Customer Reviews for

Amethyst, a YA paranormal romance/fantasy (#1 Guardian series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this easy read

Although the book has a slow start there is enough mystery to keep the reader involved. It is a good story for teens and sci fi fans who like an easy read.I would recommend it and am looking forwrd to book two.

posted by Agragg on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good enough to make you want the sequel

Though it started out very wordy and a bit tiresome, it does become a good story with a different dinamic. I bought the sequel to see what happens...so for a fee start it is pretty good. Maybe the previous relationships and drama will lead to new twists later on.

posted by 299315 on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Good!

    I really liked this. Easy read. Super powers, love story, fashion, whats not to love? I've read over 200 books in the last year and she's in my top 10 for fantasy :) cant' wait for the last book in her series!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    a must read, awesome.

    a must read, awesome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    *Written By Kara Pomeroy@TheGuiltyKitty* Plot (5 Paws) ┬┐ ┬┐Ameth

    *Written By Kara Pomeroy@TheGuiltyKitty*

    Plot (5 Paws) — ‘Amethyst’ opens with an exciting scene that made me want to read more. I wasn’t disappointed. Overall, this is a really good story, with some great paranormal ideas and some likeable characters with depth




    When the protagonist, Lexi Adams, decides not to ignore the premonitions that plague her, her life starts to take a different course. First, she runs out in the middle of the night to save a girl from being attacked, and runs into some gnarly characters who we meet up with again at the end of the book. Soon after, following another premonition, Lexi meets Jason, who ends up as a love interest, but with an interesting twist.




    But there’s not just one potential love interest for Lexi, there’s also the cocky, but sweet, Ash who has some secrets left unrevealed in this book that I’m assuming will show up in the next book of the series.




    All this is going on while Lexi learns from a co-worker, Jessica, that she’s an Amethyst, someone born with the ability to heal others.  Jessica teaches Lexi how to use her powers.




    The action culminates in an action heavy scene in the woods, which I won’t spoil for you, but it has lots of intriguing paranormal activity.




    Pace (4 Paws) — The story started out fast and mostly kept a good pace.




    Writing (4 Paws) — Heather Bowhay created a world of characters I ended up caring about, and wanting to know what happens to them.




    Cover (2 Paws) — I would’ve liked to have seen people on the cover. While the name of the novel is Amethyst, and the crystals are mentioned, it seems like something else might have been used.




    Characters (4 Paws) — Lexi is a pretty well drawn character. Jason is mysterious and it’s kind of heartbreaking when we find out what’s going on with him at the end of the novel. Ash is likeable even though he’s so cocky. I think we all might have a secret fantasy about someone like that in our life – at least for a short time.  Jessica got a little annoying, but I was still glad she was around for Lexi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    thoroughly enjoyed

    I loved this book. I could not put it down. The characters are easy to relate to and fall in love with. I am excited to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lexi Adams has had premonitions her entire life that have prompt

    Lexi Adams has had premonitions her entire life that have prompted her to try and stop what will happen.  The one time she ignores this, there is a death that now weighs heavily on her conscience. She believes that she is ready to die since she can't live a normal life.  Plus she is shown a premonition of her own death.  Then she meets Jessica who insists that she will be able to help Lexi.  She also insists that Lexi is what is known as an Amethyst.  A person with special abilities to heal others.  Throw into the mix a potential love triangle with Jason, an introverted man who is at once drawn to Lexi yet trying to shove her away, and Ash a major extrovert who has no problem with tooting his own horn.  Lexi must decide if she wants to live, or if she wants to die.  Her choice could save humanity from the Ray-Pac a group who use their powers to kill regular humans.

    I overall enjoyed this book, but there were a few minor problems with pacing in it.  Also, some of the conversations felt forced.  The only character that truly felt real was the person I hated, and most of the time Lexi.  I have given the book 4 stars, but truly I feel more like 3.75.  The world building and the story line is what I really like, as well as the premise of the story as it is different from most other books that I have read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Kept me interested

    I liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Loved it

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    A hidden gem!

    I found this book by chance just doing a search for something I could tolerate to read for free until I could buy another book. It had few reveiws but they seemed to be good so I gave it a try. Honestly, I can say I judged the discription and thought that the book would probably not be able to pull off the concept very well. I was wrong. I found myself connecting with the story and characters easily. I could not put the book down and finished it in a day. I plan on purchasing the next book to see what happens! I should add that I am 25, but often times read YA novels for a quick and enjoyable easy read. That being said, there were a few things in this book that were a little silly in my eyes, but I know it is because she is reaching out to a younger audience. Every single YA book I have read has gotten that reaction from me at one point or another because I am older than the target audience. There are a few spell check errors etc. but nothing that can't be easily ignored. Alltogether I command this author and hope that others will take notice of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I enjoyed it immensely. Read it in one day and have ordered the

    I enjoyed it immensely. Read it in one day and have ordered the second in the series. The author portrayed a teenage girl grappling with unique abilities well. It's a fresh complex theme and a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I was skeptical at first about this book but I am glad I did dec

    I was skeptical at first about this book but I am glad I did decide to read it. I agree the book did start off kind of slow but I think the reason for this is for you to try to get to know all of the characters. It is a little different but it has a great storyline
    !! I think teens will like the mix of forbidden or should I say a possible deadly romance, action and suspense. You will not regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1