Customer Reviews for

The America's Test Kitchen Family Cookbook Cookware Rating Edition

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    This is the best cookbook for any, and everything ,you will need

    This is the best cookbook for any, and everything ,you will need to stock,you kitchen. Purchased it for every wedding shower I have attended for the past 3 years. I received it as a gift, and I use it EVERY time I am looking for something different or what whisk or pan I need.. Should be on the list for every young person first leaving home. GREAT GREAT cookbook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    A Cook's Must-Have!

    This book is a must-have for all cooks whether you have been cooking for one month or 40 years. It is full excellent tips to along with the fabulous recipes. Makes a great bridal shower gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    I purchased the revised edition years ago as a Christmas gift fo

    I purchased the revised edition years ago as a Christmas gift for my sister and she raved about it, the next year it was my from me to me gift. This is my go to cook book. There are great explanations from the basics to advanced. This is a great book if you are looking for more than just a recipe type cook book, so many helpful hints, how tos, and pics to help the aspiring and seasoned cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great Cookbook

    This book is very informative and has a lot of wonderful recipes. I use this book more than most of my cookbooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Recommended

    Bought this particular cookbook because my husband saw several recipes in it that he wanted to try. Both my sisterin-law and nephew have it and recommended it. We've tried several and they were not only easy to do, but with the pictures you can see what they should look like. Of course they have more challenging recipes, we haven't yet tried any of those, but the ones we have are tasty and easy to prepare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Highly recommended!!!

    This cookbook has wonderful recipes with easy directions. It explains steps and has a great substitution chart. I love it so much that I bought each of my sisters one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Every household should have one!

    America's Test Kitchen Family Cookbook is an exceptional culinary tome that is an absolute must-have for every household. Have this on hand at all times when cooking and preparing everything from simple soups to Crab Imperial to a scrumptious Coconut Layer Cake, and you will meet with success every time.

    This is not just a cookbook but a combined instruction manual and guide for the kitchen and everything that goes on there. The very first section "The Guide to Kitchen Equipment" - Cookware 101 - describes the essentials of all the latest kitchen gadgets from pots and pans to thermometers and measuring tools. In plain language, the user find out, for example, about the difference between aluminum and cast iron pans and which should be used for what. Have you ever been undecided about using wooden or plastic boards? In this section you will find out the pros and cons about both types. Read about different mixers, grills and grilling gear, how to make a foil sling for easy release of brownies, and much more.

    America's Test Kitchen is well-organized into 25 sections, each section clearly separated by large and visible tabs, starting with "A Guide to Kitchen Equipment", followed by "Appetizers", Salads", "Soups and Stews", and finishing with "Desserts", "Sauces and Condiments", and "Food Safety, Charts and Index". The Index is straightforward and logically organized.

    The recipes are easy to read and are broken down into numbered steps that make them easy to follow. All recipes also include important information, such as Serves How Many, Advance Prep Time, and How To Make Ahead.

    All recipes have been tested by the folks at America's Test Kitchen and are excellent. Colorful and appetizing pictures are provided for most of the recipes to give an immediate visual of the end result. And the immensely interesting Test Kitchen Tip feature - boxes highlighted in yellow - provides a plethora of additional tips and additional information that helps the user become an informed (and excellent) cook.

    I just bought one book each for my young adult son and daughter to provide them with the best no-nonsense reference manual/cookbook that will help them develop the culinary skills necessary to live a healthy and long life and have fun doing it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1