Customer Reviews for

Americanah

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I loved this book! It was an interesting take on the experiences

    I loved this book! It was an interesting take on the experiences of African immigrants in the US and England regarding race and class distinctions. The love story was left without closure for me but hopefully that's left for the next book! Overall a great read, definitely worth getting. 

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    As a white in rural America, I have had limited personal experie

    As a white in rural America, I have had limited personal experience with blacks except in traveling. But I have tried to understand the issues of race relations and cultural divides within our country and our world and seek ways to build bridges between the races. I have read lots of books from the perspective of other cultures, but this is the first I've read by a non-American black in America. I was amazed at the differences she noted between the Nigerian culture and the US culture in terms of how she felt as a black person. It is a work of fiction but the experiences she relates within this work are experiences she actually had to deal with when she came to America initially. Very fascinating!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Very interesting book, lots of "blog" about race in Am

    Very interesting book, lots of "blog" about race in America which was a bit much for me bur I Love that it is a true portal of life aboard for
    people from third world country and the struggle for the one raise abroad and they crisis they deal with.
    Hard to put down. Thanks Ms Adichie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Great read

    Chance to look at race and white privilege and immigration from a different perspective.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    This was a great read. As a middle-classed African American who

    This was a great read. As a middle-classed African American who works and lives in mainstream America, there were so many things I could identify with. I picked up a few things I can use in racial debates too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    Great book!! I fell in love with the modernism of the Ife's char

    Great book!! I fell in love with the modernism of the Ife's character at the beginning. It was like getting to know a new friend. Reading the pseudo blog post from Raceteenth gave the story a very personalized effect. You began to believe that Ife is not a figment of Adichie's imagination. There were times throughout the reading I found myself irritated with her choices and that made me appreciate her multi dimensional personality. Hoping for a sequel. Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie has a new reader, anxious to read her past and future works, Im sure I won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Wow! Couldn't put it down!

    I received this in the mail just before leaving for England; it was a compelling read and opened my eyes to an experience with race that I can only imagine. Her voice will continue you be an important one as we are bombarded with the current suffering in Nigeria; she was one of the "lucky ones". A cross cultural exchange in a book club would have a great appeal to me. I an going to read her other works now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    I am A 62 year old white guy...born and raised in America. My in

    I am A 62 year old white guy...born and raised in America. My inclination as it comes to race is to keep my mouth shut. What do I know of anyone else's experience. This book tells me of another's experience. And, how eye opening it is! 
    We live on a planet where anything is possible. What a joy it's been to read of all those possibilities and viewpoints. I loved this book for it's expansive teaching. I've learned a lot. I've learned, though, to keep my mouth shut....for I'm still not in a position to contribute. All I can say is, read this book and learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    wonderful book

    very interesting story that expands your understanding of some very complicated issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    This is the first book I have read by this author. Oh my gosh! L

    This is the first book I have read by this author. Oh my gosh! Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! It was a page turner. I read this book in one day my entire day off! could not put it down. The end was left to your imagination but I am hoping for a sequel. I like the fact that Ifem never did contact her hairdresser's boyfriend because of an emergency. The author could have easily addressed it but left it open which was a smart strategy because in reality that is exactly what would have happened. The negative. . too many blogs at the end of the book. I was wondering if the author had to submit a certain among of pages. Great book, well written a must have. (postedby Guyrn2)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I've read 3 of Chimamanda's books and frankly I didn't think I c

    I've read 3 of Chimamanda's books and frankly I didn't think I could be more impressed with the author than I already am. Well " Americanah" proved me wrong. It is an exceptional book. It feels like you are in the story and actually feel Ifem's experiences. I'm an non-American black myself and her references just hit home. I absolutely would recommend this book to all. It opens your eyes to so much issues we all choose to ignore just to be safe. I loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Though this is not as masterful as Half the Yellow Sun, it is st

    Though this is not as masterful as Half the Yellow Sun, it is still a book with a large, sweeping vista of landscapes and characters as Adichie follows her usually outspoken heroine from Nigeria to the United States and back again. Adichie seems to be at her best when writing conversations of groups of people; though mostly auditory in her descriptions, she creates vivid pictures for her readers. This may be an important book for many readers, as it may open up some blunt discussions of race. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Amazing Book

    I would recommend this book to everyone. It is such a great book and she is such an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Excellent anecdotes, rushed ending

    I loved the anecdotes about modern race issues in America, and the author's voice is addicting. However, I felt the ending was rushed and came together too easily for the journey the character has been on. This definitely isn't a page turner, but worth the time investment. I laughed out loud many times. Thank you Chimamanda for opening my eyes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book!  Along with that Hector's Juice!

    Wonderful Book!  Along with that Hector's Juice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2