Customer Reviews for

American Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Torn about this one...

While I gave the book 4 stars, I am still perplexed in how I should feel about it. If it were just a story, completely made up, not about a recent First Lady, I would say that I really enjoyed the book. But because I know this book is loosely based on the life of Laura ...
While I gave the book 4 stars, I am still perplexed in how I should feel about it. If it were just a story, completely made up, not about a recent First Lady, I would say that I really enjoyed the book. But because I know this book is loosely based on the life of Laura Bush, I felt like I was trespassing into her life, without actually really knowing the facts. This is not "historical fiction" in the same way a retelling of the life of say, Anne Boleyn is, where Anne is still the main character. Alice is not Laura, and yet she is. I almost feel like I should now go read something about Laura Bush to separate the fact from fiction. I don't want the decisions or actions that Alice took in the book to reflect how my opinion on Laura Bush is formed, as I don't know really what is true and what is not. I know the big things, but when it comes to the intimate details, how can I judge? I think this is a tricky thing to write. I don't think this book is not worth reading, I think it is, I am just wary about how this reflects on the former First Lady and I am hoping that peoples opinions of her are not characterized by this book. Even though it IS fiction, that does not mean it is not powerful in what it is portraying. A good read still.

posted by blue2280 on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Cheap Shot!

After reading less than 100 pages of this so-called work of fiction I have no desire to finish it. What a cheap shot this author takes at Laura Bush. I find the book disrespectful and uncalled for. The author has taken the liberty of adding a disclaimer at the beginning...
After reading less than 100 pages of this so-called work of fiction I have no desire to finish it. What a cheap shot this author takes at Laura Bush. I find the book disrespectful and uncalled for. The author has taken the liberty of adding a disclaimer at the beginning of the book as if the disclaimer makes this insulting and disgustingly sexually explicit book acceptable... not in my book. If you want to write fiction, then write fiction, but to add such a trashy element to a story that so closely mirrors the life of a former first lady is unacceptable.

posted by 1595797 on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Easy read & thought-provoking

    Originally, I thought "Why in the world would I want to read a fictionalized account of Laura Bush and husband?" but then it was recommended to me so I gave it a try. While there were certainly familiar biographical landmarks (car accident, short career as a school librarian, elite summer compound, mother-in-law from hell, etc.), I found that the book raised more philosophical questions for me. Such as: Is a good sex life important enough to sacrifice one's values and beliefs? Is love? How did such an idiot actually become President of the United States?
    And: What would it be like to have a child who adopts values that are an anathema to you by virtue of emulating her father? What would it be like to be the man who sexually abased the future First Lady? The book is not a classic but it made for an interesting read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Oh my gosh!

    The good news is this author is very good. She writes beautifully. Unfortunately the story is a soap opera based on Laura Bush. I think it's wrong to do this kind of writing. Seems almost like slander. It's based on a real person and some real events but the poetic license is way out there. Good writing...questionable book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A couple of years ago Curtis Sittenfeld wrote a novel the Americ

    A couple of years ago Curtis Sittenfeld wrote a novel the American Wife. It is based loosely off of Laura Bush and her husband. I had the opportunity to meet the author in the past. So, I then greatly anticipate sharing one of their books with you.
    Synopsis:
    Alice Lendgren is not your typical wife. Why? It is simple she is the wife of the president of the United States. Her husband is Charlie Blackwell. He is a member of the famous Blackwell family. How did Alice become a member? It all begins in a small town in Wisconsin. Where a tragic event takes place in her youth that changes her future. This tragic event impacts many around Alice in the small town of Riley Wisconsin. So she leaves to go to college in Madison and persue a career as a teacher. How will her choices impact her future?
    My Thoughts:
    While I was very excited to begin this novel; I lost enthusiasm towards the end. I have a difference of opinion with her political views. The story is very well written. I thought that the characters were well developed. I found some character traits questionable, but created interesting characters. I happened to listen to this novel. The narrator did an excellent job of telling the story. I found her very interesting. by Jencey Gortney/Writer'sCorner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Ok book about wi

