BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ameritopia: The Unmaking of America

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating and Timely For Those Interested in

This book, which I'm only just getting into via Nook, has already convinced me that it is a must-read. While Levin is a real flame-throwing radio host, this book is in no way a political rant.

Levin has written a meticulous and even handed explanation of the great (...
This book, which I'm only just getting into via Nook, has already convinced me that it is a must-read. While Levin is a real flame-throwing radio host, this book is in no way a political rant.

Levin has written a meticulous and even handed explanation of the great (or not so great) philosophical influences of political thought. He begins with an overview and critique of the most influential "utopian" philosophers from Plato and his "ideal city" through Marx and the Communist Manifesto. In each case, Levin demonstrates how these governmental models end in tyranny.

Next Levin explains how the Framers of the American Constitution rejected these philosophers in favor of Locke and Montesquieu and their focus on individual liberty, private property, and equality of opportunity.

After sneaking a peak at the Epilogue, it is clear that Levin's concern is that modern American politicians reject the philosophy of liberty in favor of the philosophy of government as caretaker of all. The warning is that unless our Nation wakes up from the current misguided path, we are doomed to fail as a society. This is difficult stuff and Levin is doing an excellent job of breaking it down into language that the average reader can understand. This book is a public service.

posted by CharlieV_KC on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 209 people found this review helpful.

Another Tedious Status-Quo Conservative

Four anonymous ratings with no reviews speaks for itself. Our country is in trouble and has been since conservatives began destroying corporate regulations. Since then, our economy has collapsed, and corporations, share holders and CEOs have been rewarded with tax break...
Four anonymous ratings with no reviews speaks for itself. Our country is in trouble and has been since conservatives began destroying corporate regulations. Since then, our economy has collapsed, and corporations, share holders and CEOs have been rewarded with tax breaks for shipping our jobs overseas. Levin is just another tea party conservative trying to protect his status-quo by deflecting blame and distraction.

posted by NightButterfly on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Fascinating and Timely For Those Interested in

    This book, which I'm only just getting into via Nook, has already convinced me that it is a must-read. While Levin is a real flame-throwing radio host, this book is in no way a political rant.

    Levin has written a meticulous and even handed explanation of the great (or not so great) philosophical influences of political thought. He begins with an overview and critique of the most influential "utopian" philosophers from Plato and his "ideal city" through Marx and the Communist Manifesto. In each case, Levin demonstrates how these governmental models end in tyranny.

    Next Levin explains how the Framers of the American Constitution rejected these philosophers in favor of Locke and Montesquieu and their focus on individual liberty, private property, and equality of opportunity.

    After sneaking a peak at the Epilogue, it is clear that Levin's concern is that modern American politicians reject the philosophy of liberty in favor of the philosophy of government as caretaker of all. The warning is that unless our Nation wakes up from the current misguided path, we are doomed to fail as a society. This is difficult stuff and Levin is doing an excellent job of breaking it down into language that the average reader can understand. This book is a public service.

    63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Philosophy

    Having studied Locke, Hobbs, Rousseau and other like minded thinkers at university in the UK while all my contemporaries were studying the foes of liberty Marx, Engles, Weber and a gaggle of other euro marxists left me with a lasting love and appreciation for the philosophy behind what the founding fathers of the USA did.

    It's just a shame that many over here don't understand their brilliance and what it brought to this country and have no idea how to value what they had, and are loosing.

    Mr Levin has linked the philosophers together in a popular way to try to make these ideas understandable for those not studying political theories at degree level. No mean feat.

    As usual it it an easy read of interesting and timely material.

    52 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    a MUST read

    First; I have to say that one should consider the book that Night Butterfly DOES recommend and you'll see that she's just another "tedious" liberal.
    If you are an American with any inkling of concern for the condition of our nation and its direction, you must read this book by Mark Levin. Please open your mind and read Ameritopia regardless of your party affiliations and preconceived notions. These times are critical for the health of our nation and its people. We must go beyond our traditions and the party propaganda. We must awaken to the principles that made this nation great and walk in those principles. Mark Levin has penned another great book that will prove to be one of great significance and timeliness.

    41 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Levin rocks

    ....and then you have liberal drones like nightbutterfly giving one star ratings after OBVIOUSLY not rushing out and reading the entire book this morning. Get a life.

    23 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a well researched and clearly written discussion of the Utopian visions of Plato, More, Hobbes and Marx. Mr. Levin accurately describes how totalitarian regimes, using Utopian philosophy, strip away individuality and freedom. He also explains why the Founding Fathers turned to the philosophy of Locke and Montesguieu and their theories of government and freedom; those very freedoms which we are in danger of losing by constant federal government intrusion.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Who actually read the book

    I've read the reviews by the one-star reviewers and with the exception of one (who seemed to have a bias against Levin going in) none said they actually read the book.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Brilliance in Print

    Are you kidding? Only 4 out of 5 stars. That will zoom up to a 5/5 in a short while. Mark's writing is in a league of his own. Only a few in history have the intellectual capital to discern and then be able to articulate the real state of man and his inherent desire to control his fellow man. Such is the bain of socialism, communism, and (more precisely termed) statism. But here, in this book, you will learn how the statist thinks and operates. More importantly, you will learn what must be done to stop and reverse the Eutopians. Control is the mantra... at all costs. Ameritopia is for individualists who believe in freedom and the Constitution. Ameritopia is brilliance in print!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    A must read!

