desire to read anything else written by this author. She owes an apology to all those who spent good money to purchase this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2