Customer Reviews for

An Amish Christmas: December in Lancaster County - Four Amish Christmas Novellas

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An Amish Christmas

An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without rememb...
An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without remembering the other two.

(But good luck not reading them all at once.)

The three stories are all really good, but I think my favorite was A Choice to Forgive (the one by Beth Wiseman). But that in no way indicates that I didn't love A Miracle for Miriam (Kathleen Fuller) and One Child (Barbara Cameron), too.

The book opens with A Miracle for Miriam, which is about a woman with incredibly low self-esteem who finds herself being courted by Seth. In school, Seth was the most popular boy and he broke Miriam's heart. But now he's older and wiser and wants to make it up to her. But can she trust him? (And, more importantly, should she?)

Then there's A Choice to Forgive. Lydia is a young widow with three children. Her dead husband is the brother of her first love (Daniel), who broke her heart when he vanished on Christmas. Except now he's back and he wants to be re-baptized into the faith. He clearly still likes Lydia, but can she get over her hurt (and feeling like she's betraying her husband by wanting his brother)?

And finally One Child. Sarah and her husband are still grieving the baby they lost over Christmas a year ago. Then, during a really bad blizzard, a very pregnant Englisch woman and her husband show up. They had a car accident and need somewhere to stay. Sarah has to help a woman with the only thing she wants and lacks: a baby.

This book also has discussion questions and recipes.

This would be an excellent stocking stuffer for a girlfriend of yours who reads. (Especially if she has a fascination with the Amish, which I think most of us do. Or is that just me?)

posted by khager23 on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

M

Well, thanks to the many ling winded plot spoilers here, this is another book useless to buy. They told everything that happens. Wish bn would stop these rude hateful ppl from ruining books for others.

posted by 8888649 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Christmas

    An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without remembering the other two.

    (But good luck not reading them all at once.)

    The three stories are all really good, but I think my favorite was A Choice to Forgive (the one by Beth Wiseman). But that in no way indicates that I didn't love A Miracle for Miriam (Kathleen Fuller) and One Child (Barbara Cameron), too.

    The book opens with A Miracle for Miriam, which is about a woman with incredibly low self-esteem who finds herself being courted by Seth. In school, Seth was the most popular boy and he broke Miriam's heart. But now he's older and wiser and wants to make it up to her. But can she trust him? (And, more importantly, should she?)

    Then there's A Choice to Forgive. Lydia is a young widow with three children. Her dead husband is the brother of her first love (Daniel), who broke her heart when he vanished on Christmas. Except now he's back and he wants to be re-baptized into the faith. He clearly still likes Lydia, but can she get over her hurt (and feeling like she's betraying her husband by wanting his brother)?

    And finally One Child. Sarah and her husband are still grieving the baby they lost over Christmas a year ago. Then, during a really bad blizzard, a very pregnant Englisch woman and her husband show up. They had a car accident and need somewhere to stay. Sarah has to help a woman with the only thing she wants and lacks: a baby.

    This book also has discussion questions and recipes.

    This would be an excellent stocking stuffer for a girlfriend of yours who reads. (Especially if she has a fascination with the Amish, which I think most of us do. Or is that just me?)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    A definite must read!

    The first story in the collection is A Miracle for Miriam by one of my favorite authors, Kathleen Fuller. As a child, Miriam had a pretty intense case of puppy love for Seth. A cruel joke on the playground shatters her confidence but not her feelings. Years later Seth is in a terrible accident and returns to the simple life in the Amish community after withdrawing into himself for a while. He finally notices that plain little Miriam has grown up into a strong, lovely, helpful and hardworking Amish woman...can he repair the hurt feelings from long ago and start a new life with her? This was a terrific story and one of my two favorites from the book.

    A Choice to Forgive by Beth Wiseman is the story of Lydia who's husband of 15 years dies suddenly. To add to her sadness and confusion during a very troubling time her first love, Daniel, has returned to their Amish community after disappearing on Christmas Eve nearly 16 years before. As an added twist, Daniel is also the brother of Lydia's deceased husband. Can Lydia pick up the pieces and go on with her life, even with her lost love as her neighbor?

    In Barbara Cameron's terrific tale One Child a Christmas Eve birth will spell remarkable changes for two very different Lancaster County couples...what's the mystery? Why the changes? You HAVE to read this story to find out. It had me riveted and is my second favorite from this fabulous collection.

    Lastly, in Kelly Long's Christmas Cradles spirited and sprightly Anna Stolis takes over for her aunt in the role of midwife on Christmas night. Throughout the night more than one baby is born, several gorgeous Amish quilts take the stage and, surprise of surprises, the taciturn Asa Lapp, a man with a story of his own, helps her out. Will Christmas give these two plain folk a present they didn't bargain for?