    In Ameritopia, Mark Levin cogently exposes the philosophical underpinnings of the modern day statist/liberal. Concisely analyzing classical works such as Utopia, Leviathan and The Communist Manifesto, Levin demonstrates how the thinking of today's liberal (knowingly or unknowingly) has been shaped by the works of Plato and Karl Marx. By contrasting these works with the thinking and writings of John Locke and Montesquieu Levin, brilliantly demonstrates how America is on an untenable path towards destruction. Unless we embrace the principles of the Founders and men like Locke, and reject the teachings of Marx, America will fail as the most successful experiment in human history.

    Levin's book is especially necessary in an election year, when we will make a choice of whether we embrace the doomed philosophies of the statist or return to the ideas that made us great.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    THE GREAT ONE

    Mark Levin has once again produced a book which should be required reading for all Americans. Through extensive research, he provides historical background of the failed societies and their attempts to produce a utopian society where everyone is equal. He then refreshes the readers' minds about the founders and the quest to recover the rights of the individual of liberty and private property. He related these ideas to today's American society, where the present administration is attempting to "fundamentally transform" the country vs. a government which adheres to the constitution and respects the rights of the individual.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Must resd

    15 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Highly recommend another of Levin's books!

    What can I say about another great read from Levin. This guy makes a lot of sense (again). I just finished the book in record time.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Must Read for non-ultraconservatives

    Ameritopia – the Unmaking of America, by Mark R. Levin, is a “must read” for every aspiring defender of freedom, aka ultra-conservative. After all, it is highly endorsed and recommended by the high priest of ultra-conservatism, Rush Limbaugh. I expected to find – and did – all the raving against Utopianism, with the government regulating every moment of our lives. Levin explains, with many very selective out-of-context quotes, all the restrictiveness in the writings of Plato, Thomas More, Thomas Hobbes, and Carl Marx. All of these philosophies have already been debunked and are irrelevant as actual threats to freedom, but he needs a windmill to tilt with, a fantasy enemy to match all the evils that would, in fact, exist under the tutelage of ultra-conservatives.

    He does well with John Locke and Charles de Montesquieu and their influence on the framers of our constitution, and quotes many citations by Federalists and Anti-Federalists alike as rationale for and against what became our constitution. He lauds Alexis de Tocqueville’s assessment of the American democracy, who discusses in fairy sound democracy in action. Levin implies that today’s government should be like it was in 1840, ignoring the advances in technology, industrial capabilities, population growth with its concentration and internal differences and conflicts, and the great oligopolies that have developed since. He says nothing of Adam Smith, Thomas Payne and others, though.

    Levin goes on with a diatribe about the evils of government’s evolving as society develops in technology and population growth. All regulations, he says, restrict individual liberties and are, therefore, utopianistic and despotic or even tyrannical. It doesn’t matter that established rules are essential to a society to establish standards for communication and trade, create infrastructure, interpersonal behavior, and defense. He demeans the Supreme Court which, he says, deliberately exceeds its constitutional authority, but his colleagues use it to further the ultra-conservatives’ own “noble lie” that lowering taxes on the super rich, placing more burdensome taxes on the poorest of our society, and total deregulation corporate activities will bring prosperity and freedom to all. He assaults Social Security and Medicare, government-supervised medical care, and food and drug regulations as despotic and intimates that all the benefits of government in a society should be eliminated Essentially he proposes virtual anarchy where the very powerful alliances can exercise tyrannical control over the “motley horde” and constantly exploit, without fear of reprisal, the least powerful subjects of their regime. Unquestionably, the ultraconservatism he proposes would lead to simply diabolical, draconic exploitation of the “motley horde” by the very kind of people he rants against. Not at all what he suggests at the start of his tirade are his true intentions. Never once does he suggest any concerns about SEC, Federal Reserve, monopolistic giant corporations or any other abuses or potential abuses of the ultraconservative agenda.

    Ameritopia – the Unmaking of America is a “must read” for every true defender of freedom, aka the “motley horde” – that is, everyone who is not deceived by the great “noble lie”, those not swallowing the propaganda of the despots, dictators, and tyrants attempting to take over our society. After all, it always helps to know your enemy. Read it discerningly.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    highly recommended

    I have read numerous books by Mark Levin, and this is yet another brilliant, informative book. He is a passionate person with a gift!! It's a shame that liberals are too uneducated (stupid) to understand his message. Great read!!

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Brilliant

    Most of us conservative hold our beliefs instinctively, basing them on personal experience and hopefully a familiarity with history. It's nice to have the arguments as well as the evidence displayed so logically and coherently. Next I would like to see from Levin a history of the Constitution, explaining where we have gone astray and how we find our way back.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Fantastic book!

    The previous review is clearly jaded and in denial. Let's pull our heads out of the sand. An anonymous post means nothing, afterall, this is supposed to be a free country, and this book objectively gets to the heart of that matter.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Informative and entertaining!

    If you want to know the historical, philosophical backgrounds of individual liberty and collectivist tyranny, this is the book for you. Cerebral and enlightening.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great book

    Have only read part of it right now...but Mark has a great insight into our floundering country and explaining why. Can't wait to read all of it. Would recommend to all who love this country and want to "save" it from the current path of destruction.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Book of the Decade

    Those who do not learn from history are doomed to be ruled by Statists.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    A look at how philosphy effects our government and our leaders

    Just finished reading Ameritopa what a great read. An informative walk through the utopian philosophies that underpin todays liberals. He covers how Hobbes, More and Marx have influenced todays political thought. Then he leads you through the thoughts of Locke and how it influenced our founders, but the part I found the most amazing was how much Montesque informed our founders and how much our government philosophy was influenced by him. This is not the usual conservative read as it delves much deeper into the philosophical base upon which many people hold.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Condensed history outlining socialism and its impossible success

    Great read and brings together all the philosophers who had grandious ideas about a perfect society. You just can't argue logic and Mark Levine is the master of logic.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7