BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Amersham Rubies

Average Rating 3
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Interesting intro to the series

As a fan of the Molly Murphy series I enjoyed this short story about Molly's life in Ireland. For those of you who give the story a poor rating because of length--it IS a short story, not a book. If you want more, and if you enjoyed the story, then definitely check out ...
As a fan of the Molly Murphy series I enjoyed this short story about Molly's life in Ireland. For those of you who give the story a poor rating because of length--it IS a short story, not a book. If you want more, and if you enjoyed the story, then definitely check out the books in the series. Rhys Bowen is a wonderful author and I enjoy all of her books.

posted by judyljs on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Well,

For a freebie this book was way to short... a mere 15 pages. It has a great story plot, but it goes wayyyyyy to fast. However it did get me interested in the other real books by this author, but this edition is not worth your time... 3 minutes and its over. Don't blink...
For a freebie this book was way to short... a mere 15 pages. It has a great story plot, but it goes wayyyyyy to fast. However it did get me interested in the other real books by this author, but this edition is not worth your time... 3 minutes and its over. Don't blink or it will be done!

posted by 7083006 on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Short story

    This was an interesting short story, which moved well yet ended abruptly. I did enjoy it, and do not regret the few minutes of my time it took to read. However, I do wish the synopsis indicated plainly that this was not a book or a full novel. It seems quite a few of us were misled.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Too short. It's over before it begins! Still good though

    This was a good story line. The characters were great, the storyline great. However, just as the characters started getting developed, BANG...it's over & done.

    The prequels that come with this lead into what might be some good books. Good enough to buy? I don't know.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Too short

    Likeable heroine but way too short. I do plan to read more in this series though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    recommend...but...

    I enjoyed the start of two stories in this ebook but it were only clips of stories...the real meat of the story wasn't there and I thought I was getting a whole ebook story. Drats I guess I'll need to buy the entire book in stead of just these synopsis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Short

    Could have been a touch longer with us actually finding out if the $ was given back. The second book actyally had chapters & quite the plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Short but sweet.

    It should be noted that this is a short story, not a full length novel. With that in mind, it was entertaining. The preview at the end for the Molly Murphy novel was also interesting and a good sales pitch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Fun story

    Would have liked more description but it was a fun read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    too short

    I was disappointed in the length of the book, otherwise it was really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    .

    Yes, it was short but that's why it is called a story. It was a good one too. Jms

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    An interesting mystery

    Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Too quick

    Under 14 pages of story then you get a sample of another. The story is rushed, but you get the basic facts to somewhat get the gist of who is who. But basic who stole the jewels mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Short but good!

    A short story ....inexpensive for the nook....features early backstory to Molly Murphy character. It was good and made me want to pick up a book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Interesting for short story.

    I was ready for a long story, but this was short and figured out quickly. It was good for an evening with nothing to do.
    BuffyNS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    What!

    This sample leaves you wanting to know more. I will not bother with freebee samples again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    good book

    Aubu1964
    I started this novel on Monday April 30th 2012. This novel started on page 4 and ended on page 14.
    Liam and her friends were going to a ball. And they haven't gotten dates yet or a dress either for this ball that they were going to. But they were going to get their dresses for this ball with their mothers. Thus was in Ireland. I enjoyed this novel . But it was short. I wish it was a little longer than it was. ShelleyMA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Who done it - historical?

    A very short story wherein one young lady realizes her potential as something other than what society might assign her. She does her thing to balance out the injustices that she sees in her everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Not bad

    Would have been better if it had more back story and plot. Not a bad short story tho.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    ****

    4*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Verry short

    Short story that could have gone somewhere if lengthened

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3