Customer Reviews for

America's Cheapest Family Gets You Right on the Money: Your Guide to Living Better, Spending Less, and Cashing in on Your Dreams

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lots of money saving ideas.

I don't have the cheapskate gene. I am one of those people who actually get overcharged and don't notice until I'm home and it's not worth it to go back, while others are getting 90% off bargains left and right! I just don't have the talent, so I am always looking for...
I don't have the cheapskate gene. I am one of those people who actually get overcharged and don't notice until I'm home and it's not worth it to go back, while others are getting 90% off bargains left and right! I just don't have the talent, so I am always looking for ideas to shave money from my budget.

This family sets a standard that would be hard for the average person to meet on all points, but there are good ideas to incorporate into your own life. It's useful and entertaining to read.

posted by 1329347 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fairly useful!

This gave great money saving hints, just wish the book cost less so we could save money!

posted by 8137968 on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Fairly useful!

    This gave great money saving hints, just wish the book cost less so we could save money!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    OMG-what a bunch of moochers....

    I feel bad for their kids. No new clothing, and being known as moochers.
    I would resent a neighbor refusing to spend money on needed tools or a newspaper and taking or borrowing mine.... they must be so not popular among their neighbors.

    Also I believe that kids should see the world and experience culture. This is okay if you want to raise trailer trash but to have kids with couth, class and culture, forget this book. At home vacation - what cheapskates.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Lots of money saving ideas.

    I don't have the cheapskate gene. I am one of those people who actually get overcharged and don't notice until I'm home and it's not worth it to go back, while others are getting 90% off bargains left and right! I just don't have the talent, so I am always looking for ideas to shave money from my budget.

    This family sets a standard that would be hard for the average person to meet on all points, but there are good ideas to incorporate into your own life. It's useful and entertaining to read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Indeed

    I too wish we could save some money on this book...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Thank you family!!!

    I saw this family on an episode on Dr. Phil. They really inspired me to change my life. I bought book and enjoy reading it. Some of the ideas were new to me and other ideas I been doing for years. I recommend this book! Thanks Dr. PHIL!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Very good, but too Challenging for my family

    I really enjoyed the book, but even knowing that this is what another famil did. I have to be honest and say, my family and I won't be going that extreme.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Go get it at the library.

    if your to cheap to purchase it, go to the library and read it for free.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT FOR GETTING ON TRACK AGAIN

    I have only read half this book but have already come away with lots of ideas. Any one in today's economy that needs help in saving and paying bills should look into reading this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Easy to Read... works for every budget...

    I recomend this for every person that doesn't want to wade through the lingo to figure out how to live debt free!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    great book

    its worth the money if your ready to make a change

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    My Son Loves this book!

    Great for Middle scholl and High School students as well as College US History majors

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3