Customer Reviews for

America's Women: Four Hundred Years of Dolls, Drudges, Helpmates, and Heroines

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I truly thought that I would ahte this book

    It was given to me by my husbands grandma. I'm a military historian and a maritime historian, NOT a women's studies historian and so at first I balked. Why would she give me this?

    I was enthralled the moment that I opened the book.

    It opened a whole new world of history to me. Since reading this book, I've read many other books on women's history. Do not let the name scare you, men would find this book fascinating to. Its just an amazing look at America's history. As always I wish that the 60's to now had been dealt with a bit more, but when you are encompassing over two hundred years of history its hard to fit in everything.

    I also applaud Collins for attemtping to cover every color and every walk of life. Its hard to dig deeper into the slave and wage earned subconscious when there are numerous primary sources readily available for women that had plenty. She does it though, as well as investigate the relationships these women had with each other.

    All in all, this book is an absolute must read for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Shiningheart

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    History of women

    Great book to learn about women suffragists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended - for women of all ages

    Collins brings the stories of so many women to life. Too many of these names have never found their way into textbooks. Some were courageous, some were simply trying to make their way in a world that presented them with challenges unimaginable today, some struggled with choices, all were a part of the path that led to the place of women in today's America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Love this book........

    This book makes me happy to be a woman! Strong writing, extremely interesting. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    IT"S A SHAME HOW FEW OF THESE WOMEN SHOW UP IN OUR "HISTORY" BOOKS

    At least they all show up in THIS book. I was never able to schedule a Women's Studies class in college. Frankly, I started reading this book waiting to get bogged down. Ms. Collins fortunately NEVER gets bogged down. Like a film director, she knows when to change settings, characters and themes. Like a novelist, she knows when to bring key figures back into the narrative. And, like a good sociologist, she spots trends and patterns unique to the story of American women.<BR/>The book is packed with stories like that of Margaret Fuller, associate of icons as diverse as Poe and Thoreau. You learn the moving story of the Women's Air Corps; female pilots shot down towing targets for gunners to practice on. Through journals and diaries, she pieces together the stories of Civil War widows who escaped their emotional pain by becoming a very quiet epidemic of alcohol and drug abusers.<BR/>I challenge anyone to come away from this engrossing book without a deep compassion for these women, and a deeper knowledge of what being American truly means.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Now this is HERstory!

    This book was absolutely amazing! Not only was it very well written but it was witty and full of information....information that we as modern women wonder how our early sisters coped. Gail Collins is a fabulous writer who does not find it neccesary to plague one with over used words that come straight from the thesauraus. This book is original and I highly recommend it as a read for all women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    A recommended read!

    A must read for all women! Fascinating reading with anecdotal stories to humanize women thru the ages. Was on my daughter's high school reading list. Hope more young women pick this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    review from a history buff

    full of humor and wit! very informative and intresting, i was captivated and absoulutley could not put it down! I higly reccomend this book to anyone , an intersting glimpse and perspective into the history of women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    General History of Women

    A general view of women in America. The style of writing is quirky and intresting, adding life to what can appear as a dull subject. Good source for those who think women's history is boring or does not matter. Basic and general in level, but a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    Fun Book

    This is a fun book to read. Almost everyone will find something to love and hate in here. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    courageous american women

    i picked up this book at the college bookstore in Colonial Williamsburg,while on vacation. what a rich history of american women in a very readable style.well worth the investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    The BEST book I was ever required to read!

    I had to read this book for my Women, Wages & Work class. I dreaded starting it, but once I did, I found it was a great read! I learned tons of things I had never known about women and the way they lived. I would recommend this book to anyone, not just women! Collins is a very entertaining writer -- I plan to look for and read any other books she's written! Get this one and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Excellent history book!

    What a wonderful book! I couldn't put it down. So much information, I have learned so much from reading this book. It was so descriptive that I hardly put it down. I wish it was a textbook in my class when I was a history major!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    HISTORY OF WOMEN

    The book was OK. Yes, I would recommend this book to people. I am a history-like person, considering that I am old and ancient.HAHA! Well, like I said this book is OK. Have a tremendous time reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Meet America's Women

    Take a trip through time and meet America's women from the celebrated suffragist to the unknown Indian. Long after you finish the book, these brave women will linger in your heart & mind. Kudos to Collins who skillfully collapses 400 years into 400 pages. Very readable and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    An excellent read

    This book was great. It is enjoyable and keeps you wanting to learn more. There is a lot the author has to offer her readers and she does it without you feeling like you are in a history class. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    THIS BOOK IS SO FAR GOOD, I READ THE FIRST EIGHT CHAPTERS

    This book is filled with tons surpises so far and can't wait to finish it. I can't wait to see what pictures where in there. I personally think men should read this as well. Its like American Girls books and Penny Colman's Girls. I really like Miss Collins writing, I reach I could read her collums in the NY Times, my family gets it everyday. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2