    In all I give this fabulous collection 5 stars. It is very readable and brought me endless joy during an already joyous season. A definite must read and one you'll want to keep in your Christmas collection to re-read each year during the Christmas season.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Not Very Exciting & Escapist, but I Like the Characters

    Actually, I didn't know much about the Amish people and their lifestyles until I read this book. They live without electricity, without technology, TV, internet, etc. unlike the modern city people. They are against using them, but they are happy with this.
    In "An Amish Christmas", which consists of four novellas written by different authors, you will find love of people as the main theme, but this love is told in a God-oriented and religious way through the light of Bible. The book tells how a good man should be: humble, grateful, faithful, nice, kind, patient, valuing inner beauty... Throughout the book, these virtues are emphasized.
    Although the first three novellas were written by different authours, they have a common feature; the characters of the stories. The characters know each other. For example, when you read any novella, you realize that the main character is a relative or friend of the main character of the other novella. I found this very interesting.
    When you read the book, you'll see that the core of the book is to believe in God to endure all the pains of life in any condition. Despite being not a very exciting and escapist book (except "One Child", where I was curious to know how the woman would survive the birth at home), and although it took a long time for me to read it, I generally like the characters inside.
    In the book, there are some "different" words that the Amish people use, and at the beginning, you'll find a glossary for them. Also, at the end of the book, there are some delicious Amish recipes you can cook after reading this nice book.

    * I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed this book and lent it to my mom and sisters who agreed! Its warm and cozy and the perfect book to curl up an read on a cold winter day! The mix of authors was interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommend this book.

    This book is a great read. If you like happy endings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Beautiful stories!

    Beautiful stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Heartwarming

    Each novelette was a story of love and forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Good read

    Good fiction quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    M

    Well, thanks to the many ling winded plot spoilers here, this is another book useless to buy. They told everything that happens. Wish bn would stop these rude hateful ppl from ruining books for others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    "A Miracle for Miriam" by Kathleen Fuller - This was

    "A Miracle for Miriam" by Kathleen Fuller - This was a sweet story with a strong message. Forgiveness and self-worth are the main themes throughout this story and the author does an excellent job of getting them across. The characters are well-written and you can really see the changes in them in such a short story. Overall, I enjoyed this novella and will definitely read more by Kathleen!

    "A Choice to Forgive" by Beth Wiseman - This book is all about forgiveness. Beth Wiseman does a fantastic job of weaving forgiveness throughout the entire story. Daniel and Lydia are great characters with a heavy past to overcome. I enjoyed the stories and the obstacles the author put in their places for them to overcome. It kept the story moving in a swift pace. Overall, it was well written story that I thoroughly enjoyed.

    "One Child" by Barbara Cameron - What a powerful novella that shows how God really does work in mysterious ways. David and Sarah are grieving. On Christmas night, a stranger knocks on their door seeking shelter for him and his pregnant wife. Both families, in their own ways, help comfort and support each other. This was an excellent book and I will definitely be reading more by Barbara Cameron!

    "Christmas Cradles" by Kelly Long - Do you believe in love at first sight? This is a heartwarming novella about second chances, overcoming shame, and accepting the gift the Lord has given. I enjoyed the sparks and attraction between Asa and Anna. The description of the storm made me want to cozy up with a blanket by the fire. I think this was my favorite story of the four.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this collection of novellas and I look forward to reading An Amish Second Christmas soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Cool book

    Miriam and seth r the main characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I am into everything Amish. I enjoyed these books very much. Alt

    I am into everything Amish. I enjoyed these books very much. Although I was a bit confused when I started to read the second book, I soon realized that all three books are about the same family, just different pointsf view and different story lines. I found this story to be easy to read and I couldn't tear myself away. I highly recommend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Loved it !!!

    Three wonderful Amish stories. Very enjoyable !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Wonderful stories and great life lessons

    Heart warming stories. I live in Lancaster County, PA so I can definitely relate to these short stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Joyful read that was perfect for the holiday.

    I enjoyed visiting with the Amazing Amish People who enjoy life and celebrate it to its fullest. I was drawn into the simple life style, even if I would have problems living without Electricity and cars and English ways of life. I revisited childhood memories of the wonderful sound and smells of this way of life. Thanks for a job well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    a gentle read

    This is a gentle story of gentle people. It is actually 4 stories interconnected by the characters. Winter is the season and the theme is 'lost love' or 'babies'. Nice pre-Christmas or really anytime stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Heartwarming holiday stories!

    You can truly snuggle up with these stories on a cold winter day or evening. It's refreshing to read an entire book without having to deal with sleezy romance and offending language. The inclusion of words in Pennsylvania Dutch lent well to the authenticity of the stories. Enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Nice, light reading during the busy holiday season...

    Three novellas that were just right for a hectic time of year, fun to read when I had a few minutes without making me think too hard or get so wrapped up in it that nothing else got done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    an enjoyable group of stories.

    I enjoyed the stories and would recommend them to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Interesting !!

    Love the book so far as I have not finished it yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5