    Seems like it is base on the life of Tommy T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    OK I understand this story is loosely based on the life of Laura

    OK
    I understand this story is loosely based on the life of Laura Bush. I read it as just a story The title intrigued me(seems to be an ongoing theme-the Wife part-in some novels that I've read,ie-The Reliable wife, The Paris Wife, etc.). The life story of Alice Lindgren Blackwell. It follows her life from youth to age approximately 61. The tragedy( a car accident that killed a friend) to being First Lady told as a perspective from her point of view. The writing was decent and it had a good flow. Not the best I've read but certainly not the worst. I don't know that I would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Torn feelings about this book

    I didn't like that this book was loosely based on Laura Bush because it was difficult to separate the main characters in this book from our former President and First Lady. I hated how similar it was to her life because it makes you as a reader judge the Bush family by this work of fiction and it made separate character development weak. The writing style is also very confusing at times. The author often went on tangents that were unnecessary or cut to different time periods in the characters life without giving notice so you had to figure out what the author was talking about. Apart from those main complaints I enjoyed reading the first part of the book. The coming of age section of her life was very captivating but the book got dull and more confusing when it got to the last part where she was the actual first lady. All together it was a decent book but not one I would read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    American Wife is fair

    While reading this story i found myself imagining the characters in such a likeness to the Bush family that it was difficult to remove any images or connection to the family throughout the book. I found the book enjoyable but with the mirroring of major events in Laura Bush's past would have been done so in more of a true biography rather than pure fiction. I did enjoy the read but at the end was on the fence as to whether it would be worth my praising it to someone else for fear they would think their time was wasted! It's an ok read, but not one that will stay on my bookshelf for very long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    "Americann Wife"

    Some accounts in the book seem pretty far-fetched. So, what is true and what isn't???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    So so read

    It was very readable which is why I gave it 3 stars. But as much as I found Charlie and Ella dispicable, I think Alice was even worse. She was complacent, had no personality and never seriously objected to any of the evil things Charlie did because he was good in bed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    American Wife

    The book was kind of wordy but you found yourself wanting to finish it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Hurtful to Laura Bush

    While the author of this novel maintains that it is a novel, the author deliberately blurs the connection between the 'real' Laura Bush and the 'fictional' Laura. Politics aside, and I am not a fan of her husband, Mrs. Bush was a gentle and compassionate First Lady. I wish that I did not have the images of Mrs. Bush that remain after reading this book. None of Mrs. Bush's actions warranted this type of treatment, and I am sorry I purchased this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    A Good Read

    If you read this book strictly as a work of ficiton then you will have a satisfying read. Good summer reading or beach book. The references to Laura Bush are obvious but the facts are not quite comparable. You can stretch many of incidents to cover a number of woman who have found thmeselves going from the secure and traditional marriages they wanted; to suddenly living in a Glass House, with no privacy and becoming First Ladies or wives of public figures. The interest is in the transition of the main characters and if you don't take this too seriously then buy or borrow it and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    A thinly veiled chronicle of George Bush

    The American Wife was not what I had anticipated. This book is basically a ficticious account of George Bush's life. I am not a Bush fan, so I found parts of the book irritating and slow. This is not a fast read and is interesting more for the current event aspect than for the shear enjoyment of reading. I wouldn't pay full price for this again, wait until you find it at a garage sale, or better yet, borrow it from a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    Disconcerting

    It would be nice if one could put Laura Bush out of your mind, as a reviewer suggested, when reading this novel. Unfortunately, that is not to be, especially with all the publicity & hype. So while I found it well written and interesting, I also found it politically motivated. Am I the only conservative who has read &/or reviewed this book? As family/spouses/friends, few of us can always get along except to "agree to disagree." Under the circumstances, I feel much more compassion for Laura and George Bush than I felt for Alice and Charlie Blackwell. So, what does this say about the author and her message?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    I agree with Ken

    If this book is about Laura Bush it is mildly interesting. Nothing really happens until the very end of the book. However the George W. character is totally believable...scarily so.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3