Customer Reviews for

Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures Book #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amethyst

    Amethyst's decision to travel to Medora is born of her desire to find her nephew, Joel, and her desperation to temporarily get away from her alcoholic father. After finding Joel, discovering a shocking secret, and making new friendships, Amethyst's plans are altered. No longer does she desire to return home. In Medora she has found a new life for herself and is enjoying the changes within herself. Meanwhile, Joel's father, Jacob Chandler has plans of his own. He has loved Opal Torvald for months and is simply waiting for her to reach the appropriate age. Amethyst picks up literally right where the third book left off. I definitely would not read this book without first reading Opal. And if possible, I would recommend reading all three books in the series prior to reading Amethyst. I was happy to finally get a small note about Belle's reaction to the burning of the Dove House. Not much was said, but at least, it was not so open-ended as it was after the second and third books in the series. In Amethyst, both Amethyst and Opal both undergo a lot of character development. The romantic relationships in the book added an element that was not really explored in the previous book due to Opal's age. However, in this book, that element really came forward and the story gave a fitting end to the Dakota Treasures series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Couldn't but these books down.

    I loved this story series. How fun to follow Opal all the way through her growing up years and to get to know all of the people in her life. Not only were the books well written, you felt like you were living them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Love it

    Love it, love it, love it!!! This whole series is wonderful. Such wholesome family stories and characters. WOW!!!!!!!
    Love this author!************** :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    This is the best series of books I have ever read and I read a l

    This is the best series of books I have ever read and I read a lot! I love all the characters and wish the series could continue. Being from North Dakota myself (and having visited Medora many times), this series was especially dear to me. I would recommend these books to everyone and can't wait to read more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Reccomend This Series

    I borrowed the first three books in the Dakotah Treasures series from my aunt several years ago. I kept feeling like it just ended and didn't really conclude anything. However she assured me that there was only three books and that's just how it ended. She had gotten the books from her mother, who had had them for years. A couple weeks ago, I borrowed the books again. This time I was certain that there had to be another book, so I got online and sure enough! I absolutely love this series and especially now that I can actually get some closure with the characters :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Loved It - Must Read !!!

    I loved it. I read the entire series. I would recommend to anyone especially those who love a good Christian romance series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Excellent!

    This is the last of the series of 4 books and I did not want it to end. I was interested in this book because of the location of the story and my familiarity with the area. It holds your attention and could be read by young adults (12+).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Series!!

    This is the last of a 4 book series. I love this series. The characters are lively, honest, and have good moral standings. The stories of early North Dakota are always interesting, and are never what I expect them to be. People are always helping people. These books always make me feel good, and want to be better in my own life. I can't say enough good things about the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A must read following Ruby and Pearl, I am so sorry there isn't a fourth book in the Dakotah series. Easy reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Another great read by Lauraine Snelling

    This was the last in the series of 4, and I enjoyed it to the very end! Can get a "little descriptive" in sections, but the whole book is a treat to read and keeps you interested. I hated to see the series come to an end. I was intertwined with the characters in this book and the first 3 in the series.
    Hallmark should make Lauraine's books into Made-for-TV Movies. Thank you, Lauraine for your talents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Hightly Recommeded

    Enjoyed this book very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful-keeps you wanting more

    A well written series of books about wonment in the Dekotos when life was difficult for all. The characters are so real and the books come alive. Couldn't put them down. Read straight through some of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Great finish to the series.

    This book was a great conclusion to the series. While the end seemed a little rushed, the author did a good job of passing the time quickly. Couldn't put it down. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Wonderful

    All four books in this series are wonderfully refreshing, I'm going to miss reading about all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    My Review of Amethyst

    I enjoyed this book. I did'nt think there was enough about the main character for this book but more about other characters. I would have liked Amethyst and Jermiah to have had more time together. I always think romance included kissing. I would have liked to read about them after their marriage as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    Surpisingly brilliant

    This is the first Dakota Treasures novel I read having bought it at the flea market when I first caught sight of the book. Although I started the book out of order Lauraine Snelling's brilliant writing caught me up quickly and now I'm looking forward to buying the rest. Amethyst is a girl living through a rough time on a farm with her drunk of a father whose forever casting smug and ill comments towards her even though she's basically the one that is wearing the pants in the house so to speak and takes care of the old man. Her father however thinks taht only males should take hold over land and forces her to go search for her nephew of about eight so he can be made heir to the family land. During this journey Amethyst starts thinking more and more for herself and what she wants which includes a certain someone. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine Dakotah Treasures historical

    In 1886 Eastern Pennsylvania her nasty father calls his daughter Amethyst Colleen O'Shaunasy an ¿idjit¿ for paying their bills he ignores how much he wastes getting drunk. He haughtily informs Colleen that she is to bring home her eight year old nephew Joel, who apparently lives in Medora, Dakotah Territory under the care of preacher Jacob Chandler. --- Taking the train west, Amethyst becomes ill in Minnesota another passenger tends to her as it is the Christian thing to do. In Medora, she remains somewhat ill the Hegland family takes her in to their home. Their other guest, Army Major Jeremiah McHenry has just retired from the military and returned to his hometown. As the two guests become acquainted they fall in love, but can Jeremiah persuade the easterner to stay as his wife as he knows she believes she must perform her dad¿s task though honoring her father has always been difficult and besides she feels that even the kind former officer would turn female relatives into servants. --- AMETHYST, the fourth Dakotah Treasures novel, is a superb Americana tale that brings to life a long-gone era due to the strong cast. Amethyst (don¿t call her Colleen as only her father uses that name) is a courageous individual who on her journey west meets caring people, a far cry from her verbally abusive father. Jeremiah knows she would make the perfect wife for him because she is a brave nurturing Christian woman whom he loves and believes loves him too, but he must overcome the relational lessons her father taught her. This is a terrific entry in a fabulous inspirational series in spite of the impossibly of honoring her no redeeming value dad. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2