BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ameritopia: The Unmaking of America

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating and Timely For Those Interested in

This book, which I'm only just getting into via Nook, has already convinced me that it is a must-read. While Levin is a real flame-throwing radio host, this book is in no way a political rant.

Levin has written a meticulous and even handed explanation of the great (...
This book, which I'm only just getting into via Nook, has already convinced me that it is a must-read. While Levin is a real flame-throwing radio host, this book is in no way a political rant.

Levin has written a meticulous and even handed explanation of the great (or not so great) philosophical influences of political thought. He begins with an overview and critique of the most influential "utopian" philosophers from Plato and his "ideal city" through Marx and the Communist Manifesto. In each case, Levin demonstrates how these governmental models end in tyranny.

Next Levin explains how the Framers of the American Constitution rejected these philosophers in favor of Locke and Montesquieu and their focus on individual liberty, private property, and equality of opportunity.

After sneaking a peak at the Epilogue, it is clear that Levin's concern is that modern American politicians reject the philosophy of liberty in favor of the philosophy of government as caretaker of all. The warning is that unless our Nation wakes up from the current misguided path, we are doomed to fail as a society. This is difficult stuff and Levin is doing an excellent job of breaking it down into language that the average reader can understand. This book is a public service.

posted by CharlieV_KC on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 209 people found this review helpful.

Another Tedious Status-Quo Conservative

Four anonymous ratings with no reviews speaks for itself. Our country is in trouble and has been since conservatives began destroying corporate regulations. Since then, our economy has collapsed, and corporations, share holders and CEOs have been rewarded with tax break...
Four anonymous ratings with no reviews speaks for itself. Our country is in trouble and has been since conservatives began destroying corporate regulations. Since then, our economy has collapsed, and corporations, share holders and CEOs have been rewarded with tax breaks for shipping our jobs overseas. Levin is just another tea party conservative trying to protect his status-quo by deflecting blame and distraction.

posted by NightButterfly on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    a MUST read

    First; I have to say that one should consider the book that Night Butterfly DOES recommend and you'll see that she's just another "tedious" liberal.
    If you are an American with any inkling of concern for the condition of our nation and its direction, you must read this book by Mark Levin. Please open your mind and read Ameritopia regardless of your party affiliations and preconceived notions. These times are critical for the health of our nation and its people. We must go beyond our traditions and the party propaganda. We must awaken to the principles that made this nation great and walk in those principles. Mark Levin has penned another great book that will prove to be one of great significance and timeliness.

    41 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Who actually read the book

    I've read the reviews by the one-star reviewers and with the exception of one (who seemed to have a bias against Levin going in) none said they actually read the book.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Must Read for non-ultraconservatives

    Ameritopia – the Unmaking of America, by Mark R. Levin, is a “must read” for every aspiring defender of freedom, aka ultra-conservative. After all, it is highly endorsed and recommended by the high priest of ultra-conservatism, Rush Limbaugh. I expected to find – and did – all the raving against Utopianism, with the government regulating every moment of our lives. Levin explains, with many very selective out-of-context quotes, all the restrictiveness in the writings of Plato, Thomas More, Thomas Hobbes, and Carl Marx. All of these philosophies have already been debunked and are irrelevant as actual threats to freedom, but he needs a windmill to tilt with, a fantasy enemy to match all the evils that would, in fact, exist under the tutelage of ultra-conservatives.

    He does well with John Locke and Charles de Montesquieu and their influence on the framers of our constitution, and quotes many citations by Federalists and Anti-Federalists alike as rationale for and against what became our constitution. He lauds Alexis de Tocqueville’s assessment of the American democracy, who discusses in fairy sound democracy in action. Levin implies that today’s government should be like it was in 1840, ignoring the advances in technology, industrial capabilities, population growth with its concentration and internal differences and conflicts, and the great oligopolies that have developed since. He says nothing of Adam Smith, Thomas Payne and others, though.

    Levin goes on with a diatribe about the evils of government’s evolving as society develops in technology and population growth. All regulations, he says, restrict individual liberties and are, therefore, utopianistic and despotic or even tyrannical. It doesn’t matter that established rules are essential to a society to establish standards for communication and trade, create infrastructure, interpersonal behavior, and defense. He demeans the Supreme Court which, he says, deliberately exceeds its constitutional authority, but his colleagues use it to further the ultra-conservatives’ own “noble lie” that lowering taxes on the super rich, placing more burdensome taxes on the poorest of our society, and total deregulation corporate activities will bring prosperity and freedom to all. He assaults Social Security and Medicare, government-supervised medical care, and food and drug regulations as despotic and intimates that all the benefits of government in a society should be eliminated Essentially he proposes virtual anarchy where the very powerful alliances can exercise tyrannical control over the “motley horde” and constantly exploit, without fear of reprisal, the least powerful subjects of their regime. Unquestionably, the ultraconservatism he proposes would lead to simply diabolical, draconic exploitation of the “motley horde” by the very kind of people he rants against. Not at all what he suggests at the start of his tirade are his true intentions. Never once does he suggest any concerns about SEC, Federal Reserve, monopolistic giant corporations or any other abuses or potential abuses of the ultraconservative agenda.

    Ameritopia – the Unmaking of America is a “must read” for every true defender of freedom, aka the “motley horde” – that is, everyone who is not deceived by the great “noble lie”, those not swallowing the propaganda of the despots, dictators, and tyrants attempting to take over our society. After all, it always helps to know your enemy. Read it discerningly.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Buy it!

    Good stuff. Not for the weak of intellect.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1